Public schools in Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Rancho Palos Verdes has 10 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 middle, 7 elementary, enrolling 5,676 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified runs 8 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Rancho Palos Verdes's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Rancho Palos Verdes | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified | 8 | 10,457 | $14,998 |
| Los Angeles Unified School District | 2 | 427,795 | $22,606 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 middle schools in Rancho Palos Verdes, 2,938 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rudecinda Sepulveda Dodson Middle | 1,337 | 20.4 | 60.8% | Los Angeles Unified |
| Ridgecrest Intermediate | 881 | 24.3 | 10.2% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Miraleste Intermediate | 720 | 20.5 | 13.8% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
7 elementary schools in Rancho Palos Verdes, 2,738 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Silver Spur Elementary | 540 | 22.6 | 2.8% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Soleado Elementary | 443 | 22.1 | 12.6% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Cornerstone at Pedregal Elementary | 411 | 21.9 | 7.8% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Mira Catalina Elementary | 366 | 21.0 | 13.4% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Vista Grande Elementary | 355 | 22.1 | 11.0% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Point Vicente Elementary | 334 | 17.9 | 19.8% | Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified |
| Crestwood Street STEAM Magnet | 289 | 22.2 | 68.5% | Los Angeles Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Rancho Palos Verdes's public schools compare with California's
The median Rancho Palos Verdes school has 22.0 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 427 students (state 471).
| Rancho Palos Verdes | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 22.0 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 427 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 20% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 10 Rancho Palos Verdes schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Rancho Palos Verdes
- Palos Verdes Peninsula UnifiedRuns 8 of Rancho Palos Verdes's 10 public schools and spent $14,998 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,998
- Compare Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified with Los Angeles Unified School DistrictRancho Palos Verdes's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Rancho Palos Verdes addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Rancho Palos Verdes
How many public schools are in Rancho Palos Verdes, CA?
10 public schools with an address in Rancho Palos Verdes were open in 2024-25: 3 middle, 7 elementary, enrolling 5,676 students.Which districts run Rancho Palos Verdes's schools?
Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified (8 schools), Los Angeles Unified School District (2 schools). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25