Caney Valley USD 436
Listed by NCES as Caney Valley (district ID 2004410)
Public school district · Montgomery County · Kansas · NCES district ID 2004410
Caney Valley USD 436 spent $14,003 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 86% of the other Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,054). Its 3 schools enrolled 798 students in 2024-25; 67.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,894 per student, up 13.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Kansas: 88%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Kansas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Caney Valley USD 436 in enrollment (774 to 822 students) and Caney Valley USD 436 itself.
Where the money came from
$12,523,000 in revenue: 67.8% state, 21.5% local and 10.7% federal. Total spending including $1,382,000 of capital outlay was $12,417,000, or $15,838 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$8,488,000 68%
- Local$2,698,000 22%
- Federal$1,337,000 11%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 203 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
784 students in 2022-23, 783 students in 2023-24, 798 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 784 | 60.3 | 13.0 |
| 2023-24 | 783 | 59.3 | 13.2 |
| 2024-25 | 798 | 53.8 | 14.8 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$3,628,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,628 per student
Caney Valley USD 436 booked $3,628,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 62 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,992 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 58 in 100 Kansas districts with a figure (state median $57,761, 260 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $3,460,000 | 95.4% |
| Vocational | $167,000 | 4.6% |
| Other programs | $1,000 | 0.0% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,106 in 2018-19, $4,126 in 2019-20, $4,386 in 2020-21, $4,335 in 2021-22, $4,628 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Caney Valley USD 436 scored proficient or above: 45% in reading and 47% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Kansas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 45% | 32.5% | 387 |
| Math | 47% | 29.4% | 386 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% or more of the 49 students in Caney Valley USD 436's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Kansas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% or more | 88% |
| Students in the class | 49 | 36,783 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 458 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lincoln Memorial Elementary | 458 | 18.7 | 40.4% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 340 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caney Valley High | 335 | 12.2 | 36.1% | Eligible, no program |
| Caney Valley Charter Academy | 5 | 2.8 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Caney Valley USD 436
- Website: caney.com
- Phone: (620) 879-9200
- Office: 700 E. Bullpup Blvd., Caney, KS 67333
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Caney Valley USD 436
- Kansas districts by spending per studentCaney Valley USD 436 ranks 174 of 203 Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,003).#174 of 203
- Every school district in KansasCaney Valley USD 436 is the number 111 by size of 290 Kansas districts, with 784 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#111 of 290
- Morris CountyThe next larger Kansas district: 788 students in fall 2022, $15,951 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,951
- Perry Public SchoolsThe next smaller Kansas district: 779 students in fall 2022, $13,955 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,955
- Compare Caney Valley USD 436 with Morris CountyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Caney Valley High, its largest high school335 students in 2024-25, 12.2 per teacher.335
- Teacher salary spending across KansasCaney Valley USD 436 spent $58,992 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,761); spending, not a salary.$58,992
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Caney Valley USD 436
How many schools and students are in Caney Valley USD 436?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 2 high), enrolling 798 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Caney Valley USD 436 spend per student?
$14,003 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kansas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,054 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,894 per student, up 13.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Caney Valley USD 436's money come from?
$12,523,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 67.8% state, 21.5% local and 10.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Caney Valley USD 436 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 96 of the 681 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Caney Valley USD 436 spend on teacher salaries?
$3,628,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,628 per student. Divided by the 62 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,992 per teacher, more than 58 in 100 Kansas districts (state median $57,761). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Kansas teacher salary at $54,815 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Caney Valley USD 436 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Caney Valley USD 436 scored proficient or above: 45% in reading and 47% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Caney Valley USD 436?
90% or more of the 49 students in Caney Valley USD 436's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Caney Valley USD 436's NCES district ID?
2004410. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25