Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork
Public school district · Forsyth County · North Carolina · NCES district ID 3700427
Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork spent $18,000 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 94% of the other North Carolina districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,241). Its one school enrolled 295 students in 2024-25; 53.1% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among North Carolina districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork in enrollment (238 to 283 students) and Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork itself.
Where the money came from
$3,689,000 in revenue: 53.1% state, 19.5% local and 27.3% federal. Total spending was $4,698,000, or $18,000 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$1,960,000 53%
- Local$721,000 20%
- Federal$1,008,000 27%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 178 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
261 students in 2022-23, 284 students in 2023-24, 295 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 261 | 15.0 | 17.4 |
| 2023-24 | 284 | 15.7 | 18.1 |
| 2024-25 | 295 | not reported | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$959,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,674 per student
Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork booked $959,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 15 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,019 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 99 in 100 North Carolina districts with a figure (state median $49,503, 293 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $575,000 | 60.0% |
| Special education | $332,000 | 34.6% |
| Other programs | $52,000 | 5.4% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,074 in 2018-19, $2,414 in 2019-20, $2,675 in 2020-21, $3,336 in 2021-22, $3,674 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork scored proficient or above: 16-25% in reading and 3-13% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Carolina, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | North Carolina | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 16-25% | 48% | 147 |
| Math | 3-13% | 50% | 146 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 295 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appalachian Academy at Middle Fork | 295 | 17.4 | 71.9% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork
- Phone: (336) 748-4090
- Office: 3125 Williston Rd, Walkertown, NC 27051
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork
- North Carolina districts by spending per studentAppalachian State U Academy Middle Fork ranks 12 of 178 North Carolina districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,000).#12 of 178
- Every school district in North CarolinaAppalachian State U Academy Middle Fork is the number 282 by size of 332 North Carolina districts, with 261 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#282 of 332
- Central Carolina AcademyThe next larger North Carolina district: 272 students in fall 2022, $7,757 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$7,757
- Ridgeview Charter SchoolThe next smaller North Carolina district: 254 students in fall 2022, $13,150 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,150
- Compare Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork with Central Carolina AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across North CarolinaAppalachian State U Academy Middle Fork spent $64,019 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,503); spending, not a salary.$64,019
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork
How many schools and students are in Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 295 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork spend per student?
$18,000 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Carolina median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,241 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork's money come from?
$3,689,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 53.1% state, 19.5% local and 27.3% federal (NCES F-33).How much does Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork spend on teacher salaries?
$959,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,674 per student. Divided by the 15 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,019 per teacher, more than 99 in 100 North Carolina districts (state median $49,503). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Carolina teacher salary at $53,644 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork scored proficient or above: 16-25% in reading and 3-13% in math, against 48% in reading and 50% in math across North Carolina. North Carolina's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Appalachian State U Academy Middle Fork's NCES district ID?
3700427. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25