Chickasaw City Schools

Listed by NCES as Chickasaw City (district ID 0100188)

Public school district · Mobile County · Alabama · NCES district ID 0100188

Chickasaw City Schools spent $9,068 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, the least of the 130 Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,720). Its 4 schools enrolled 2,378 students in 2024-25; 65.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,707 per student, up 18.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 55-59% (Alabama: 90%).

Spending per student among Alabama districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Chickasaw City Schools in enrollment (2,530 to 2,784 students) and Chickasaw City Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Chickasaw City Schools, FY23Colbert County $15,018; Selma City Schools $14,254; Washington County Public Schools $12,721; Russellville City Schools $12,714; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Henry County Public Schools $12,235; Arab City $11,637; Pike Road City $10,965; Chickasaw City Schools $9,068; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.8k10k12k14k16kColbert County$15,018Selma City Schools$14,254Washington County Public Schoo…$12,721Russellville City Schools$12,714Geneva County Board of Educati…$12,608Jasper City$12,293Henry County Public Schools$12,235Arab City$11,637Pike Road City$10,965Chickasaw City Schools$9,068State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Chickasaw City Schools, FY23Colbert County $15,018; Selma City Schools $14,254; Washington County Public Schools $12,721; Russellville City Schools $12,714; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Henry County Public Schools $12,235; Arab City $11,637; Pike Road City $10,965; Chickasaw City Schools $9,068; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.8k10k12k14k16kColbert County$15,018Selma City Schools$14,254Washington County Public Schools$12,721Russellville City Schools$12,714Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Henry County Public Schools$12,235Arab City$11,637Pike Road City$10,965Chickasaw City Schools$9,068State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Chickasaw City Schools, FY23Colbert County $15,018; Selma City Schools $14,254; Washington County Public Schools $12,721; Russellville City Schools $12,714; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Henry County Public Schools $12,235; Arab City $11,637; Pike Road City $10,965; Chickasaw City Schools $9,068; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.8k12k16kColbert County$15,018Selma City Schools$14,254Washington County Public Schools$12,721Russellville City Schools$12,714Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Henry County Public Schools$12,235Arab City$11,637Pike Road City$10,965Chickasaw City Schools$9,068State median, 1,000+ students $12,720
Current spending per student, Alabama districts closest in size to Chickasaw City Schools, FY23Colbert County $15,018; Selma City Schools $14,254; Washington County Public Schools $12,721; Russellville City Schools $12,714; Geneva County Board of Education $12,608; Jasper City $12,293; Henry County Public Schools $12,235; Arab City $11,637; Pike Road City $10,965; Chickasaw City Schools $9,068; State median, 1,000+ students $12,720.8k12k16kColbert County$15,018Selma City Schools$14,254Washington County Public Schools$12,721Russellville City Schools$12,714Geneva County Board of Education$12,608Jasper City$12,293Henry County Public Schools$12,235Arab City$11,637Pike Road City$10,965Chickasaw City Schools$9,068State median, 1,000+ students $12,720

Where the money came from

$30,683,000 in revenue: 65.5% state, 12.9% local and 21.6% federal. Total spending including $6,253,000 of capital outlay was $30,977,000, or $11,672 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Chickasaw City Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $20,090,000; Local $3,953,000; Federal $6,640,000; total $30,683,000.
  • State$20,090,000 65%
  • Local$3,953,000 13%
  • Federal$6,640,000 22%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 130 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,654 students in 2022-23, 2,559 students in 2023-24, 2,378 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Chickasaw City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,654, 2023-24: 2,559, 2024-25: 2,37801k2k3k2022-232,6542023-242,5592024-252,378
Chickasaw City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,654, 2023-24: 2,559, 2024-25: 2,37801k2k3k2022-232,6542023-242,5592024-252,378
Chickasaw City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,654, 2023-24: 2,559, 2024-25: 2,37801k2k3k2022-232,6542023-242,5592024-252,378
Chickasaw City Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,654, 2023-24: 2,559, 2024-25: 2,37801k2k3k2022-232,6542023-242,5592024-252,378

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,65464.241.3
2023-242,55968.037.6
2024-252,37849.048.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Chickasaw City Schools scored proficient or above: 32% in reading and 8% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Alabama, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtAlabamaStudents tested
Reading and language arts32%47.3%1,464
Math8%27.2%1,466

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

55-59% of the 149 students in Chickasaw City Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtAlabama
Four-year graduation rate55‑59%90%
Students in the class14952,928

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 331 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chickasaw City Elementary School33116.674.3%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 143 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chickasaw Middle School14313.690.9%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 241 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chickasaw City High School24113.078.8%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 1,663 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alabama Destinations Career Academy1,663not reported69.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Chickasaw City Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Chickasaw City Schools

  1. Alabama districts by spending per studentChickasaw City Schools ranks 130 of 130 Alabama districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,068).#130 of 130
  2. Every school district in AlabamaChickasaw City Schools is the number 74 by size of 149 Alabama districts, with 2,654 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#74 of 149
  3. Pike Road CityThe next larger Alabama district: 2,695 students in fall 2022, $10,965 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,965
  4. Arab CityThe next smaller Alabama district: 2,653 students in fall 2022, $11,637 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,637
  5. Compare Chickasaw City Schools with Pike Road CityEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Chickasaw City High School, its largest high school241 students in 2024-25, 13.0 per teacher.241
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Chickasaw City Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Chickasaw City Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 2,378 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Chickasaw City Schools spend per student?
    $9,068 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Alabama median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,720 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,707 per student, up 18.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Chickasaw City Schools' money come from?
    $30,683,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 65.5% state, 12.9% local and 21.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Chickasaw City Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 325 of the 1,135 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 28.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Chickasaw City Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Chickasaw City Schools scored proficient or above: 32% in reading and 8% in math, against 47.3% in reading and 27.2% in math across Alabama. Alabama's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Chickasaw City Schools?
    55-59% of the 149 students in Chickasaw City Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90% across Alabama. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Chickasaw City Schools' NCES district ID?
    0100188. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25