Adlai Stevenson Elementary School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 6 · Elk Grove Village, Illinois

Adlai Stevenson Elementary School in Elk Grove Village, Illinois enrolled 513 students in 2024-25 with 50.5 full-time teachers, 10.2 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it does not take part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 40% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 33% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment rose 11% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 25%

462 students in 2022-23, 496 students in 2023-24, 513 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 40.5 to 50.5.

Students enrolled at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School by school year2022-23: 462, 2023-24: 496, 2024-25: 51302004006002022-234622023-244962024-25513
Students enrolled at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School by school year2022-23: 462, 2023-24: 496, 2024-25: 51302004006002022-234622023-244962024-25513
Students enrolled at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School by school year2022-23: 462, 2023-24: 496, 2024-25: 51302004006002022-234622023-244962024-25513
Students enrolled at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School by school year2022-23: 462, 2023-24: 496, 2024-25: 51302004006002022-234622023-244962024-25513
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2346240.511.4
2023-2449642.611.6
2024-2551350.510.2

10.2 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 89 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 10.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 10.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 10.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 10.2; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.2state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Adlai Stevenson Elementary School enrolled 459 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent28.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

38.8% of students were White, 32.4% Hispanic, 18.5% Asian in 2024-25.

  1. White38.8%
  2. Hispanic32.4%
  3. Asian18.5%
  4. Black6.0%
  5. Two or more races4.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School scored proficient or above: 40% in reading in 2021-22 and 33% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2240%51%29.9%
Math, 2022-2333%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Elk Grove Village

7 public elementary schools in Elk Grove Village report 2024-25 enrollment; Adlai Stevenson Elementary School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Adolph Link Elementary School65214.1not reported
Adlai Stevenson Elementary School51310.2not reported
Salt Creek Elementary School41011.9not reported
Clearmont Elementary School40811.8not reported
Adm Richard E Byrd Elementary School3019.8not reported
Rupley Elementary School2807.9not reported
Ridge Family Center for Learning26112.4not reported

All public schools in Elk Grove Village →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Adlai Stevenson Elementary School

  1. Adolph Link Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.6 miles away: 652 students, 14.1 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
  2. Adm Richard E Byrd Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.6 miles away: 301 students, 9.8 per teacher (2024-25).1.6 mi
  3. Compare Adlai Stevenson Elementary School with Adolph Link Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Schaumburg CCSD 54 spends per student$20,497 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$20,497
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisAdlai Stevenson Elementary School is the number 496 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#496 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher10.2 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.10.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Adlai Stevenson Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Adlai Stevenson Elementary School?
    513 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 462 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Elk Grove Village, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School?
    10.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Adlai Stevenson Elementary School a Title I school?
    Adlai Stevenson Elementary School ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Adlai Stevenson Elementary School scored proficient or above: 40% in reading in 2021-22 and 33% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Adlai Stevenson Elementary School in?
    Schaumburg CCSD 54, NCES district ID 1734740. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173474003631 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22