Bryant Opportunity Academy
Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Wichita, Kansas
Bryant Opportunity Academy in Wichita, Kansas enrolled 36 students in 2024-25 with 13.9 full-time teachers, 2.6 students per teacher against the Kansas elementary-school median of 13.1. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 20% or less of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Kansas: 32.5% and 31.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 5% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 4%
38 students in 2022-23, 29 students in 2023-24, 36 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 13.4 to 13.9.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 38 | 13.4 | 2.8 |
| 2023-24 | 29 | 13.9 | 2.1 |
| 2024-25 | 36 | 13.9 | 2.6 |
2.6 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 100 of every 100 Kansas elementary schools
Among the 703 Kansas elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
Programs and staff in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Bryant Opportunity Academy enrolled 34 students; it reported 34 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)not reported
- Out-of-school suspensions34
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
38.9% of students were Black, 27.8% White, 19.4% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- Black38.9%
- White27.8%
- Two or more races19.4%
- Hispanic11.1%
- American Indian2.8%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Bryant Opportunity Academy scored proficient or above: 20% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less in math in 2022-23, against 32.5% in reading in 2021-22 and 31.3% in math in 2022-23 across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Kansas |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 20% or less | 18% | 32.5% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 20% or less | 14% (2021-22) | 31.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Wichita
62 public elementary schools in Wichita report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Christa McAuliffe Academy | 829 | 13.7 | 42.5% |
| Minneha Core Knowledge Elementary | 644 | 16.1 | 64.1% |
| Horace Mann Dual Language Magnet | 643 | 16.0 | 72.8% |
| Woodman Elementary | 612 | 14.1 | 78.4% |
| Cloud Elementary | 580 | 14.4 | 86.0% |
| Colvin Elementary | 571 | 12.8 | 87.9% |
| Dodge Literacy Magnet | 547 | 14.8 | 71.1% |
| Beech Elementary | 538 | 13.9 | 77.7% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Bryant Opportunity Academy
- Black Traditional Magnet ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 335 students, 16.4 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
- O K ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.8 miles away: 262 students, 12.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.8 mi
- Compare Bryant Opportunity Academy with Black Traditional Magnet ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Wichita Public Schools spends per student$15,549 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,549
- The largest public schools in KansasBryant Opportunity Academy is the number 702 by size of 707 Kansas elementary schools open in 2024-25.#702 of 707
- Kansas schools by students per teacher2.6 students per teacher here against the Kansas median of 13.1 for elementary schools.2.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Bryant Opportunity Academy
How many students attend Bryant Opportunity Academy?
36 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 38 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Wichita, KS.What is the student-teacher ratio at Bryant Opportunity Academy?
2.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Kansas median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Bryant Opportunity Academy a Title I school?
Bryant Opportunity Academy was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).How do students at Bryant Opportunity Academy do on state tests?
The students tested at Bryant Opportunity Academy scored proficient or above: 20% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 20% or less in math in 2022-23, against 32.5% in reading in 2021-22 and 31.3% in math in 2022-23 across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Bryant Opportunity Academy in?
Wichita Public Schools, NCES district ID 2012990. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 201299002103 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.