Woodlands School - State Street Campus

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 8 · Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Woodlands School - State Street Campus in Milwaukee, Wisconsin enrolled 175 students in 2024-25 with 11.8 full-time teachers, 14.8 students per teacher against the Wisconsin elementary-school median of 12.9. It has no Title I status on file for 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 10-14% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Wisconsin: 40.1%).

Enrollment fell 32% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 16%

257 students in 2022-23, 198 students in 2023-24, 175 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 14.0 to 11.8.

Students enrolled at Woodlands School - State Street Campus by school year2022-23: 257, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 17501002003002022-232572023-241982024-25175
Students enrolled at Woodlands School - State Street Campus by school year2022-23: 257, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 17501002003002022-232572023-241982024-25175
Students enrolled at Woodlands School - State Street Campus by school year2022-23: 257, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 17501002003002022-232572023-241982024-25175
Students enrolled at Woodlands School - State Street Campus by school year2022-23: 257, 2023-24: 198, 2024-25: 17501002003002022-232572023-241982024-25175
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2325714.018.4
2023-2419811.816.8
2024-2517511.814.8

14.8 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 76 of every 100 Wisconsin elementary schools

Among the 1,085 Wisconsin elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.9; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Wisconsin elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.2 to 80.0; This school 14.8; state median 12.9.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.8state median 12.9U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Wisconsin elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.2 to 80.0; This school 14.8; state median 12.9.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.8state median 12.9U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Wisconsin elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.2 to 80.0; This school 14.8; state median 12.9.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.8state median 12.9U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Wisconsin elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.2 to 80.0; This school 14.8; state median 12.9.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.8state median 12.9U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Woodlands School - State Street Campus reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent42.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

68.0% of students were Black, 13.7% of two or more races, 11.4% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. Black68.0%
  2. Two or more races13.7%
  3. Hispanic11.4%
  4. White3.4%
  5. Asian3.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Woodlands School - State Street Campus scored proficient or above: 10-14% in math, against 40.1% in math across Wisconsin. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wisconsin, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtWisconsin
Math10‑14%25‑34% (2021-22)40.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Milwaukee

119 public elementary schools in Milwaukee report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Bruce Guadalupe1,36413.872.9%
Milwaukee Parkside School85916.874.2%
Longfellow Elementary77319.189.7%
Fernwood Montessori73121.620.5%
Vieau Elementary71316.269.4%
Milwaukee Scholars Charter School69619.383.0%
Hayes Bilingual School67015.385.8%
Gaenslen Elementary64111.788.3%

All public schools in Milwaukee →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Woodlands School - State Street Campus

  1. Story ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.4 miles away: 365 students, 16.4 per teacher (2024-25).0.4 mi
  2. Milwaukee Academy of Chinese LanguageThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 499 students, 15.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  3. Compare Woodlands School - State Street Campus with Story ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Woodlands School Inc. spends per studentIts schools, enrollment and finance figures.
  5. The largest public schools in WisconsinWoodlands School - State Street Campus is the number 919 by size of 1,087 Wisconsin elementary schools open in 2024-25.#919 of 1,087
  6. Wisconsin schools by students per teacher14.8 students per teacher here against the Wisconsin median of 12.9 for elementary schools.14.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Woodlands School - State Street Campus

  1. How many students attend Woodlands School - State Street Campus?
    175 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 257 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Milwaukee, WI.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Woodlands School - State Street Campus?
    14.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Wisconsin median for elementary schools is 12.9. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Woodlands School - State Street Campus a Title I school?
    Woodlands School - State Street Campus has no 2021-22 Title I status in the NCES school files (the school opened later, or its district did not report one).
  4. How do students at Woodlands School - State Street Campus do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Woodlands School - State Street Campus scored proficient or above: 10-14% in math, against 40.1% in math across Wisconsin. Wisconsin's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Woodlands School - State Street Campus in?
    Woodlands School Inc., NCES district ID 5500113. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 550011302942 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22