Harwood Unified Union School District
Listed by NCES as Harwood Unified Union School District #60 (district ID 5000403)
Public school district · Washington County · Vermont · NCES district ID 5000403
Harwood Unified Union School District spent $26,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 74% of the other Vermont districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,052). Its 7 schools enrolled 1,774 students in 2024-25; 92.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $28,166 per student, up 7.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Vermont districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Harwood Unified Union in enrollment (1,456 to 1,960 students) and Harwood Unified Union itself.
Where the money came from
$49,853,000 in revenue: 92.4% state, 2.5% local and 5.0% federal. Total spending including $2,208,000 of capital outlay was $51,802,000, or $28,494 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$46,083,000 92%
- Local$1,267,000 3%
- Federal$2,503,000 5%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 32 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,818 students in 2022-23, 1,789 students in 2023-24, 1,774 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,818 | 166.3 | 10.9 |
| 2023-24 | 1,789 | 166.5 | 10.7 |
| 2024-25 | 1,774 | 163.9 | 10.8 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$13,608,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,485 per student
Harwood Unified Union School District booked $13,608,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 166 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $81,833 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 81 in 100 Vermont districts with a figure (state median $67,643, 97 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Vermont teacher salary at $62,866 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $11,590,000 | 85.2% |
| Special education | $1,939,000 | 14.2% |
| Other programs | $79,000 | 0.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $6,200 in 2018-19, $7,757 in 2019-20, $6,997 in 2020-21, $7,355 in 2021-22, $7,485 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
5 elementary schools, 956 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brookside Primary School | 389 | 12.6 | 16.2% | Not Title I |
| Moretown Elementary School | 169 | 13.8 | 13.0% | Not Title I |
| Waitsfield Elementary School | 152 | 12.1 | 24.3% | Not Title I |
| Fayston Elementary School | 123 | 11.8 | 10.6% | Not Title I |
| Warren Elementary School | 123 | 10.6 | 35.8% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 262 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Crossett Brook Middle School | 262 | 9.2 | 22.9% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 556 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harwood Union Middle/High School | 556 | 9.6 | 21.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Harwood Unified Union School District
- Website: wwsu.org
- Phone: (802) 496-2272
- Office: 340 Mad River Park Suite 7, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Harwood Unified Union School District
- Vermont districts by spending per studentHarwood Unified Union School District ranks 9 of 32 Vermont districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($26,132).#9 of 32
- Every school district in VermontHarwood Unified Union School District is the number 12 by size of 116 Vermont districts, with 1,818 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#12 of 116
- Missisquoi Valley School District #89The next larger Vermont district: 1,842 students in fall 2022, $24,690 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,690
- Addison Central Unified Union School District #55The next smaller Vermont district: 1,773 students in fall 2022, $25,531 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,531
- Compare Harwood Unified Union School District with Missisquoi Valley School District #89Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Harwood Union Middle/High School, its largest high school556 students in 2024-25, 9.6 per teacher.556
- Teacher salary spending across VermontHarwood Unified Union School District spent $81,833 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $67,643); spending, not a salary.$81,833
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Harwood Unified Union School District
How many schools and students are in Harwood Unified Union School District?
7 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,774 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Harwood Unified Union School District spend per student?
$26,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Vermont median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,052 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $28,166 per student, up 7.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Harwood Unified Union School District's money come from?
$49,853,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 92.4% state, 2.5% local and 5.0% federal (NCES F-33).How much does Harwood Unified Union School District spend on teacher salaries?
$13,608,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,485 per student. Divided by the 166 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $81,833 per teacher, more than 81 in 100 Vermont districts (state median $67,643). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Vermont teacher salary at $62,866 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).What is Harwood Unified Union School District's NCES district ID?
5000403. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25