Howland Glen Elementary School

Public elementary school, grades 1 to 2 · Warren, Ohio

Howland Glen Elementary School in Warren, Ohio enrolled 344 students in 2024-25 with 16.5 full-time teachers, 20.8 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment rose 11% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 32%

311 students in 2022-23, 345 students in 2023-24, 344 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 12.5 to 16.5.

Students enrolled at Howland Glen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 311, 2023-24: 345, 2024-25: 34401002003004002022-233112023-243452024-25344
Students enrolled at Howland Glen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 311, 2023-24: 345, 2024-25: 34401002003004002022-233112023-243452024-25344
Students enrolled at Howland Glen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 311, 2023-24: 345, 2024-25: 34401002003004002022-233112023-243452024-25344
Students enrolled at Howland Glen Elementary School by school year2022-23: 311, 2023-24: 345, 2024-25: 34401002003004002022-233112023-243452024-25344
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2331112.524.9
2023-2434512.527.6
2024-2534416.520.8

20.8 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 87 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.8; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.8state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.8; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.8state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.8; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.8state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 20.8; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 20.8state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 948 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Howland Glen Elementary School enrolled 313 students and had 0.3 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 3 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.3, one per 948 of the 313 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions3
  • Chronically absent27.3% (2022-23)

Who attends

82.8% of students were White, 8.7% of two or more races, 4.7% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White82.8%
  2. Two or more races8.7%
  3. Black4.7%
  4. Hispanic2.9%
  5. Asian0.6%
  6. American Indian0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Warren

11 public elementary schools in Warren report 2024-25 enrollment; Howland Glen Elementary School is number 7 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Lincoln PK-8 School1,02717.7not reported
Willard Avenue PK-8 School89817.1not reported
McGuffey PK-8 School78317.0not reported
Jefferson PK-8 School71815.6not reported
Champion Central Elementary School45318.932.9%
STEAM Academy of Warren36614.6not reported
Howland Glen Elementary School34420.841.6%
Mines Elementary School32717.740.7%

All public schools in Warren →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Howland Glen Elementary School

  1. Mines Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 327 students, 17.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
  2. Lincoln PK-8 SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.3 miles away: 1,027 students, 17.7 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  3. Compare Howland Glen Elementary School with Mines Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Howland Local spends per student$15,043 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,043
  5. The largest public schools in OhioHowland Glen Elementary School is the number 1,089 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#1,089 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher20.8 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.20.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Howland Glen Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Howland Glen Elementary School?
    344 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 311 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Warren, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Howland Glen Elementary School?
    20.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Howland Glen Elementary School a Title I school?
    Howland Glen Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Howland Glen Elementary School in?
    Howland Local, NCES district ID 3905016. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390501603857 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22