Public schools in Saugus, CA
Saugus has 7 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 1 high, 6 elementary, enrolling 6,754 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Saugus Union School District runs 6 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Saugus's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Saugus | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saugus Union School District | 6 | 9,097 | $14,043 |
| William S. Hart Union High | 1 | 21,011 | $15,249 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
One high school in Saugus, 2,317 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saugus High | 2,317 | 24.5 | 15.0% | William S. Hart Union High |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
6 elementary schools in Saugus, 4,437 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mountainview Elementary | 917 | 25.5 | 13.7% | Saugus Union |
| Plum Canyon Elementary | 876 | 28.3 | 18.8% | Saugus Union |
| Emblem Academy | 810 | 26.1 | 20.9% | Saugus Union |
| Highlands Elementary | 666 | 24.7 | 25.5% | Saugus Union |
| Rosedell Elementary | 660 | 27.5 | 27.7% | Saugus Union |
| James Foster Elementary | 508 | 28.5 | 25.6% | Saugus Union |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Saugus's public schools compare with California's
The median Saugus school has 26.1 students per full-time teacher, more than the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 810 students (state 471).
| Saugus | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 26.1 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 810 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 57% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 7 Saugus schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Saugus
- Saugus Union School DistrictRuns 6 of Saugus's 7 public schools and spent $14,043 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,043
- Saugus High, the largest high school in Saugus2,317 students in 2024-25, 24.5 per teacher.2,317
- Compare Saugus Union School District with William S. Hart Union HighSaugus's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Saugus addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Saugus
How many public schools are in Saugus, CA?
7 public schools with an address in Saugus were open in 2024-25: 1 high, 6 elementary, enrolling 6,754 students.What is the largest high school in Saugus?
Saugus High, with 2,317 students in 2024-25 (William S. Hart Union High).Which districts run Saugus's schools?
Saugus Union School District (6 schools), William S. Hart Union High (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25