St. Cloud Area School District 742

Listed by NCES as St. Cloud Public School District (district ID 2733510)

Public school district · Stearns County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2733510

St. Cloud Area School District 742 spent $16,825 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 90% of the other Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,091). Its 19 schools enrolled 9,732 students in 2024-25; 60.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,140 per student, up 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 64% (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to St. Cloud Area School District 742 in enrollment (8,285 to 10,361 students) and St. Cloud Area School District 742 itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to St. Cloud Area School District 742, FY23Bloomington Public Schools $17,232; St. Cloud Area School District 742 $16,825; Duluth Public Schools $16,081; Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834 $15,764; Eden Prairie Schools $15,485; White Bear Lake Area Schools $15,111; Edina Public Schools District $14,953; Mankato Area Public Schools $14,091; Eastern Carver County Schools $13,958; Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools $13,012; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.10k12k14k16k18kBloomington Public Schools$17,232St. Cloud Area School District…$16,825Duluth Public Schools$16,081Stillwater Area Public Schools…$15,764Eden Prairie Schools$15,485White Bear Lake Area Schools$15,111Edina Public Schools District$14,953Mankato Area Public Schools$14,091Eastern Carver County Schools$13,958Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools$13,012State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to St. Cloud Area School District 742, FY23Bloomington Public Schools $17,232; St. Cloud Area School District 742 $16,825; Duluth Public Schools $16,081; Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834 $15,764; Eden Prairie Schools $15,485; White Bear Lake Area Schools $15,111; Edina Public Schools District $14,953; Mankato Area Public Schools $14,091; Eastern Carver County Schools $13,958; Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools $13,012; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.10k12k14k16k18kBloomington Public Schools$17,232St. Cloud Area School District 742$16,825Duluth Public Schools$16,081Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD …$15,764Eden Prairie Schools$15,485White Bear Lake Area Schools$15,111Edina Public Schools District$14,953Mankato Area Public Schools$14,091Eastern Carver County Schools$13,958Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools$13,012State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to St. Cloud Area School District 742, FY23Bloomington Public Schools $17,232; St. Cloud Area School District 742 $16,825; Duluth Public Schools $16,081; Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834 $15,764; Eden Prairie Schools $15,485; White Bear Lake Area Schools $15,111; Edina Public Schools District $14,953; Mankato Area Public Schools $14,091; Eastern Carver County Schools $13,958; Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools $13,012; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.10k14k18kBloomington Public Schools$17,232St. Cloud Area School District 742$16,825Duluth Public Schools$16,081Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834$15,764Eden Prairie Schools$15,485White Bear Lake Area Schools$15,111Edina Public Schools District$14,953Mankato Area Public Schools$14,091Eastern Carver County Schools$13,958Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools$13,012State median, 1,000+ students $14,091
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to St. Cloud Area School District 742, FY23Bloomington Public Schools $17,232; St. Cloud Area School District 742 $16,825; Duluth Public Schools $16,081; Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834 $15,764; Eden Prairie Schools $15,485; White Bear Lake Area Schools $15,111; Edina Public Schools District $14,953; Mankato Area Public Schools $14,091; Eastern Carver County Schools $13,958; Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools $13,012; State median, 1,000+ students $14,091.10k14k18kBloomington Public Schools$17,232St. Cloud Area School District 742$16,825Duluth Public Schools$16,081Stillwater Area Public Schools ISD 834$15,764Eden Prairie Schools$15,485White Bear Lake Area Schools$15,111Edina Public Schools District$14,953Mankato Area Public Schools$14,091Eastern Carver County Schools$13,958Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools$13,012State median, 1,000+ students $14,091

Where the money came from

$195,137,000 in revenue: 60.9% state, 20.2% local and 18.9% federal. Total spending including $24,285,000 of capital outlay was $198,250,000, or $21,349 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

St. Cloud Area School District 742 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $118,891,000; Local $39,327,000; Federal $36,919,000; total $195,137,000.
  • State$118,891,000 61%
  • Local$39,327,000 20%
  • Federal$36,919,000 19%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 163 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

9,286 students in 2022-23, 9,467 students in 2023-24, 9,732 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

St. Cloud Area School District 742 enrollment by school year2022-23: 9,286, 2023-24: 9,467, 2024-25: 9,73202.5k5k7.5k10k2022-239,2862023-249,4672024-259,732
St. Cloud Area School District 742 enrollment by school year2022-23: 9,286, 2023-24: 9,467, 2024-25: 9,73202.5k5k7.5k10k2022-239,2862023-249,4672024-259,732
St. Cloud Area School District 742 enrollment by school year2022-23: 9,286, 2023-24: 9,467, 2024-25: 9,73202.5k5k7.5k10k2022-239,2862023-249,4672024-259,732
St. Cloud Area School District 742 enrollment by school year2022-23: 9,286, 2023-24: 9,467, 2024-25: 9,73202.5k5k7.5k10k2022-239,2862023-249,4672024-259,732

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-239,286515.218.0
2023-249,467705.213.4
2024-259,732701.213.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$47,105,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,073 per student

St. Cloud Area School District 742 booked $47,105,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 594 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $79,361 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 88 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$33,550,00071.2%
Special education$12,289,00026.1%
Vocational$1,262,0002.7%
Other programs$4,0000.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,203 in 2018-19, $4,339 in 2019-20, $4,635 in 2020-21, $4,837 in 2021-22, $5,073 in 2022-23.

St. Cloud Area School District 742 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,203, 2019-20: $4,339, 2020-21: $4,635, 2021-22: $4,837, 2022-23: $5,07302k4k6k2018-19$4,2032019-20$4,3392020-21$4,6352021-22$4,8372022-23$5,073
St. Cloud Area School District 742 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,203, 2019-20: $4,339, 2020-21: $4,635, 2021-22: $4,837, 2022-23: $5,07302k4k6k2018-19$4,2032019-20$4,3392020-21$4,6352021-22$4,8372022-23$5,073
St. Cloud Area School District 742 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,203, 2019-20: $4,339, 2020-21: $4,635, 2021-22: $4,837, 2022-23: $5,07302k4k6k2018-19$4,2032019-20$4,3392020-21$4,6352021-22$4,8372022-23$5,073
St. Cloud Area School District 742 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,203, 2019-20: $4,339, 2020-21: $4,635, 2021-22: $4,837, 2022-23: $5,07302k4k6k2018-19$4,2032019-20$4,3392020-21$4,6352021-22$4,8372022-23$5,073

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in St. Cloud Area School District 742 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 28% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts38%51.1%4,265
Math28%44.8%4,184

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

64% of the 815 students in St. Cloud Area School District 742's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate64%83.3%
Students in the class81569,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 4,115 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Oak Hill Community Elementary87814.860.1%Schoolwide program
Madison Elementary70413.661.9%Schoolwide program
Talahi Community Elementary70111.779.0%Schoolwide program
Discovery Community Elementary57213.271.5%Schoolwide program
Westwood Elementary53114.852.0%Schoolwide program
Clearview Elementary40114.129.7%Eligible, no program
Lincoln Elementary32811.575.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,551 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
South Junior High83115.959.6%Schoolwide program
North Junior High72016.065.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 3,062 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Technical Senior High1,56117.959.4%Eligible, no program
Apollo Senior High1,26416.754.6%Eligible, no program
St. Cloud Area Learning Center23712.158.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

7 other schools, 1,004 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kennedy Community School58212.646.7%Schoolwide program
EC Sp Ed at Quarryview Ed Center2456.652.7%Not Title I
Katherine Johnson Education Center793.686.1%Not Title I
Special Education Facilities6013.3100.0%Eligible, no program
St. Cloud Hospital Programs Non-Res1818.022.2%Eligible, no program
Roosevelt Education Center143.478.6%Eligible, no program
St Cloud Hospital Progs-Residential6not reported75.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact St. Cloud Area School District 742

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about St. Cloud Area School District 742

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentSt. Cloud Area School District 742 ranks 18 of 163 Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,825).#18 of 163
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaSt. Cloud Area School District 742 is the number 17 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 9,286 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#17 of 543
  3. Eastern Carver County SchoolsThe next larger Minnesota district: 9,320 students in fall 2022, $13,958 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,958
  4. Eden Prairie SchoolsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 8,939 students in fall 2022, $15,485 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,485
  5. Compare St. Cloud Area School District 742 with Eastern Carver County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Technical Senior High, its largest high school1,561 students in 2024-25, 17.9 per teacher.1,561
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaSt. Cloud Area School District 742 spent $79,361 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$79,361
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about St. Cloud Area School District 742

  1. How many schools and students are in St. Cloud Area School District 742?
    19 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 2 middle, 3 high, 7 other), enrolling 9,732 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does St. Cloud Area School District 742 spend per student?
    $16,825 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,140 per student, up 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does St. Cloud Area School District 742's money come from?
    $195,137,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.9% state, 20.2% local and 18.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in St. Cloud Area School District 742 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 3,072 of the 16,338 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does St. Cloud Area School District 742 spend on teacher salaries?
    $47,105,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,073 per student. Divided by the 594 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $79,361 per teacher, more than 88 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in St. Cloud Area School District 742 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in St. Cloud Area School District 742 scored proficient or above: 38% in reading and 28% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in St. Cloud Area School District 742?
    64% of the 815 students in St. Cloud Area School District 742's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is St. Cloud Area School District 742's NCES district ID?
    2733510. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25