Garfield County School District
Listed by NCES as Garfield District (district ID 4900300)
Public school district · Garfield County · Utah · NCES district ID 4900300
Garfield County School District spent $12,261 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 76% of the other Utah districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,273). Its 10 schools enrolled 1,628 students in 2024-25; 60.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,037 per student, down 1.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Utah: 88.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Utah districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Garfield County in enrollment (1,112 to 1,519 students) and Garfield County itself.
Where the money came from
$22,435,000 in revenue: 60.3% state, 31.0% local and 8.7% federal. Total spending including $9,914,000 of capital outlay was $26,422,000, or $20,139 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$13,519,000 60%
- Local$6,954,000 31%
- Federal$1,962,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 59 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,312 students in 2022-23, 1,560 students in 2023-24, 1,628 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,312 | 65.5 | 20.0 |
| 2023-24 | 1,560 | 68.5 | 22.8 |
| 2024-25 | 1,628 | 69.1 | 23.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$4,590,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,498 per student
Garfield County School District booked $4,590,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 65 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $70,119 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 54 in 100 Utah districts with a figure (state median $68,176, 139 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Utah teacher salary at $58,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $2,857,000 | 62.2% |
| Special education | $412,000 | 9.0% |
| Vocational | $286,000 | 6.2% |
| Other programs | $1,035,000 | 22.5% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,309 in 2018-19, $3,409 in 2019-20, $3,639 in 2020-21, $3,498 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90-94% of the 73 students in Garfield County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.3% across Utah. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Utah | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90‑94% | 88.3% |
| Students in the class | 73 | 52,066 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
6 elementary schools, 1,215 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garfield Online | 705 | not reported | 10.1% | Not Title I |
| Panguitch School | 240 | 17.5 | 22.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Bryce Valley School | 157 | 18.9 | 22.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Escalante School | 105 | 15.0 | 39.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Boulder School | 7 | 3.4 | 52.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Antimony School | 1 | 2.0 | 53.3% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 56 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Panguitch Middle | 56 | 12.4 | 19.6% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 high schools, 357 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Panguitch High | 149 | 14.0 | 15.4% | Not Title I |
| Bryce Valley High | 142 | 15.1 | 12.0% | Not Title I |
| Escalante High | 66 | 9.1 | 24.2% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Garfield County School District
- Website: garfk12.org
- Phone: (435) 676-8821
- Office: 145 E Center, Panguitch, UT 84759
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Garfield County School District
- Utah districts by spending per studentGarfield County School District ranks 15 of 59 Utah districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,261).#15 of 59
- Every school district in UtahGarfield County School District is the number 47 by size of 157 Utah districts, with 1,312 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#47 of 157
- Hawthorn AcademyThe next larger Utah district: 1,346 students in fall 2022, $8,247 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,247
- Thomas Edison Charter SchoolsThe next smaller Utah district: 1,216 students in fall 2022, $7,789 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$7,789
- Compare Garfield County School District with Hawthorn AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Panguitch High, its largest high school149 students in 2024-25, 14.0 per teacher.149
- Teacher salary spending across UtahGarfield County School District spent $70,119 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $68,176); spending, not a salary.$70,119
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Garfield County School District
How many schools and students are in Garfield County School District?
10 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 1 middle, 3 high), enrolling 1,628 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Garfield County School District spend per student?
$12,261 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Utah median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,037 per student, down 1.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Garfield County School District's money come from?
$22,435,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.3% state, 31.0% local and 8.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Garfield County School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 105 of the 849 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Garfield County School District spend on teacher salaries?
$4,590,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,498 per student. Divided by the 65 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $70,119 per teacher, more than 54 in 100 Utah districts (state median $68,176). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Utah teacher salary at $58,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).What is the graduation rate in Garfield County School District?
90-94% of the 73 students in Garfield County School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.3% across Utah. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Garfield County School District's NCES district ID?
4900300. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25