Gem City Career Prep High School
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Dayton, Ohio
Gem City Career Prep High School in Dayton, Ohio enrolled 144 students in 2024-25 with 8.0 full-time teachers, 18.0 students per teacher against the Ohio high-school median of 15.9. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 10% or less of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 54.3%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 30-39% (Ohio: 86.2%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 22% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 220%
118 students in 2022-23, 123 students in 2023-24, 144 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 2.5 to 8.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 118 | 2.5 | 47.2 |
| 2023-24 | 123 | 7.5 | 16.4 |
| 2024-25 | 144 | 8.0 | 18.0 |
18.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 68 of every 100 Ohio high schools
Among the 886 Ohio high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.9; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 102 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Gem City Career Prep High School enrolled 102 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 2 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 102 of the 102 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions2
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
88.2% of students were Black, 8.3% White, 2.1% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- Black88.2%
- White8.3%
- Hispanic2.1%
- Two or more races1.4%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Gem City Career Prep High School scored proficient or above: 10% or less in math, against 54.3% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Ohio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 10% or less | not published | 54.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express; for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
30-39% of the 58 students in Gem City Career Prep High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Ohio | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 30‑39% | 30‑39% | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 58 | 58 | 132,008 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Dayton
24 public high schools in Dayton report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Belmont High School | 1,153 | 19.9 | not reported |
| Stebbins High School | 1,092 | 18.2 | 41.9% |
| Stivers School For The Arts | 837 | 17.4 | not reported |
| David H. Ponitz Career Technology Center | 785 | 19.1 | not reported |
| Oakwood High School | 656 | 18.7 | not reported |
| Thurgood Marshall High School | 548 | 17.7 | not reported |
| Dunbar Early College High School | 542 | 19.4 | not reported |
| Northridge High School | 493 | 18.3 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Gem City Career Prep High School
- Dayton Business Technology High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 1.3 miles away: 62 students, 6.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
- Dayton Career Tech High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 1.6 miles away: 145 students, 16.1 per teacher (2024-25).1.6 mi
- Compare Gem City Career Prep High School with Dayton Business Technology High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Gem City Career Prep High School spends per student$15,059 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,059
- The largest public schools in OhioGem City Career Prep High School is the number 809 by size of 924 Ohio high schools open in 2024-25.#809 of 924
- Ohio schools by students per teacher18.0 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 15.9 for high schools.18.0:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Gem City Career Prep High School
How many students attend Gem City Career Prep High School?
144 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 118 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Dayton, OH.What is the student-teacher ratio at Gem City Career Prep High School?
18.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for high schools is 15.9. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Gem City Career Prep High School a Title I school?
Gem City Career Prep High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Gem City Career Prep High School do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Gem City Career Prep High School scored proficient or above: 10% or less in math, against 54.3% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Gem City Career Prep High School?
30-39% of the 58 students in Gem City Career Prep High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Gem City Career Prep High School in?
Gem City Career Prep High School, NCES district ID 3900448. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390044805007 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.