Carl Albert Middle School
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Carl Albert Middle School in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma enrolled 834 students in 2024-25 with 49.9 full-time teachers, 16.7 students per teacher against the Oklahoma middle-school median of 15.4. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 28% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 23% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Oklahoma: 27.2% and 25.1%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 9%
834 students in 2022-23, 856 students in 2023-24, 834 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 45.7 to 49.9.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 834 | 45.7 | 18.3 |
| 2023-24 | 856 | 45.0 | 19.0 |
| 2024-25 | 834 | 49.9 | 16.7 |
16.7 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 65 of every 100 Oklahoma middle schools
Among the 354 Oklahoma middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.4; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 397 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Carl Albert Middle School enrolled 794 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 166 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 397 of the 794 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions166
- Chronically absent27.0% (2022-23)
Who attends
42.9% of students were White, 23.3% Black, 15.5% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- White42.9%
- Black23.3%
- Two or more races15.5%
- Hispanic13.9%
- American Indian3.1%
- Asian1.1%
- Pacific Islander0.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Carl Albert Middle School scored proficient or above: 28% in reading in 2021-22 and 23% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Oklahoma |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 28% | 19% | 27.2% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 23% | 13% (2021-22) | 25.1% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Oklahoma City
33 public middle schools in Oklahoma City report 2024-25 enrollment; Carl Albert Middle School is number 6 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taft Middle School | 1,096 | 14.4 | not reported |
| Classen Ms of Advanced Studies | 916 | 18.3 | not reported |
| Hefner Middle School | 869 | 13.6 | not reported |
| Roosevelt Middle School | 858 | 14.7 | not reported |
| Mayfield Middle School | 838 | 16.6 | not reported |
| Carl Albert Middle School | 834 | 16.7 | not reported |
| Jefferson Middle School | 834 | 15.7 | not reported |
| Canyon Ridge Ies | 798 | 17.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Carl Albert Middle School
- Okla. Virtual Charter Acad Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 1.4 miles away: 956 students, 33.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
- Insight School of Oklahoma Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 1.4 miles away: 204 students, 37.1 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
- Compare Carl Albert Middle School with Okla. Virtual Charter Acad Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Midwest City-Del City spends per student$10,270 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$10,270
- The largest public schools in OklahomaCarl Albert Middle School is the number 32 by size of 355 Oklahoma middle schools open in 2024-25.#32 of 355
- Oklahoma schools by students per teacher16.7 students per teacher here against the Oklahoma median of 15.4 for middle schools.16.7:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Carl Albert Middle School
How many students attend Carl Albert Middle School?
834 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 834 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Oklahoma City, OK.What is the student-teacher ratio at Carl Albert Middle School?
16.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Oklahoma median for middle schools is 15.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Carl Albert Middle School a Title I school?
Carl Albert Middle School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Carl Albert Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Carl Albert Middle School scored proficient or above: 28% in reading in 2021-22 and 23% in math in 2022-23, against 27.2% in reading in 2021-22 and 25.1% in math in 2022-23 across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Carl Albert Middle School in?
Midwest City-Del City, NCES district ID 4019950. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 401995002659 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.