Helen Keller Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 5 · Tinley Park, Illinois

Helen Keller Elementary School in Tinley Park, Illinois enrolled 426 students in 2024-25 with 34.8 full-time teachers, 12.2 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 25-29% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment rose 7% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 2%

397 students in 2022-23, 405 students in 2023-24, 426 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 35.7 to 34.8.

Students enrolled at Helen Keller Elementary School by school year2022-23: 397, 2023-24: 405, 2024-25: 42602004006002022-233972023-244052024-25426
Students enrolled at Helen Keller Elementary School by school year2022-23: 397, 2023-24: 405, 2024-25: 42602004006002022-233972023-244052024-25426
Students enrolled at Helen Keller Elementary School by school year2022-23: 397, 2023-24: 405, 2024-25: 42602004006002022-233972023-244052024-25426
Students enrolled at Helen Keller Elementary School by school year2022-23: 397, 2023-24: 405, 2024-25: 42602004006002022-233972023-244052024-25426
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2339735.711.1
2023-2440533.512.1
2024-2542634.812.2

12.2 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 65 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 12.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 12.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 345 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Helen Keller Elementary School enrolled 345 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 345 of the 345 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent14.9% (2022-23)

Who attends

66.2% of students were White, 19.5% Hispanic, 7.0% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White66.2%
  2. Hispanic19.5%
  3. Black7.0%
  4. Two or more races4.7%
  5. Asian2.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Helen Keller Elementary School scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2225‑29%40%29.9%
Math, 2022-2315‑19%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Tinley Park

7 public elementary schools in Tinley Park report 2024-25 enrollment; Helen Keller Elementary School is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Christa McAuliffe School53014.3not reported
Millennium Elementary School45112.1not reported
Helen Keller Elementary School42612.2not reported
John A Bannes Elementary School42113.0not reported
Bert H Fulton School40411.4not reported
Memorial Elementary School29111.0not reported
Kimberly Heights Elementary School18116.5not reported

All public schools in Tinley Park →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Helen Keller Elementary School

  1. John A Bannes Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 421 students, 13.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
  2. Arnold W Kruse Ed CenterThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 462 students, 12.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
  3. Compare Helen Keller Elementary School with John A Bannes Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Kirby SD 140 spends per student$18,646 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$18,646
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisHelen Keller Elementary School is the number 857 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#857 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher12.2 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.12.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Helen Keller Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Helen Keller Elementary School?
    426 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 397 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Tinley Park, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Helen Keller Elementary School?
    12.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Helen Keller Elementary School a Title I school?
    Helen Keller Elementary School ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Helen Keller Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Helen Keller Elementary School scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading in 2021-22 and 15-19% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Helen Keller Elementary School in?
    Kirby SD 140, NCES district ID 1721270. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 172127002399 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22