Public schools in St Joseph, MO
St Joseph has 23 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 4 high, 4 middle, 14 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 10,327 students. They are run by 4 districts and agencies; St. Joseph School District runs 20 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 4 districts and agencies that run St Joseph's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in St Joseph | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Joseph School District | 20 | 10,568 | $12,067 |
| Savannah R-III | 1 | 2,332 | $9,704 |
| Mo Schls for the Sev Disabled | 1 | 704 | not reported |
| Division of Youth Service | 1 | 459 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
4 high schools in St Joseph, 3,076 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central High | 1,733 | 16.4 | 31.8% | St. Joseph |
| Benton High | 682 | 13.4 | 40.9% | St. Joseph |
| Lafayette High | 644 | 12.2 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Riverbend Treatment Ctr. | 17 | 3.4 | 82.4% | Division of Youth Service |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
4 middle schools in St Joseph, 1,783 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bode Middle | 488 | 11.8 | 33.8% | St. Joseph |
| Truman Middle | 486 | 13.1 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Robidoux Middle | 405 | 13.5 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Spring Garden Middle | 404 | 14.1 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
14 elementary schools in St Joseph, 5,425 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carden Park Elementary | 638 | 12.1 | 99.8% | St. Joseph |
| Oak Grove Elementary | 502 | 14.4 | 27.5% | St. Joseph |
| Parkway Elementary | 438 | 13.6 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Lindbergh Elementary | 431 | 11.9 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Hosea Elementary | 422 | 13.1 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Skaith Elementary | 398 | 14.2 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Coleman Elementary | 388 | 12.2 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Edison Elementary | 362 | 11.6 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Hyde Elementary | 352 | 13.3 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| Ellison Elementary | 343 | 14.6 | 31.2% | St. Joseph |
The other 4 elementary schools
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Field Elementary | 336 | 15.8 | 44.3% | St. Joseph |
| Pershing Elementary | 285 | 13.9 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
| John Glenn Elementary | 280 | 14.4 | 28.9% | Savannah R-III |
| Pickett Elementary | 250 | 11.2 | 100.0% | St. Joseph |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in St Joseph, 43 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Helen M Davis School | 43 | 6.1 | 44.2% | Mo Schls for the Sev Disabled |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How St Joseph's public schools compare with Missouri's
The median St Joseph school has 13.3 students per full-time teacher, more than the Missouri median of 12.5. 43% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 48% across the state. Its median school enrolls 404 students (state 317).
| St Joseph | Missouri | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 13.3 | 12.5 |
| Median school size (students) | 404 | 317 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 43% | 48% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 61% | 22% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 3.4% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 23 St Joseph schools and the 2,294 Missouri schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in St Joseph
- St. Joseph School DistrictRuns 20 of St Joseph's 23 public schools and spent $12,067 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,067
- Central High, the largest high school in St Joseph1,733 students in 2024-25, 16.4 per teacher.1,733
- Compare St. Joseph School District with Savannah R-IIISt Joseph's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in MissouriMissouri's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a St Joseph addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Missouri
- St Louis193 schools
- Kansas City151 schools
- Springfield60 schools
- Independence36 schools
- Columbia35 schools
- St Charles32 schools
- Lee's Summit30 schools
- Florissant29 schools
Questions about schools in St Joseph
How many public schools are in St Joseph, MO?
23 public schools with an address in St Joseph were open in 2024-25: 4 high, 4 middle, 14 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 10,327 students.What is the largest high school in St Joseph?
Central High, with 1,733 students in 2024-25 (St. Joseph School District).Which districts run St Joseph's schools?
St. Joseph School District (20 schools), Savannah R-III (1 school), Mo Schls for the Sev Disabled (1 school), Division of Youth Service (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25