Chelsea Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Chelsea (district ID 4007380)

Public school district · Rogers County · Oklahoma · NCES district ID 4007380

Chelsea Public Schools spent $12,097 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 61% of the other Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,870). Its 3 schools enrolled 813 students in 2024-25; 47.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,908 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 75-79% (Oklahoma: 81.2%).

Spending per student among Oklahoma districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Chelsea Public Schools in enrollment (755 to 814 students) and Chelsea Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Chelsea Public Schools, FY23Fairview Public Schools $15,887; Salina Public Schools $13,958; Colcord Public Schools $12,873; Kansas Public Schools $12,599; Chelsea Public Schools $12,097; Frederick Public Schools $12,074; Caney Valley $11,919; Colbert Public Schools $11,279; Warner Public Schools $10,529; Dale Public Schools $9,820; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kFairview Public Schools$15,887Salina Public Schools$13,958Colcord Public Schools$12,873Kansas Public Schools$12,599Chelsea Public Schools$12,097Frederick Public Schools$12,074Caney Valley$11,919Colbert Public Schools$11,279Warner Public Schools$10,529Dale Public Schools$9,820State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Chelsea Public Schools, FY23Fairview Public Schools $15,887; Salina Public Schools $13,958; Colcord Public Schools $12,873; Kansas Public Schools $12,599; Chelsea Public Schools $12,097; Frederick Public Schools $12,074; Caney Valley $11,919; Colbert Public Schools $11,279; Warner Public Schools $10,529; Dale Public Schools $9,820; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kFairview Public Schools$15,887Salina Public Schools$13,958Colcord Public Schools$12,873Kansas Public Schools$12,599Chelsea Public Schools$12,097Frederick Public Schools$12,074Caney Valley$11,919Colbert Public Schools$11,279Warner Public Schools$10,529Dale Public Schools$9,820State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Chelsea Public Schools, FY23Fairview Public Schools $15,887; Salina Public Schools $13,958; Colcord Public Schools $12,873; Kansas Public Schools $12,599; Chelsea Public Schools $12,097; Frederick Public Schools $12,074; Caney Valley $11,919; Colbert Public Schools $11,279; Warner Public Schools $10,529; Dale Public Schools $9,820; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.7.5k12.5k17.5kFairview Public Schools$15,887Salina Public Schools$13,958Colcord Public Schools$12,873Kansas Public Schools$12,599Chelsea Public Schools$12,097Frederick Public Schools$12,074Caney Valley$11,919Colbert Public Schools$11,279Warner Public Schools$10,529Dale Public Schools$9,820State median, under 1,000 students $12,870
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Chelsea Public Schools, FY23Fairview Public Schools $15,887; Salina Public Schools $13,958; Colcord Public Schools $12,873; Kansas Public Schools $12,599; Chelsea Public Schools $12,097; Frederick Public Schools $12,074; Caney Valley $11,919; Colbert Public Schools $11,279; Warner Public Schools $10,529; Dale Public Schools $9,820; State median, under 1,000 students $12,870.7.5k12.5k17.5kFairview Public Schools$15,887Salina Public Schools$13,958Colcord Public Schools$12,873Kansas Public Schools$12,599Chelsea Public Schools$12,097Frederick Public Schools$12,074Caney Valley$11,919Colbert Public Schools$11,279Warner Public Schools$10,529Dale Public Schools$9,820State median, under 1,000 students $12,870

Where the money came from

$10,723,000 in revenue: 47.3% state, 26.7% local and 26.0% federal. Total spending including $125,000 of capital outlay was $9,644,000, or $12,301 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Chelsea Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,069,000; Local $2,862,000; Federal $2,792,000; total $10,723,000.
  • State$5,069,000 47%
  • Local$2,862,000 27%
  • Federal$2,792,000 26%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 408 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

784 students in 2022-23, 808 students in 2023-24, 813 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Chelsea Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 784, 2023-24: 808, 2024-25: 81302505007501k2022-237842023-248082024-25813
Chelsea Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 784, 2023-24: 808, 2024-25: 81302505007501k2022-237842023-248082024-25813
Chelsea Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 784, 2023-24: 808, 2024-25: 81302505007501k2022-237842023-248082024-25813
Chelsea Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 784, 2023-24: 808, 2024-25: 81302505007501k2022-237842023-248082024-25813

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2378455.114.2
2023-2480854.015.0
2024-2581348.017.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,405,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,068 per student

Chelsea Public Schools booked $2,405,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 55 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $43,664 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 6 in 100 Oklahoma districts with a figure (state median $48,166, 514 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,722,00071.6%
Special education$388,00016.1%
Vocational$133,0005.5%
Other programs$162,0006.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,972 in 2018-19, $3,112 in 2019-20, $3,211 in 2020-21, $3,121 in 2021-22, $3,068 in 2022-23.

Chelsea Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,972, 2019-20: $3,112, 2020-21: $3,211, 2021-22: $3,121, 2022-23: $3,06801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9722019-20$3,1122020-21$3,2112021-22$3,1212022-23$3,068
Chelsea Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,972, 2019-20: $3,112, 2020-21: $3,211, 2021-22: $3,121, 2022-23: $3,06801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9722019-20$3,1122020-21$3,2112021-22$3,1212022-23$3,068
Chelsea Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,972, 2019-20: $3,112, 2020-21: $3,211, 2021-22: $3,121, 2022-23: $3,06801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9722019-20$3,1122020-21$3,2112021-22$3,1212022-23$3,068
Chelsea Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,972, 2019-20: $3,112, 2020-21: $3,211, 2021-22: $3,121, 2022-23: $3,06801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9722019-20$3,1122020-21$3,2112021-22$3,1212022-23$3,068

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Chelsea Public Schools scored proficient or above: 17% in reading and 11% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOklahomaStudents tested
Reading and language arts17%27.2%372
Math11%24.9%371

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

75-79% of the 61 students in Chelsea Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOklahoma
Four-year graduation rate75‑79%81.2%
Students in the class6152,179

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 377 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Art Goad Elementary School37716.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 191 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chelsea Middle School19117.8All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 245 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chelsea High School24516.4All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Chelsea Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Chelsea Public Schools

  1. Oklahoma districts by spending per studentChelsea Public Schools ranks 248 of 408 Oklahoma districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,097).#248 of 408
  2. Every school district in OklahomaChelsea Public Schools is the number 165 by size of 544 Oklahoma districts, with 784 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#165 of 544
  3. Kansas Public SchoolsThe next larger Oklahoma district: 791 students in fall 2022, $12,599 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,599
  4. Salina Public SchoolsThe next smaller Oklahoma district: 766 students in fall 2022, $13,958 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,958
  5. Compare Chelsea Public Schools with Kansas Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Chelsea High School, its largest high school245 students in 2024-25, 16.4 per teacher.245
  7. Teacher salary spending across OklahomaChelsea Public Schools spent $43,664 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $48,166); spending, not a salary.$43,664
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Chelsea Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Chelsea Public Schools?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 813 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Chelsea Public Schools spend per student?
    $12,097 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oklahoma median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,870 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,908 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Chelsea Public Schools' money come from?
    $10,723,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.3% state, 26.7% local and 26.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Chelsea Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 185 of the 1,139 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Chelsea Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,405,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,068 per student. Divided by the 55 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $43,664 per teacher, more than 6 in 100 Oklahoma districts (state median $48,166). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Chelsea Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Chelsea Public Schools scored proficient or above: 17% in reading and 11% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Chelsea Public Schools?
    75-79% of the 61 students in Chelsea Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Chelsea Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    4007380. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25