Frontier Schools

Public school district · Jackson County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2900590

Frontier Schools spent $16,421 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 94% of the other Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,885). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,587 students in 2024-25; 67.3% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Frontier Schools in enrollment (1,510 to 1,587 students) and Frontier Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Frontier Schools, FY23Guadalupe Centers Schools $17,440; Frontier Schools $16,421; Dunklin R-V $13,748; Boonville Schools $12,063; Richmond R-XVI $11,432; Winfield R-IV $10,596; Mt. Vernon R-V $10,584; Seneca R-Vii $10,350; Doniphan R-I $10,278; Hallsville $9,783; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kGuadalupe Centers Schools$17,440Frontier Schools$16,421Dunklin R-V$13,748Boonville Schools$12,063Richmond R-XVI$11,432Winfield R-IV$10,596Mt. Vernon R-V$10,584Seneca R-Vii$10,350Doniphan R-I$10,278Hallsville$9,783State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Frontier Schools, FY23Guadalupe Centers Schools $17,440; Frontier Schools $16,421; Dunklin R-V $13,748; Boonville Schools $12,063; Richmond R-XVI $11,432; Winfield R-IV $10,596; Mt. Vernon R-V $10,584; Seneca R-Vii $10,350; Doniphan R-I $10,278; Hallsville $9,783; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kGuadalupe Centers Schools$17,440Frontier Schools$16,421Dunklin R-V$13,748Boonville Schools$12,063Richmond R-XVI$11,432Winfield R-IV$10,596Mt. Vernon R-V$10,584Seneca R-Vii$10,350Doniphan R-I$10,278Hallsville$9,783State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Frontier Schools, FY23Guadalupe Centers Schools $17,440; Frontier Schools $16,421; Dunklin R-V $13,748; Boonville Schools $12,063; Richmond R-XVI $11,432; Winfield R-IV $10,596; Mt. Vernon R-V $10,584; Seneca R-Vii $10,350; Doniphan R-I $10,278; Hallsville $9,783; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kGuadalupe Centers Schools$17,440Frontier Schools$16,421Dunklin R-V$13,748Boonville Schools$12,063Richmond R-XVI$11,432Winfield R-IV$10,596Mt. Vernon R-V$10,584Seneca R-Vii$10,350Doniphan R-I$10,278Hallsville$9,783State median, 1,000+ students $11,885
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Frontier Schools, FY23Guadalupe Centers Schools $17,440; Frontier Schools $16,421; Dunklin R-V $13,748; Boonville Schools $12,063; Richmond R-XVI $11,432; Winfield R-IV $10,596; Mt. Vernon R-V $10,584; Seneca R-Vii $10,350; Doniphan R-I $10,278; Hallsville $9,783; State median, 1,000+ students $11,885.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kGuadalupe Centers Schools$17,440Frontier Schools$16,421Dunklin R-V$13,748Boonville Schools$12,063Richmond R-XVI$11,432Winfield R-IV$10,596Mt. Vernon R-V$10,584Seneca R-Vii$10,350Doniphan R-I$10,278Hallsville$9,783State median, 1,000+ students $11,885

Where the money came from

$33,216,000 in revenue: 67.3% state, 10.7% local and 22.0% federal. Total spending including $708,000 of capital outlay was $26,704,000, or $17,118 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Frontier Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $22,347,000; Local $3,554,000; Federal $7,315,000; total $33,216,000.
  • State$22,347,000 67%
  • Local$3,554,000 11%
  • Federal$7,315,000 22%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 176 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,560 students in 2022-23, 1,539 students in 2023-24, 1,587 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Frontier Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,560, 2023-24: 1,539, 2024-25: 1,58705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5602023-241,5392024-251,587
Frontier Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,560, 2023-24: 1,539, 2024-25: 1,58705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5602023-241,5392024-251,587
Frontier Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,560, 2023-24: 1,539, 2024-25: 1,58705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5602023-241,5392024-251,587
Frontier Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,560, 2023-24: 1,539, 2024-25: 1,58705001k1.5k2k2022-231,5602023-241,5392024-251,587

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,560154.110.1
2023-241,539161.99.5
2024-251,587165.59.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,530,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,186 per student

Frontier Schools booked $6,530,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 154 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $42,375 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 7 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,129,00063.2%
Special education$459,0007.0%
Other programs$1,942,00029.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,458 in 2018-19, $4,816 in 2019-20, $4,392 in 2020-21, $4,479 in 2021-22, $4,186 in 2022-23.

Frontier Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,458, 2019-20: $4,816, 2020-21: $4,392, 2021-22: $4,479, 2022-23: $4,18602k4k6k2018-19$4,4582019-20$4,8162020-21$4,3922021-22$4,4792022-23$4,186
Frontier Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,458, 2019-20: $4,816, 2020-21: $4,392, 2021-22: $4,479, 2022-23: $4,18602k4k6k2018-19$4,4582019-20$4,8162020-21$4,3922021-22$4,4792022-23$4,186
Frontier Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,458, 2019-20: $4,816, 2020-21: $4,392, 2021-22: $4,479, 2022-23: $4,18602k4k6k2018-19$4,4582019-20$4,8162020-21$4,3922021-22$4,4792022-23$4,186
Frontier Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,458, 2019-20: $4,816, 2020-21: $4,392, 2021-22: $4,479, 2022-23: $4,18602k4k6k2018-19$4,4582019-20$4,8162020-21$4,3922021-22$4,4792022-23$4,186

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Frontier Schools scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts31%43.2%800
Math34%39.2%814

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 127 students in Frontier Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%89.3%
Students in the class12767,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 645 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Frontier School of Innovation64511.377.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 381 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Frontier Schl of Innovation-M3078.872.3%Schoolwide program
Frontier Schl of Excellence-M745.4100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 561 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Frontier STEM High School40110.366.8%Schoolwide program
Frontier Schl of Excellence-U1607.8100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Frontier Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Frontier Schools

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentFrontier Schools ranks 11 of 176 Missouri districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,421).#11 of 176
  2. Every school district in MissouriFrontier Schools is the number 131 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 1,560 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#131 of 558
  3. Guadalupe Centers SchoolsThe next larger Missouri district: 1,569 students in fall 2022, $17,440 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,440
  4. Richmond R-XVI School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 1,559 students in fall 2022, $11,432 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,432
  5. Compare Frontier Schools with Guadalupe Centers SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Frontier STEM High School, its largest high school401 students in 2024-25, 10.3 per teacher.401
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriFrontier Schools spent $42,375 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$42,375
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Frontier Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Frontier Schools?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high), enrolling 1,587 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Frontier Schools spend per student?
    $16,421 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,885 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Frontier Schools' money come from?
    $33,216,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 67.3% state, 10.7% local and 22.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Frontier Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,530,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,186 per student. Divided by the 154 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $42,375 per teacher, more than 7 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. How do students in Frontier Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Frontier Schools scored proficient or above: 31% in reading and 34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Frontier Schools?
    90-94% of the 127 students in Frontier Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Frontier Schools' NCES district ID?
    2900590. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25