Ki Charter Academy

Public school district · Hays County · Texas · NCES district ID 4801447

Ki Charter Academy spent $19,506 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 84% of the other Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,156). Its 5 schools enrolled 443 students in 2024-25; 81.3% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 20% or less (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ki Charter Academy in enrollment (425 to 433 students) and Ki Charter Academy itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ki Charter Academy, FY23Wink-Loving ISD $26,882; Ki Charter Academy $19,506; Sabinal ISD $19,395; Memphis ISD $18,889; Woodsboro ISD $18,721; Charlotte ISD $17,952; Plains ISD $17,677; Hull-Daisetta ISD $16,218; Bovina ISD $15,473; Cumby Collegiate ISD $15,309; State median, under 1,000 students $15,156.10k15k20k25k30kWink-Loving ISD$26,882Ki Charter Academy$19,506Sabinal ISD$19,395Memphis ISD$18,889Woodsboro ISD$18,721Charlotte ISD$17,952Plains ISD$17,677Hull-Daisetta ISD$16,218Bovina ISD$15,473Cumby Collegiate ISD$15,309State median, under 1,000 students $15,156
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ki Charter Academy, FY23Wink-Loving ISD $26,882; Ki Charter Academy $19,506; Sabinal ISD $19,395; Memphis ISD $18,889; Woodsboro ISD $18,721; Charlotte ISD $17,952; Plains ISD $17,677; Hull-Daisetta ISD $16,218; Bovina ISD $15,473; Cumby Collegiate ISD $15,309; State median, under 1,000 students $15,156.10k15k20k25k30kWink-Loving ISD$26,882Ki Charter Academy$19,506Sabinal ISD$19,395Memphis ISD$18,889Woodsboro ISD$18,721Charlotte ISD$17,952Plains ISD$17,677Hull-Daisetta ISD$16,218Bovina ISD$15,473Cumby Collegiate ISD$15,309State median, under 1,000 students $15,156
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ki Charter Academy, FY23Wink-Loving ISD $26,882; Ki Charter Academy $19,506; Sabinal ISD $19,395; Memphis ISD $18,889; Woodsboro ISD $18,721; Charlotte ISD $17,952; Plains ISD $17,677; Hull-Daisetta ISD $16,218; Bovina ISD $15,473; Cumby Collegiate ISD $15,309; State median, under 1,000 students $15,156.10k20k30kWink-Loving ISD$26,882Ki Charter Academy$19,506Sabinal ISD$19,395Memphis ISD$18,889Woodsboro ISD$18,721Charlotte ISD$17,952Plains ISD$17,677Hull-Daisetta ISD$16,218Bovina ISD$15,473Cumby Collegiate ISD$15,309State median, under 1,000 students $15,156
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ki Charter Academy, FY23Wink-Loving ISD $26,882; Ki Charter Academy $19,506; Sabinal ISD $19,395; Memphis ISD $18,889; Woodsboro ISD $18,721; Charlotte ISD $17,952; Plains ISD $17,677; Hull-Daisetta ISD $16,218; Bovina ISD $15,473; Cumby Collegiate ISD $15,309; State median, under 1,000 students $15,156.10k20k30kWink-Loving ISD$26,882Ki Charter Academy$19,506Sabinal ISD$19,395Memphis ISD$18,889Woodsboro ISD$18,721Charlotte ISD$17,952Plains ISD$17,677Hull-Daisetta ISD$16,218Bovina ISD$15,473Cumby Collegiate ISD$15,309State median, under 1,000 students $15,156

Where the money came from

$9,639,000 in revenue: 81.3% state, 1.0% local and 17.7% federal. Total spending was $8,368,000, or $19,506 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Ki Charter Academy revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,834,000; Local $101,000; Federal $1,704,000; total $9,639,000.
  • State$7,834,000 81%
  • Local$101,000 1%
  • Federal$1,704,000 18%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 629 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

429 students in 2022-23, 457 students in 2023-24, 414 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ki Charter Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 457, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234292023-244572024-25414
Ki Charter Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 457, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234292023-244572024-25414
Ki Charter Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 457, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234292023-244572024-25414
Ki Charter Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 429, 2023-24: 457, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234292023-244572024-25414

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2342949.78.6
2023-2445751.98.8
2024-2541446.38.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,339,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,452 per student

Ki Charter Academy booked $2,339,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 50 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,072 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 29 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,798,00076.9%
Special education$496,00021.2%
Vocational$45,0001.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,909 in 2018-19, $6,049 in 2019-20, $5,496 in 2020-21, $7,306 in 2021-22, $5,452 in 2022-23.

Ki Charter Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,909, 2019-20: $6,049, 2020-21: $5,496, 2021-22: $7,306, 2022-23: $5,45202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9092019-20$6,0492020-21$5,4962021-22$7,3062022-23$5,452
Ki Charter Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,909, 2019-20: $6,049, 2020-21: $5,496, 2021-22: $7,306, 2022-23: $5,45202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9092019-20$6,0492020-21$5,4962021-22$7,3062022-23$5,452
Ki Charter Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,909, 2019-20: $6,049, 2020-21: $5,496, 2021-22: $7,306, 2022-23: $5,45202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9092019-20$6,0492020-21$5,4962021-22$7,3062022-23$5,452
Ki Charter Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,909, 2019-20: $6,049, 2020-21: $5,496, 2021-22: $7,306, 2022-23: $5,45202k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9092019-20$6,0492020-21$5,4962021-22$7,3062022-23$5,452

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ki Charter Academy scored proficient or above: 10-24% in reading and 0-17% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts10-24%52%135
Math0-17%42%133

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

20% or less of the 21 students in Ki Charter Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate20% or less90.3%
Students in the class21403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 high school, 125 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ki Charter Academy Liberty Hill1259.8not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 other schools, 318 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ki Charter Academy1857.591.9%Schoolwide program
Ki Charter - Fort Worth8012.973.8%Not reported
Ki Charter - Desoto297.948.3%Not Title I
Ki Charter - Denton249.279.2%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Ki Charter - Fort Worth

School in Fort Worth; open in 2024-25; 80 students; 12.9 students per teacher.

Ki Charter - Desoto

School in Desoto; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 29 students; 7.9 students per teacher.

Ki Charter - Denton

School in Denton; open in 2024-25; 24 students; 9.2 students per teacher.

Ki Charter - Farmersville

Elementary school in Farmersville; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 9 students.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Ki Charter Academy

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ki Charter Academy

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentKi Charter Academy ranks 99 of 629 Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,506).#99 of 629
  2. Every school district in TexasKi Charter Academy is the number 859 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 429 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#859 of 1,212
  3. Cumby Collegiate ISDThe next larger Texas district: 431 students in fall 2022, $15,309 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,309
  4. Sabinal ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 428 students in fall 2022, $19,395 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,395
  5. Compare Ki Charter Academy with Cumby Collegiate ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Ki Charter Academy Liberty Hill, its largest high school125 students in 2024-25, 9.8 per teacher.125
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasKi Charter Academy spent $47,072 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$47,072
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ki Charter Academy

  1. How many schools and students are in Ki Charter Academy?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 high, 4 other), enrolling 443 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ki Charter Academy spend per student?
    $19,506 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,156 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Ki Charter Academy's money come from?
    $9,639,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 81.3% state, 1.0% local and 17.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Ki Charter Academy spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,339,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,452 per student. Divided by the 50 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,072 per teacher, more than 29 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. How do students in Ki Charter Academy do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ki Charter Academy scored proficient or above: 10-24% in reading and 0-17% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Ki Charter Academy?
    20% or less of the 21 students in Ki Charter Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Ki Charter Academy's NCES district ID?
    4801447. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25