Adams County School District 14

Listed by NCES as School District N. 14 in the county of Adams & State of Colo (district ID 0801950)

Public school district · Adams County · Colorado · NCES district ID 0801950

Adams County School District 14 spent $18,034 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 94% of the other Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,088). Its 12 schools enrolled 5,221 students in 2024-25; 37.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,691 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 69% (Colorado: 82.7%).

Spending per student among Colorado districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Adams County School District 14 in enrollment (4,592 to 7,088 students) and Adams County School District 14 itself.

Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Adams County School District 14, FY23Adams County School District 14 $18,034; Roaring Fork Schools $16,667; Eagle County School District Re-50J $16,183; Durango School District No. 9-R $14,729; Mapleton Public Schools $14,482; Garfield School District Re-2 $13,874; Delta County Joint District No. 50 $13,843; Lewis-Palmer School District 38 $12,434; Montrose County $11,857; Byers School District 32-J $9,413; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.5k10k15k20kAdams County School District 14$18,034Roaring Fork Schools$16,667Eagle County School District R…$16,183Durango School District No. 9-R$14,729Mapleton Public Schools$14,482Garfield School District Re-2$13,874Delta County Joint District No…$13,843Lewis-Palmer School District 38$12,434Montrose County$11,857Byers School District 32-J$9,413State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Adams County School District 14, FY23Adams County School District 14 $18,034; Roaring Fork Schools $16,667; Eagle County School District Re-50J $16,183; Durango School District No. 9-R $14,729; Mapleton Public Schools $14,482; Garfield School District Re-2 $13,874; Delta County Joint District No. 50 $13,843; Lewis-Palmer School District 38 $12,434; Montrose County $11,857; Byers School District 32-J $9,413; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.5k10k15k20kAdams County School District 14$18,034Roaring Fork Schools$16,667Eagle County School District Re-50J$16,183Durango School District No. 9-R$14,729Mapleton Public Schools$14,482Garfield School District Re-2$13,874Delta County Joint District No. 50$13,843Lewis-Palmer School District 38$12,434Montrose County$11,857Byers School District 32-J$9,413State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Adams County School District 14, FY23Adams County School District 14 $18,034; Roaring Fork Schools $16,667; Eagle County School District Re-50J $16,183; Durango School District No. 9-R $14,729; Mapleton Public Schools $14,482; Garfield School District Re-2 $13,874; Delta County Joint District No. 50 $13,843; Lewis-Palmer School District 38 $12,434; Montrose County $11,857; Byers School District 32-J $9,413; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.5k10k15k20kAdams County School District 14$18,034Roaring Fork Schools$16,667Eagle County School District Re-50J$16,183Durango School District No. 9-R$14,729Mapleton Public Schools$14,482Garfield School District Re-2$13,874Delta County Joint District No. 50$13,843Lewis-Palmer School District 38$12,434Montrose County$11,857Byers School District 32-J$9,413State median, 1,000+ students $14,088
Current spending per student, Colorado districts closest in size to Adams County School District 14, FY23Adams County School District 14 $18,034; Roaring Fork Schools $16,667; Eagle County School District Re-50J $16,183; Durango School District No. 9-R $14,729; Mapleton Public Schools $14,482; Garfield School District Re-2 $13,874; Delta County Joint District No. 50 $13,843; Lewis-Palmer School District 38 $12,434; Montrose County $11,857; Byers School District 32-J $9,413; State median, 1,000+ students $14,088.5k10k15k20kAdams County School District 14$18,034Roaring Fork Schools$16,667Eagle County School District Re-50J$16,183Durango School District No. 9-R$14,729Mapleton Public Schools$14,482Garfield School District Re-2$13,874Delta County Joint District No. 50$13,843Lewis-Palmer School District 38$12,434Montrose County$11,857Byers School District 32-J$9,413State median, 1,000+ students $14,088

Where the money came from

$105,813,000 in revenue: 37.7% state, 43.2% local and 19.2% federal. Total spending including $6,981,000 of capital outlay was $111,911,000, or $19,661 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Adams County School District 14 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $39,860,000; Local $45,681,000; Federal $20,272,000; total $105,813,000.
  • State$39,860,000 38%
  • Local$45,681,000 43%
  • Federal$20,272,000 19%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 71 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

5,692 students in 2022-23, 5,484 students in 2023-24, 5,221 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Adams County School District 14 enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,692, 2023-24: 5,484, 2024-25: 5,22102k4k6k2022-235,6922023-245,4842024-255,221
Adams County School District 14 enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,692, 2023-24: 5,484, 2024-25: 5,22102k4k6k2022-235,6922023-245,4842024-255,221
Adams County School District 14 enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,692, 2023-24: 5,484, 2024-25: 5,22102k4k6k2022-235,6922023-245,4842024-255,221
Adams County School District 14 enrollment by school year2022-23: 5,692, 2023-24: 5,484, 2024-25: 5,22102k4k6k2022-235,6922023-245,4842024-255,221

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-235,692325.017.5
2023-245,484327.416.7
2024-255,221315.016.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$25,272,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,440 per student

Adams County School District 14 booked $25,272,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 329 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $76,815 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 87 in 100 Colorado districts with a figure (state median $62,708, 161 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$19,693,00077.9%
Special education$2,626,00010.4%
Vocational$1,142,0004.5%
Other programs$1,811,0007.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,381 in 2018-19, $3,664 in 2019-20, $4,015 in 2020-21, $3,893 in 2021-22, $4,440 in 2022-23.

Adams County School District 14 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,664, 2020-21: $4,015, 2021-22: $3,893, 2022-23: $4,44002k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,6642020-21$4,0152021-22$3,8932022-23$4,440
Adams County School District 14 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,664, 2020-21: $4,015, 2021-22: $3,893, 2022-23: $4,44002k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,6642020-21$4,0152021-22$3,8932022-23$4,440
Adams County School District 14 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,664, 2020-21: $4,015, 2021-22: $3,893, 2022-23: $4,44002k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,6642020-21$4,0152021-22$3,8932022-23$4,440
Adams County School District 14 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,381, 2019-20: $3,664, 2020-21: $4,015, 2021-22: $3,893, 2022-23: $4,44002k4k6k2018-19$3,3812019-20$3,6642020-21$4,0152021-22$3,8932022-23$4,440

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Adams County School District 14 scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 6% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Colorado, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtColoradoStudents tested
Reading and language arts14%44.9%2,680
Math6%31.8%2,683

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

69% of the 497 students in Adams County School District 14's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtColorado
Four-year graduation rate69%82.7%
Students in the class49768,390

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 elementary schools, 2,667 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kemp Elementary School51716.678.5%Schoolwide program
Alsup Elementary School49216.271.1%Schoolwide program
Dupont Elementary School48815.869.9%Schoolwide program
Monaco Elementary School43415.872.4%Schoolwide program
Central Elementary School42116.975.8%Schoolwide program
Rose Hill Elementary School31514.276.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 693 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Kearney Middle School39713.473.8%Schoolwide program
Adams City Middle School29612.073.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 1,684 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Adams City High School1,50020.067.6%Schoolwide program
Lester R Arnold High School18420.476.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 177 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Stars Early Learning Center14417.0not reportedNot Title I
Mildred L Sanville Preschool3333.0not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Hanson Elementary School

School in Commerce City; 257 students; 14.7 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Adams County School District 14

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Adams County School District 14

  1. Colorado districts by spending per studentAdams County School District 14 ranks 5 of 71 Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,034).#5 of 71
  2. Every school district in ColoradoAdams County School District 14 is the number 31 by size of 185 Colorado districts, with 5,692 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#31 of 185
  3. Roaring Fork SchoolsThe next larger Colorado district: 5,771 students in fall 2022, $16,667 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,667
  4. Byers School District 32-JThe next smaller Colorado district: 5,671 students in fall 2022, $9,413 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,413
  5. Compare Adams County School District 14 with Roaring Fork SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Adams City High School, its largest high school1,500 students in 2024-25, 20.0 per teacher.1,500
  7. Teacher salary spending across ColoradoAdams County School District 14 spent $76,815 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,708); spending, not a salary.$76,815
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Adams County School District 14

  1. How many schools and students are in Adams County School District 14?
    12 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high, 2 other), enrolling 5,221 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Adams County School District 14 spend per student?
    $18,034 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Colorado median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,088 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,691 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Adams County School District 14's money come from?
    $105,813,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 37.7% state, 43.2% local and 19.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Adams County School District 14 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,278 of the 8,611 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Adams County School District 14 spend on teacher salaries?
    $25,272,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,440 per student. Divided by the 329 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $76,815 per teacher, more than 87 in 100 Colorado districts (state median $62,708). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Adams County School District 14 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Adams County School District 14 scored proficient or above: 14% in reading and 6% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Colorado's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Adams County School District 14?
    69% of the 497 students in Adams County School District 14's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Adams County School District 14's NCES district ID?
    0801950. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25