Gillespie CUSD 7

Public school district · Macoupin County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1716680

Gillespie CUSD 7 spent $15,843 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 70% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,095 students in 2024-25; 66.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,374 per student, down 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Gillespie CUSD 7 in enrollment (1,108 to 1,172 students) and Gillespie CUSD 7 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Gillespie CUSD 7, FY23Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Gillespie CUSD 7 $15,843; Country Club Hills SD 160 $15,224; Pana CUSD 8 $14,416; Pikeland CUSD 10 $14,222; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Whiteside SD 115 $12,979; Hamilton County Community Unit School District 10 $12,481; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12k14k16k18k20kHoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School Dist…$18,147Gillespie CUSD 7$15,843Country Club Hills SD 160$15,224Pana CUSD 8$14,416Pikeland CUSD 10$14,222Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Whiteside SD 115$12,979Hamilton County Community Unit…$12,481State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Gillespie CUSD 7, FY23Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Gillespie CUSD 7 $15,843; Country Club Hills SD 160 $15,224; Pana CUSD 8 $14,416; Pikeland CUSD 10 $14,222; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Whiteside SD 115 $12,979; Hamilton County Community Unit School District 10 $12,481; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12k14k16k18k20kHoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District …$18,147Gillespie CUSD 7$15,843Country Club Hills SD 160$15,224Pana CUSD 8$14,416Pikeland CUSD 10$14,222Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Whiteside SD 115$12,979Hamilton County Community Unit Scho…$12,481State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Gillespie CUSD 7, FY23Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Gillespie CUSD 7 $15,843; Country Club Hills SD 160 $15,224; Pana CUSD 8 $14,416; Pikeland CUSD 10 $14,222; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Whiteside SD 115 $12,979; Hamilton County Community Unit School District 10 $12,481; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k14k18k20kHoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Gillespie CUSD 7$15,843Country Club Hills SD 160$15,224Pana CUSD 8$14,416Pikeland CUSD 10$14,222Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Whiteside SD 115$12,979Hamilton County Community Unit School Distr…$12,481State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Gillespie CUSD 7, FY23Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Gillespie CUSD 7 $15,843; Country Club Hills SD 160 $15,224; Pana CUSD 8 $14,416; Pikeland CUSD 10 $14,222; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Whiteside SD 115 $12,979; Hamilton County Community Unit School District 10 $12,481; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k14k18k20kHoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Gillespie CUSD 7$15,843Country Club Hills SD 160$15,224Pana CUSD 8$14,416Pikeland CUSD 10$14,222Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Whiteside SD 115$12,979Hamilton County Community Unit School D…$12,481State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$22,144,000 in revenue: 66.9% state, 21.6% local and 11.5% federal. Total spending including $896,000 of capital outlay was $20,821,000, or $18,264 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Gillespie CUSD 7 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $14,808,000; Local $4,784,000; Federal $2,552,000; total $22,144,000.
  • State$14,808,000 67%
  • Local$4,784,000 22%
  • Federal$2,552,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,140 students in 2022-23, 1,139 students in 2023-24, 1,095 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Gillespie CUSD 7 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,140, 2023-24: 1,139, 2024-25: 1,09505001k1.5k2022-231,1402023-241,1392024-251,095
Gillespie CUSD 7 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,140, 2023-24: 1,139, 2024-25: 1,09505001k1.5k2022-231,1402023-241,1392024-251,095
Gillespie CUSD 7 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,140, 2023-24: 1,139, 2024-25: 1,09505001k1.5k2022-231,1402023-241,1392024-251,095
Gillespie CUSD 7 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,140, 2023-24: 1,139, 2024-25: 1,09505001k1.5k2022-231,1402023-241,1392024-251,095

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,14087.013.1
2023-241,13986.913.1
2024-251,09584.912.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Gillespie CUSD 7 scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts21%29.9%556

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 89 students in Gillespie CUSD 7's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%87.6%
Students in the class89149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 523 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ben-Gil Elementary School52312.5All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 244 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Gillespie Middle School24413.7All free (CEP)Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 328 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Gillespie High School32813.1All free (CEP)Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Gillespie CUSD 7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Gillespie CUSD 7

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentGillespie CUSD 7 ranks 263 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,843).#263 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisGillespie CUSD 7 is the number 343 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,140 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#343 of 865
  3. Country Club Hills SD 160The next larger Illinois district: 1,150 students in fall 2022, $15,224 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,224
  4. Hoopeston Area CUSD 11The next smaller Illinois district: 1,134 students in fall 2022, $18,248 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,248
  5. Compare Gillespie CUSD 7 with Country Club Hills SD 160Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Gillespie High School, its largest high school328 students in 2024-25, 13.1 per teacher.328
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Gillespie CUSD 7

  1. How many schools and students are in Gillespie CUSD 7?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,095 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Gillespie CUSD 7 spend per student?
    $15,843 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,374 per student, down 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Gillespie CUSD 7's money come from?
    $22,144,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.9% state, 21.6% local and 11.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Gillespie CUSD 7 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 185 of the 1,132 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Gillespie CUSD 7 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Gillespie CUSD 7 scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Gillespie CUSD 7?
    80-84% of the 89 students in Gillespie CUSD 7's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Gillespie CUSD 7's NCES district ID?
    1716680. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25