Public schools in Saratoga, CA
Saratoga has 9 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 2 high, 1 middle, 6 elementary, enrolling 5,481 students. They are run by 5 districts and agencies; Saratoga Union School District runs 4 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 5 districts and agencies that run Saratoga's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Saratoga | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saratoga Union School District | 4 | 1,625 | $23,274 |
| Cupertino Union | 2 | 13,467 | $16,179 |
| Campbell Union High | 1 | 8,639 | $17,678 |
| Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District | 1 | 3,269 | $22,664 |
| Campbell Union School District | 1 | 6,253 | $18,914 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
2 high schools in Saratoga, 2,621 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prospect High | 1,460 | 21.5 | 36.1% | Campbell Union High |
| Saratoga High | 1,161 | 19.1 | 3.4% | Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Saratoga, 709 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redwood Middle | 709 | 20.8 | 2.5% | Saratoga Union |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
6 elementary schools in Saratoga, 2,151 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marshall Lane Elementary | 427 | 23.7 | 10.1% | Campbell Union |
| Blue Hills Elementary | 424 | 23.4 | 10.6% | Cupertino Union |
| Argonaut Elementary | 367 | 22.9 | 2.5% | Saratoga Union |
| Christa McAuliffe Elementary | 358 | 19.8 | 6.1% | Cupertino Union |
| Saratoga Elementary | 297 | 22.8 | 3.0% | Saratoga Union |
| Foothill Elementary | 278 | 18.5 | 9.0% | Saratoga Union |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Saratoga's public schools compare with California's
The median Saratoga school has 21.5 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 424 students (state 471).
| Saratoga | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 21.5 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 424 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 0% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 11% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 9 Saratoga schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Saratoga
- Saratoga Union School DistrictRuns 4 of Saratoga's 9 public schools and spent $23,274 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,274
- Prospect High, the largest high school in Saratoga1,460 students in 2024-25, 21.5 per teacher.1,460
- Compare Saratoga Union School District with Cupertino UnionSaratoga's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Saratoga addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Saratoga
How many public schools are in Saratoga, CA?
9 public schools with an address in Saratoga were open in 2024-25: 2 high, 1 middle, 6 elementary, enrolling 5,481 students. 1 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Saratoga?
Prospect High, with 1,460 students in 2024-25 (Campbell Union High).Which districts run Saratoga's schools?
Saratoga Union School District (4 schools), Cupertino Union (2 schools), Campbell Union High (1 school), Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District (1 school), and 1 more. A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25