Alternative Tamarack School

Public high school, grades 7 to 12 · Spokane, Washington

Alternative Tamarack School in Spokane, Washington enrolled 10 students in 2024-25 with 1.0 full-time teachers, 10.0 students per teacher against the Washington high-school median of 20.0. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 23% from 2022-23 to 2024-25

13 students in 2022-23, 6 students in 2023-24, 10 students in 2024-25.

Students enrolled at Alternative Tamarack School by school year2022-23: 13, 2023-24: 6, 2024-25: 100510152022-23132023-2462024-2510
Students enrolled at Alternative Tamarack School by school year2022-23: 13, 2023-24: 6, 2024-25: 100510152022-23132023-2462024-2510
Students enrolled at Alternative Tamarack School by school year2022-23: 13, 2023-24: 6, 2024-25: 100510152022-23132023-2462024-2510
Students enrolled at Alternative Tamarack School by school year2022-23: 13, 2023-24: 6, 2024-25: 100510152022-23132023-2462024-2510
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23130.0not reported
2023-2461.06.0
2024-25101.010.0

10.0 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 92 of every 100 Washington high schools

Among the 488 Washington high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 20.0; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 10.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 10.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 10.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 10.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 10.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 10.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 10.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 10.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Alternative Tamarack School enrolled 13 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

77.8% of students were White, 11.1% Hispanic, 11.1% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White77.8%
  2. Hispanic11.1%
  3. Black11.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

High schools in Spokane

21 public high schools in Spokane report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Lewis & Clark High School1,67320.229.2%
North Central High School1,64718.552.6%
Ferris High School1,64418.336.1%
Rogers High School1,49816.765.9%
Shadle Park High School1,44517.946.3%
On Track Academy44212.865.8%
Dishman Hills High School29621.167.6%
PRIDE Prep School23211.735.3%

All public schools in Spokane →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Alternative Tamarack School

  1. The Community SchoolThe nearest public high school, 1.4 miles away: 165 students, 18.3 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
  2. Structural Alt Confinement SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 1.4 miles away: 14 students (2024-25).1.4 mi
  3. Compare Alternative Tamarack School with The Community SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Spokane School District spends per student$18,334 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$18,334
  5. The largest public schools in WashingtonAlternative Tamarack School is the number 562 by size of 606 Washington high schools open in 2024-25.#562 of 606
  6. Washington schools by students per teacher10.0 students per teacher here against the Washington median of 20.0 for high schools.10.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Alternative Tamarack School

  1. How many students attend Alternative Tamarack School?
    10 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 13 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Spokane, WA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Alternative Tamarack School?
    10.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Washington median for high schools is 20.0. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Alternative Tamarack School a Title I school?
    Alternative Tamarack School was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Alternative Tamarack School in?
    Spokane School District, NCES district ID 5308250. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 530825000074 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22