Tuscarora Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 2 · Martinsburg, West Virginia

Tuscarora Elementary School in Martinsburg, West Virginia enrolled 338 students in 2024-25 with 24.1 full-time teachers, 14.0 students per teacher against the West Virginia elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 17% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 1%

409 students in 2022-23, 346 students in 2023-24, 338 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 24.4 to 24.1.

Students enrolled at Tuscarora Elementary School by school year2022-23: 409, 2023-24: 346, 2024-25: 33802004006002022-234092023-243462024-25338
Students enrolled at Tuscarora Elementary School by school year2022-23: 409, 2023-24: 346, 2024-25: 33802004006002022-234092023-243462024-25338
Students enrolled at Tuscarora Elementary School by school year2022-23: 409, 2023-24: 346, 2024-25: 33802004006002022-234092023-243462024-25338
Students enrolled at Tuscarora Elementary School by school year2022-23: 409, 2023-24: 346, 2024-25: 33802004006002022-234092023-243462024-25338
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2340924.416.7
2023-2434626.213.2
2024-2533824.114.0

14.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 67 of every 100 West Virginia elementary schools

Among the 392 West Virginia elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 14.0; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 14.0state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 14.0; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 14.0state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 14.0; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 14.0state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 14.0; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 14.0state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 320 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Tuscarora Elementary School enrolled 320 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 6 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 320 of the 320 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions6
  • Chronically absent36.9% (2022-23)

Who attends

63.0% of students were White, 16.3% Black, 10.1% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White63.0%
  2. Black16.3%
  3. Hispanic10.1%
  4. Two or more races9.8%
  5. Asian0.6%
  6. American Indian0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Martinsburg

12 public elementary schools in Martinsburg report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Potomack Intermediate School87117.5not reported
Orchard View Intermediate School71414.6not reported
Berkeley Heights Elementary School69519.9not reported
Eagle School Intermediate61914.5not reported
Spring Mills Primary54517.1not reported
Opequon Elementary School43312.9not reported
Valley View Elementary School42914.7not reported
Rosemont Elementary School41913.6not reported

All public schools in Martinsburg →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Tuscarora Elementary School

  1. Rosemont Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.3 miles away: 419 students, 13.6 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
  2. Burke Street Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.3 miles away: 158 students, 11.9 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
  3. Compare Tuscarora Elementary School with Rosemont Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Berkeley County Schools spends per student$12,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,899
  5. The largest public schools in West VirginiaTuscarora Elementary School is the number 119 by size of 393 West Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#119 of 393
  6. West Virginia schools by students per teacher14.0 students per teacher here against the West Virginia median of 13.1 for elementary schools.14.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Tuscarora Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Tuscarora Elementary School?
    338 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 409 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Martinsburg, WV.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Tuscarora Elementary School?
    14.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the West Virginia median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Tuscarora Elementary School a Title I school?
    Tuscarora Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Tuscarora Elementary School in?
    Berkeley County Schools, NCES district ID 5400060. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 540006000032 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22