Sugar-Salem Joint District

Public school district · Madison County · Idaho · NCES district ID 1603090

Sugar-Salem Joint District spent $7,631 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 95% of the other Idaho districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $9,654). Its 6 schools enrolled 2,302 students in 2024-25; 72.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $8,333 per student, up 9.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Idaho: 81.1%).

Spending per student among Idaho districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Sugar-Salem Joint District in enrollment (1,559 to 2,397 students) and Sugar-Salem Joint District itself.

Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to Sugar-Salem Joint District, FY23American Falls Joint District $12,408; Moscow District $12,379; Teton County District $10,992; Fremont County Joint District $10,494; Idaho Virtual Academy Inc. $10,421; Weiser District $9,215; Filer District $8,835; Fruitland District $8,715; Kimberly District $8,359; Sugar-Salem Joint District $7,631; State median, 1,000+ students $9,654.6k8k10k12k14kAmerican Falls Joint District$12,408Moscow District$12,379Teton County District$10,992Fremont County Joint District$10,494Idaho Virtual Academy Inc.$10,421Weiser District$9,215Filer District$8,835Fruitland District$8,715Kimberly District$8,359Sugar-Salem Joint District$7,631State median, 1,000+ students $9,654
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to Sugar-Salem Joint District, FY23American Falls Joint District $12,408; Moscow District $12,379; Teton County District $10,992; Fremont County Joint District $10,494; Idaho Virtual Academy Inc. $10,421; Weiser District $9,215; Filer District $8,835; Fruitland District $8,715; Kimberly District $8,359; Sugar-Salem Joint District $7,631; State median, 1,000+ students $9,654.6k8k10k12k14kAmerican Falls Joint District$12,408Moscow District$12,379Teton County District$10,992Fremont County Joint District$10,494Idaho Virtual Academy Inc.$10,421Weiser District$9,215Filer District$8,835Fruitland District$8,715Kimberly District$8,359Sugar-Salem Joint District$7,631State median, 1,000+ students $9,654
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to Sugar-Salem Joint District, FY23American Falls Joint District $12,408; Moscow District $12,379; Teton County District $10,992; Fremont County Joint District $10,494; Idaho Virtual Academy Inc. $10,421; Weiser District $9,215; Filer District $8,835; Fruitland District $8,715; Kimberly District $8,359; Sugar-Salem Joint District $7,631; State median, 1,000+ students $9,654.6k10k14kAmerican Falls Joint District$12,408Moscow District$12,379Teton County District$10,992Fremont County Joint District$10,494Idaho Virtual Academy Inc.$10,421Weiser District$9,215Filer District$8,835Fruitland District$8,715Kimberly District$8,359Sugar-Salem Joint District$7,631State median, 1,000+ students $9,654
Current spending per student, Idaho districts closest in size to Sugar-Salem Joint District, FY23American Falls Joint District $12,408; Moscow District $12,379; Teton County District $10,992; Fremont County Joint District $10,494; Idaho Virtual Academy Inc. $10,421; Weiser District $9,215; Filer District $8,835; Fruitland District $8,715; Kimberly District $8,359; Sugar-Salem Joint District $7,631; State median, 1,000+ students $9,654.6k10k14kAmerican Falls Joint District$12,408Moscow District$12,379Teton County District$10,992Fremont County Joint District$10,494Idaho Virtual Academy Inc.$10,421Weiser District$9,215Filer District$8,835Fruitland District$8,715Kimberly District$8,359Sugar-Salem Joint District$7,631State median, 1,000+ students $9,654

Where the money came from

$18,710,000 in revenue: 72.3% state, 17.9% local and 9.7% federal. Total spending including $204,000 of capital outlay was $15,887,000, or $8,056 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Sugar-Salem Joint District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $13,536,000; Local $3,355,000; Federal $1,819,000; total $18,710,000.
  • State$13,536,000 72%
  • Local$3,355,000 18%
  • Federal$1,819,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 57 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,972 students in 2022-23, 2,199 students in 2023-24, 2,302 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Sugar-Salem Joint District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 2,199, 2024-25: 2,30201k2k3k2022-231,9722023-242,1992024-252,302
Sugar-Salem Joint District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 2,199, 2024-25: 2,30201k2k3k2022-231,9722023-242,1992024-252,302
Sugar-Salem Joint District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 2,199, 2024-25: 2,30201k2k3k2022-231,9722023-242,1992024-252,302
Sugar-Salem Joint District enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,972, 2023-24: 2,199, 2024-25: 2,30201k2k3k2022-231,9722023-242,1992024-252,302

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,97298.120.1
2023-242,199106.420.7
2024-252,302108.321.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,252,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,170 per student

Sugar-Salem Joint District booked $6,252,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 101 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $62,172 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 27 in 100 Idaho districts with a figure (state median $65,359, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Idaho teacher salary at $54,232 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,073,00081.1%
Special education$1,013,00016.2%
Other programs$166,0002.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,936 in 2018-19, $3,130 in 2019-20, $3,329 in 2020-21, $3,446 in 2021-22, $3,170 in 2022-23.

Sugar-Salem Joint District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,936, 2019-20: $3,130, 2020-21: $3,329, 2021-22: $3,446, 2022-23: $3,17001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9362019-20$3,1302020-21$3,3292021-22$3,4462022-23$3,170
Sugar-Salem Joint District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,936, 2019-20: $3,130, 2020-21: $3,329, 2021-22: $3,446, 2022-23: $3,17001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9362019-20$3,1302020-21$3,3292021-22$3,4462022-23$3,170
Sugar-Salem Joint District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,936, 2019-20: $3,130, 2020-21: $3,329, 2021-22: $3,446, 2022-23: $3,17001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9362019-20$3,1302020-21$3,3292021-22$3,4462022-23$3,170
Sugar-Salem Joint District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,936, 2019-20: $3,130, 2020-21: $3,329, 2021-22: $3,446, 2022-23: $3,17001k2k3k4k2018-19$2,9362019-20$3,1302020-21$3,3292021-22$3,4462022-23$3,170

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Sugar-Salem Joint District scored proficient or above: 58% in reading and 47% in math, against 54.8% in reading and 41.9% in math across Idaho. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Idaho, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIdahoStudents tested
Reading and language arts58%54.8%812
Math47%41.9%814

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 176 students in Sugar-Salem Joint District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIdaho
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%81.1%
Students in the class17625,525

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 637 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Central Elementary School31916.038.6%Schoolwide program
Kershaw Intermediate School31817.238.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 370 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sugar-Salem Junior High School37015.327.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 607 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sugar-Salem High School58421.122.1%Not Title I
Valley View Alternative High School234.556.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 688 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sugar-Salem Online68854.0not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Sugar-Salem Online

School in Sugar City; open in 2024-25; 688 students; 54.0 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Sugar-Salem Joint District

  • Phone: (208) 356-8802
  • Office: 105 West Center Street, Sugar City, ID 83448

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Sugar-Salem Joint District

  1. Idaho districts by spending per studentSugar-Salem Joint District ranks 54 of 57 Idaho districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($7,631).#54 of 57
  2. Every school district in IdahoSugar-Salem Joint District is the number 33 by size of 183 Idaho districts, with 1,972 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#33 of 183
  3. Kimberly DistrictThe next larger Idaho district: 2,153 students in fall 2022, $8,359 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,359
  4. Teton County DistrictThe next smaller Idaho district: 1,878 students in fall 2022, $10,992 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,992
  5. Compare Sugar-Salem Joint District with Kimberly DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Sugar-Salem High School, its largest high school584 students in 2024-25, 21.1 per teacher.584
  7. Teacher salary spending across IdahoSugar-Salem Joint District spent $62,172 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,359); spending, not a salary.$62,172
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Sugar-Salem Joint District

  1. How many schools and students are in Sugar-Salem Joint District?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 2,302 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Sugar-Salem Joint District spend per student?
    $7,631 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Idaho median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $9,654 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $8,333 per student, up 9.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Sugar-Salem Joint District's money come from?
    $18,710,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.3% state, 17.9% local and 9.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Sugar-Salem Joint District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 226 of the 1,479 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Sugar-Salem Joint District spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,252,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,170 per student. Divided by the 101 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $62,172 per teacher, more than 27 in 100 Idaho districts (state median $65,359). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Idaho teacher salary at $54,232 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Sugar-Salem Joint District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Sugar-Salem Joint District scored proficient or above: 58% in reading and 47% in math, against 54.8% in reading and 41.9% in math across Idaho. Idaho's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Sugar-Salem Joint District?
    85-89% of the 176 students in Sugar-Salem Joint District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.1% across Idaho. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Sugar-Salem Joint District's NCES district ID?
    1603090. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25