Public schools in Galveston, TX
Galveston has 11 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 high, 2 middle, 4 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 6,430 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Galveston ISD runs 9 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Galveston's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Galveston | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galveston ISD | 9 | 6,486 | $13,846 |
| Odyssey Academy | 1 | 1,573 | $11,818 |
| Ambassadors Preparatory Academy | 1 | 170 | $17,753 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 high schools in Galveston, 2,011 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ball High School | 1,905 | 16.2 | 68.6% | Galveston ISD |
| Aim College & Career Prep | 101 | 9.2 | 89.1% | Galveston ISD |
| Galveston Co J J a E P | 5 | not reported | not reported | Galveston ISD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 middle schools in Galveston, 1,629 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weis | 844 | 14.7 | 79.6% | Galveston ISD |
| Central Middle | 785 | 14.0 | 78.9% | Galveston ISD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
4 elementary schools in Galveston, 1,834 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oppe Elementary | 669 | 15.7 | 54.4% | Galveston ISD |
| Burnet Elementary | 562 | 14.2 | 91.3% | Galveston ISD |
| Parker Elementary | 436 | 12.7 | 83.3% | Galveston ISD |
| Ambassadors Preparatory Academy | 167 | 10.5 | 70.1% | Ambassadors Preparatory Academy |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 other schools in Galveston, 956 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Odyssey Academy - Galveston | 795 | 16.1 | 78.9% | Odyssey Academy |
| Moody Early Childhood Center | 161 | 18.0 | 80.1% | Galveston ISD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Galveston's public schools compare with Texas's
The median Galveston school has 14.4 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the Texas median of 14.5. 91% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 70% across the state. Its median school enrolls 562 students (state 507).
| Galveston | Texas | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 14.4 | 14.5 |
| Median school size (students) | 562 | 507 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 91% | 70% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 82% | 52% |
| Charter schools | 27% | 11% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 11 Galveston schools and the 8,846 Texas schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Galveston
- Galveston ISDRuns 9 of Galveston's 11 public schools and spent $13,846 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,846
- Ball High School, the largest high school in Galveston1,905 students in 2024-25, 16.2 per teacher.1,905
- Compare Galveston ISD with Odyssey AcademyGalveston's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in TexasTexas's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Galveston addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Texas
- Houston759 schools
- San Antonio521 schools
- Dallas352 schools
- Austin258 schools
- Fort Worth257 schools
- El Paso213 schools
- Arlington102 schools
- Corpus Christi90 schools
Questions about schools in Galveston
How many public schools are in Galveston, TX?
11 public schools with an address in Galveston were open in 2024-25: 3 high, 2 middle, 4 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 6,430 students. 3 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Galveston?
Ball High School, with 1,905 students in 2024-25 (Galveston ISD).Which districts run Galveston's schools?
Galveston ISD (9 schools), Odyssey Academy (1 school), Ambassadors Preparatory Academy (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25