Bill Duncan Opportunity Center

Public high school, grades 6 to 12 · Lakeland, Florida

Bill Duncan Opportunity Center in Lakeland, Florida enrolled 87 students in 2024-25 with 12.0 full-time teachers, 7.3 students per teacher against the Florida high-school median of 21.6. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 0-50% of its students tested were proficient in reading and 0-50% proficient in math in 2021-22 (Florida: 53% and 55%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was under 50% (Florida: 88%).

Enrollment rose 40% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 8%

62 students in 2022-23, 85 students in 2023-24, 87 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 13.0 to 12.0.

Students enrolled at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 62, 2023-24: 85, 2024-25: 8702550751002022-23622023-24852024-2587
Students enrolled at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 62, 2023-24: 85, 2024-25: 8702550751002022-23622023-24852024-2587
Students enrolled at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 62, 2023-24: 85, 2024-25: 8702550751002022-23622023-24852024-2587
Students enrolled at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center by school year2022-23: 62, 2023-24: 85, 2024-25: 8702550751002022-23622023-24852024-2587
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236213.04.8
2023-248510.08.5
2024-258712.07.3

7.3 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 95 of every 100 Florida high schools

Among the 730 Florida high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 21.6; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 7.3; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 7.3state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 7.3; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 7.3state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 7.3; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 7.3state median 21.6U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Florida high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 97.0; This school 7.3; state median 21.6.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherThis school 7.3state median 21.6U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Bill Duncan Opportunity Center enrolled 59 students; it reported 33 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensions33
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

39.1% of students were Black, 34.5% Hispanic, 24.1% White in 2024-25.

  1. Black39.1%
  2. Hispanic34.5%
  3. White24.1%
  4. Two or more races2.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center scored proficient or above: 0-50% in reading and 0-50% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis schoolIts districtFlorida
Reading and language arts0‑50%44%53%
Math0‑50%45%55%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive): ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

under 50% of the 10 students in Bill Duncan Opportunity Center's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rateunder 50%78%88%
Students in the class107,813208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Lakeland

13 public high schools in Lakeland report 2024-25 enrollment.

All public schools in Lakeland →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Bill Duncan Opportunity Center

  1. Maynard a Traviss Technical AcademyThe nearest public high school, 0.2 miles away: 151 students, 21.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
  2. Polk State College Collegiate High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 0.3 miles away: 343 students, 68.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.3 mi
  3. Compare Bill Duncan Opportunity Center with Maynard a Traviss Technical AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Polk County Public Schools spends per student$11,747 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,747
  5. The largest public schools in FloridaBill Duncan Opportunity Center is the number 681 by size of 818 Florida high schools open in 2024-25.#681 of 818
  6. Florida schools by students per teacher7.3 students per teacher here against the Florida median of 21.6 for high schools.7.3:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Bill Duncan Opportunity Center

  1. How many students attend Bill Duncan Opportunity Center?
    87 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 62 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Lakeland, FL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center?
    7.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Florida median for high schools is 21.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Bill Duncan Opportunity Center a Title I school?
    Bill Duncan Opportunity Center was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  4. How do students at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center scored proficient or above: 0-50% in reading and 0-50% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Bill Duncan Opportunity Center?
    under 50% of the 10 students in Bill Duncan Opportunity Center's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Bill Duncan Opportunity Center in?
    Polk County Public Schools, NCES district ID 1201590. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 120159001989 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22