Texas Connections Academy at Houston
Public school, grades 3 to 12 · Houston, Texas
Texas Connections Academy at Houston in Houston, Texas enrolled 8,641 students in 2024-25 with 279.8 full-time teachers, 30.9 students per teacher against the Texas median of 12.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 62% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 27% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Texas: 52% and 43.7%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 4% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 9%
8,967 students in 2022-23, 8,332 students in 2023-24, 8,641 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 309.0 to 279.8.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 8,967 | 309.0 | 29.0 |
| 2023-24 | 8,332 | 278.9 | 29.9 |
| 2024-25 | 8,641 | 279.8 | 30.9 |
30.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 98 of every 100 Texas schools of this kind
Among the 440 Texas schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.2; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
14 AP courses and one counselor per 571 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Texas Connections Academy at Houston enrolled 10,127 students and had 17.7 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement courses14
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)17.7, one per 571 of the 10,127 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
38.6% of students were Hispanic, 35.8% White, 14.3% Black in 2024-25.
- Hispanic38.6%
- White35.8%
- Black14.3%
- Asian5.8%
- Two or more races4.9%
- American Indian0.4%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Texas Connections Academy at Houston scored proficient or above: 62% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 52% in reading in 2021-22 and 43.7% in math in 2022-23 across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Texas |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 62% | 49% | 52% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 27% | 36% (2021-22) | 43.7% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% of the 1,018 students in Texas Connections Academy at Houston's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% | 83% | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 1,018 | 13,637 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
Schools of this kind in Houston
30 public schools of this kind in Houston report 2024-25 enrollment; Texas Connections Academy at Houston is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Connections Academy at Houston | 8,641 | 30.9 | not reported |
| Sst Champions | 1,660 | 16.8 | 67.3% |
| Dr Kirk Lewis Career and Technical High School | 1,486 | 17.0 | 79.3% |
| T H Rogers School | 1,079 | 18.1 | 11.3% |
| Houston Gateway Academy - Coral Campus | 961 | 24.1 | 71.6% |
| Nci Charter School Without Walls | 891 | 20.3 | 85.1% |
| George I Sanchez Charter | 726 | 20.8 | 81.0% |
| Aristoi Classical Academy | 511 | 15.6 | 17.4% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Texas Connections Academy at Houston
- The Wildcat Way SchoolThe nearest public school of this kind, 3.4 miles away: 268 students, 17.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.4 mi
- Maria Del Carmen Martinez Early Learning CenterThe next nearest public school of this kind, 3.7 miles away: 335 students, 12.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.7 mi
- Compare Texas Connections Academy at Houston with The Wildcat Way SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Houston ISD spends per student$13,072 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,072
- The largest public schools in TexasTexas Connections Academy at Houston is the number 2 by size of 501 Texas schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#2 of 501
- Texas schools by students per teacher30.9 students per teacher here against the Texas median of 12.2 for schools of this kind.30.9:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Texas Connections Academy at Houston
How many students attend Texas Connections Academy at Houston?
8,641 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 8,967 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Houston, TX.What is the student-teacher ratio at Texas Connections Academy at Houston?
30.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Texas median for schools of this kind is 12.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Texas Connections Academy at Houston a Title I school?
Texas Connections Academy at Houston ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Texas Connections Academy at Houston do on state tests?
The students tested at Texas Connections Academy at Houston scored proficient or above: 62% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 52% in reading in 2021-22 and 43.7% in math in 2022-23 across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Texas Connections Academy at Houston?
90% of the 1,018 students in Texas Connections Academy at Houston's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Texas Connections Academy at Houston in?
Houston ISD, NCES district ID 4823640. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 482364012363 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.