Waxahachie ISD

Public school district · Ellis County · Texas · NCES district ID 4844730

Waxahachie ISD spent $11,520 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 65% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 17 schools enrolled 10,810 students in 2024-25; 26.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,710 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Waxahachie ISD in enrollment (10,365 to 11,165 students) and Waxahachie ISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Waxahachie ISD, FY23Clint ISD $13,785; Del Valle ISD $13,030; Los Fresnos CISD $12,356; Sheldon ISD $12,323; Waxahachie ISD $11,520; East Central ISD $10,989; Midlothian $10,686; Frenship ISD $10,058; Canyon ISD $9,905; Boerne ISD $9,559; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kClint ISD$13,785Del Valle ISD$13,030Los Fresnos CISD$12,356Sheldon ISD$12,323Waxahachie ISD$11,520East Central ISD$10,989Midlothian$10,686Frenship ISD$10,058Canyon ISD$9,905Boerne ISD$9,559State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Waxahachie ISD, FY23Clint ISD $13,785; Del Valle ISD $13,030; Los Fresnos CISD $12,356; Sheldon ISD $12,323; Waxahachie ISD $11,520; East Central ISD $10,989; Midlothian $10,686; Frenship ISD $10,058; Canyon ISD $9,905; Boerne ISD $9,559; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kClint ISD$13,785Del Valle ISD$13,030Los Fresnos CISD$12,356Sheldon ISD$12,323Waxahachie ISD$11,520East Central ISD$10,989Midlothian$10,686Frenship ISD$10,058Canyon ISD$9,905Boerne ISD$9,559State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Waxahachie ISD, FY23Clint ISD $13,785; Del Valle ISD $13,030; Los Fresnos CISD $12,356; Sheldon ISD $12,323; Waxahachie ISD $11,520; East Central ISD $10,989; Midlothian $10,686; Frenship ISD $10,058; Canyon ISD $9,905; Boerne ISD $9,559; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kClint ISD$13,785Del Valle ISD$13,030Los Fresnos CISD$12,356Sheldon ISD$12,323Waxahachie ISD$11,520East Central ISD$10,989Midlothian$10,686Frenship ISD$10,058Canyon ISD$9,905Boerne ISD$9,559State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Waxahachie ISD, FY23Clint ISD $13,785; Del Valle ISD $13,030; Los Fresnos CISD $12,356; Sheldon ISD $12,323; Waxahachie ISD $11,520; East Central ISD $10,989; Midlothian $10,686; Frenship ISD $10,058; Canyon ISD $9,905; Boerne ISD $9,559; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kClint ISD$13,785Del Valle ISD$13,030Los Fresnos CISD$12,356Sheldon ISD$12,323Waxahachie ISD$11,520East Central ISD$10,989Midlothian$10,686Frenship ISD$10,058Canyon ISD$9,905Boerne ISD$9,559State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$159,805,000 in revenue: 26.6% state, 63.4% local and 10.0% federal. Total spending including $8,861,000 of capital outlay was $143,904,000, or $13,279 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Waxahachie ISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $42,571,000; Local $101,332,000; Federal $15,902,000; total $159,805,000.
  • State$42,571,000 27%
  • Local$101,332,000 63%
  • Federal$15,902,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

10,837 students in 2022-23, 11,052 students in 2023-24, 10,804 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Waxahachie ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 10,837, 2023-24: 11,052, 2024-25: 10,80405k10k15k2022-2310,8372023-2411,0522024-2510,804
Waxahachie ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 10,837, 2023-24: 11,052, 2024-25: 10,80405k10k15k2022-2310,8372023-2411,0522024-2510,804
Waxahachie ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 10,837, 2023-24: 11,052, 2024-25: 10,80405k10k15k2022-2310,8372023-2411,0522024-2510,804
Waxahachie ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 10,837, 2023-24: 11,052, 2024-25: 10,80405k10k15k2022-2310,8372023-2411,0522024-2510,804

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2310,837757.014.3
2023-2411,052758.814.6
2024-2510,804741.414.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$46,212,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,264 per student

Waxahachie ISD booked $46,212,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 761 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $60,729 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 91 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$29,425,00063.7%
Special education$6,990,00015.1%
Vocational$2,844,0006.2%
Other programs$6,953,00015.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,922 in 2018-19, $4,178 in 2019-20, $4,418 in 2020-21, $4,304 in 2021-22, $4,264 in 2022-23.

Waxahachie ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,922, 2019-20: $4,178, 2020-21: $4,418, 2021-22: $4,304, 2022-23: $4,26402k4k6k2018-19$3,9222019-20$4,1782020-21$4,4182021-22$4,3042022-23$4,264
Waxahachie ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,922, 2019-20: $4,178, 2020-21: $4,418, 2021-22: $4,304, 2022-23: $4,26402k4k6k2018-19$3,9222019-20$4,1782020-21$4,4182021-22$4,3042022-23$4,264
Waxahachie ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,922, 2019-20: $4,178, 2020-21: $4,418, 2021-22: $4,304, 2022-23: $4,26402k4k6k2018-19$3,9222019-20$4,1782020-21$4,4182021-22$4,3042022-23$4,264
Waxahachie ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,922, 2019-20: $4,178, 2020-21: $4,418, 2021-22: $4,304, 2022-23: $4,26402k4k6k2018-19$3,9222019-20$4,1782020-21$4,4182021-22$4,3042022-23$4,264

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Waxahachie ISD scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 42% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts53%52%4,545
Math42%42%3,817

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% of the 858 students in Waxahachie ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate95%90.3%
Students in the class858403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

9 elementary schools, 4,535 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wedgeworth Elementary59413.250.0%Schoolwide program
Simpson Elementary59216.225.5%Not Title I
Marvin Biomedical Academy53515.758.5%Schoolwide program
Dunaway Elementary52514.454.5%Schoolwide program
Northside Elementary48014.155.2%Schoolwide program
Felty Elementary47115.021.9%Not Title I
Shackelford Elementary45213.533.0%Eligible, no program
Clift Elementary44912.558.4%Schoolwide program
Wilemon Steam Academy43713.217.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 middle schools, 2,532 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Howard Junior High91816.740.4%Schoolwide program
Finley Junior High83914.541.0%Schoolwide program
Coleman Junior High77513.738.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 high schools, 3,487 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Waxahachie High School3,05615.835.6%Schoolwide program
Waxahachie Global High School36912.924.1%Eligible, no program
Waxahachie H S of Choice564.748.2%Eligible, no program
Ellis Co JJAEP6not reportednot reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 256 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Turner Prekindergarten Academy25614.362.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Waxahachie ISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Waxahachie ISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentWaxahachie ISD ranks 378 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,520).#378 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasWaxahachie ISD is the number 116 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 10,837 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#116 of 1,212
  3. Midlothian School DistrictThe next larger Texas district: 10,990 students in fall 2022, $10,686 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,686
  4. Boerne ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 10,763 students in fall 2022, $9,559 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,559
  5. Compare Waxahachie ISD with Midlothian School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Waxahachie High School, its largest high school3,056 students in 2024-25, 15.8 per teacher.3,056
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasWaxahachie ISD spent $60,729 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$60,729
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Waxahachie ISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Waxahachie ISD?
    17 schools were open in 2024-25 (9 elementary, 3 middle, 4 high, 1 other), enrolling 10,810 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Waxahachie ISD spend per student?
    $11,520 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,710 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Waxahachie ISD's money come from?
    $159,805,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 26.6% state, 63.4% local and 10.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Waxahachie ISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,095 of the 12,051 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Waxahachie ISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $46,212,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,264 per student. Divided by the 761 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $60,729 per teacher, more than 91 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Waxahachie ISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Waxahachie ISD scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 42% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Waxahachie ISD?
    95% of the 858 students in Waxahachie ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Waxahachie ISD's NCES district ID?
    4844730. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25