East Saint Louis School District 189
Listed by NCES as East St Louis SD 189 (district ID 1713320)
Public school district · St. Clair County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1713320
East Saint Louis School District 189 spent $27,439 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 94% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $18,127). Its 10 schools enrolled 4,646 students in 2024-25; 66.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,017 per student, up 5.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 69% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to East Saint Louis School District 189 in enrollment (4,642 to 4,784 students) and East Saint Louis School District 189 itself.
Where the money came from
$137,914,000 in revenue: 66.5% state, 16.4% local and 17.1% federal. Total spending including $9,622,000 of capital outlay was $144,591,000, or $30,902 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$91,683,000 66%
- Local$22,682,000 16%
- Federal$23,549,000 17%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,679 students in 2022-23, 4,635 students in 2023-24, 4,646 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,679 | 369.4 | 12.7 |
| 2023-24 | 4,635 | 373.0 | 12.4 |
| 2024-25 | 4,646 | 359.0 | 12.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Saint Louis School District 189 scored proficient or above: 8% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 8% | 29.9% | 2,100 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
69% of the 457 students in East Saint Louis School District 189's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 69% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 457 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
5 elementary schools, 1,983 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wyvetter Younge Sch of Excellence | 534 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Katie Harper-Wright Elementary | 418 | 13.5 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Annette Officer Elementary | 362 | 14.5 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| James Avant Elementary School | 342 | 9.8 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Dunbar Elementary School | 327 | 12.1 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 899 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mason/Clark Middle School | 540 | 11.5 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| East St Louis-Lincoln Middle School | 359 | 8.0 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 1,387 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| East St Louis Senior High School | 1,288 | 15.5 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| SIU Charter Sch of East St Louis | 99 | 16.5 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 377 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vivian Adams Early Child Ctr | 377 | 15.1 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact East Saint Louis School District 189
- Website: estl189.com
- Phone: (618) 646-3009
- Office: 1005 State St, East Saint Louis, IL 62201
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about East Saint Louis School District 189
- Illinois districts by spending per studentEast Saint Louis School District 189 ranks 23 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($27,439).#23 of 377
- Every school district in IllinoisEast Saint Louis School District 189 is the number 73 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 4,679 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#73 of 865
- Thornton Township High School District 205The next larger Illinois district: 4,681 students in fall 2022, $28,504 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$28,504
- Park Ridge-Niles School District 64The next smaller Illinois district: 4,671 students in fall 2022, $22,454 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,454
- Compare East Saint Louis School District 189 with Thornton Township High School District 205Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- East St Louis Senior High School, its largest high school1,288 students in 2024-25, 15.5 per teacher.1,288
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about East Saint Louis School District 189
How many schools and students are in East Saint Louis School District 189?
10 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 4,646 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does East Saint Louis School District 189 spend per student?
$27,439 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $29,017 per student, up 5.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does East Saint Louis School District 189's money come from?
$137,914,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.5% state, 16.4% local and 17.1% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in East Saint Louis School District 189 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,702 of the 4,546 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 37.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in East Saint Louis School District 189 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in East Saint Louis School District 189 scored proficient or above: 8% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in East Saint Louis School District 189?
69% of the 457 students in East Saint Louis School District 189's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is East Saint Louis School District 189's NCES district ID?
1713320. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25