Equity Project Charter School (the)

Public elementary school, kindergarten to ungraded · New York, New York

Equity Project Charter School (the) in New York, New York enrolled 1,075 students in 2024-25 with 83.0 full-time teachers, 13.0 students per teacher against the New York elementary-school median of 11.6. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 40-44% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 64% proficient in math in 2022-23 (New York: 47% and 52%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 2%

1,066 students in 2022-23, 1,100 students in 2023-24, 1,075 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 84.7 to 83.0.

Students enrolled at Equity Project Charter School (the) by school year2022-23: 1,066, 2023-24: 1,100, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,0662023-241,1002024-251,075
Students enrolled at Equity Project Charter School (the) by school year2022-23: 1,066, 2023-24: 1,100, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,0662023-241,1002024-251,075
Students enrolled at Equity Project Charter School (the) by school year2022-23: 1,066, 2023-24: 1,100, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,0662023-241,1002024-251,075
Students enrolled at Equity Project Charter School (the) by school year2022-23: 1,066, 2023-24: 1,100, 2024-25: 1,07505001k1.5k2022-231,0662023-241,1002024-251,075
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,06684.712.6
2023-241,10082.013.4
2024-251,07583.013.0

13.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 70 of every 100 New York elementary schools

Among the 2,490 New York elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.6; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, New York elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.5 to 71.3; This school 13.0; state median 11.6.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.0state median 11.6U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.5 to 71.3; This school 13.0; state median 11.6.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.0state median 11.6U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.5 to 71.3; This school 13.0; state median 11.6.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.0state median 11.6U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, New York elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.5 to 71.3; This school 13.0; state median 11.6.2 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.0state median 11.6U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 1,072 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Equity Project Charter School (the) enrolled 1,072 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 1,072 of the 1,072 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent38.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

92.8% of students were Hispanic, 3.4% Black, 1.6% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic92.8%
  2. Black3.4%
  3. Two or more races1.6%
  4. White1.0%
  5. Asian0.7%
  6. American Indian0.3%
  7. Pacific Islander0.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Equity Project Charter School (the) scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 64% in math in 2022-23, against 47% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23 across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtNew York
Reading and language arts, 2021-2240‑44%40‑44%47%
Math, 2022-2364%41‑45% (2021-22)52%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in New York

158 public elementary schools in New York report 2024-25 enrollment; Equity Project Charter School (the) is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Equity Project Charter School (the)1,07513.090.2%
Success Academy Charter School-Upper West1,002not reported55.4%
Success Academy Charter School-Union Square967not reported58.2%
Zeta Charter School - Inwood824not reported80.6%
Battery Park City School79714.722.1%
KIPP NYC Washington Heights Academy Charter School79019.389.4%
PS 184 Shuang Wen76715.352.3%
PS 87 William Sherman75115.312.9%

All public schools in New York →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Equity Project Charter School (the)

  1. Professor Juan Bosch Public SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.2 miles away: 254 students, 7.0 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
  2. PS 5 Ellen LurieThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.2 miles away: 425 students, 11.5 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
  3. Compare Equity Project Charter School (the) with Professor Juan Bosch Public SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Equity Project Charter School (the) spends per student$24,127 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$24,127
  5. The largest public schools in New YorkEquity Project Charter School (the) is the number 28 by size of 2,546 New York elementary schools open in 2024-25.#28 of 2,546
  6. New York schools by students per teacher13.0 students per teacher here against the New York median of 11.6 for elementary schools.13.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Equity Project Charter School (the)

  1. How many students attend Equity Project Charter School (the)?
    1,075 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 1,066 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in New York, NY.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Equity Project Charter School (the)?
    13.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the New York median for elementary schools is 11.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Equity Project Charter School (the) a Title I school?
    Equity Project Charter School (the) ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Equity Project Charter School (the) do on state tests?
    The students tested at Equity Project Charter School (the) scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 64% in math in 2022-23, against 47% in reading in 2021-22 and 52% in math in 2022-23 across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Equity Project Charter School (the) in?
    Equity Project Charter School (the), NCES district ID 3600952. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 360095206000 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22