Sayreville School District

Public school district · Middlesex County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3414640

Sayreville School District spent $21,025 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 92% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $24,665). Its 9 schools enrolled 6,215 students in 2024-25; 46.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,331 per student, up 6.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (New Jersey: 90.5%).

Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Sayreville in enrollment (6,125 to 6,663 students) and Sayreville itself.

Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Sayreville, FY23Atlantic City $31,825; Lenape Regional High $28,617; Montclair Public Schools $26,536; Linden $25,981; Bridgeton Public Schools $24,868; Livingston Public Schools $23,849; Uncommon Schools Newark $23,296; Bloomfield $23,287; Sayreville $21,025; Gloucester Township $20,685; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35kAtlantic City$31,825Lenape Regional High$28,617Montclair Public Schools$26,536Linden$25,981Bridgeton Public Schools$24,868Livingston Public Schools$23,849Uncommon Schools Newark$23,296Bloomfield$23,287Sayreville$21,025Gloucester Township$20,685State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Sayreville, FY23Atlantic City $31,825; Lenape Regional High $28,617; Montclair Public Schools $26,536; Linden $25,981; Bridgeton Public Schools $24,868; Livingston Public Schools $23,849; Uncommon Schools Newark $23,296; Bloomfield $23,287; Sayreville $21,025; Gloucester Township $20,685; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k20k25k30k35kAtlantic City$31,825Lenape Regional High$28,617Montclair Public Schools$26,536Linden$25,981Bridgeton Public Schools$24,868Livingston Public Schools$23,849Uncommon Schools Newark$23,296Bloomfield$23,287Sayreville$21,025Gloucester Township$20,685State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Sayreville, FY23Atlantic City $31,825; Lenape Regional High $28,617; Montclair Public Schools $26,536; Linden $25,981; Bridgeton Public Schools $24,868; Livingston Public Schools $23,849; Uncommon Schools Newark $23,296; Bloomfield $23,287; Sayreville $21,025; Gloucester Township $20,685; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35kAtlantic City$31,825Lenape Regional High$28,617Montclair Public Schools$26,536Linden$25,981Bridgeton Public Schools$24,868Livingston Public Schools$23,849Uncommon Schools Newark$23,296Bloomfield$23,287Sayreville$21,025Gloucester Township$20,685State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Sayreville, FY23Atlantic City $31,825; Lenape Regional High $28,617; Montclair Public Schools $26,536; Linden $25,981; Bridgeton Public Schools $24,868; Livingston Public Schools $23,849; Uncommon Schools Newark $23,296; Bloomfield $23,287; Sayreville $21,025; Gloucester Township $20,685; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.15k25k35kAtlantic City$31,825Lenape Regional High$28,617Montclair Public Schools$26,536Linden$25,981Bridgeton Public Schools$24,868Livingston Public Schools$23,849Uncommon Schools Newark$23,296Bloomfield$23,287Sayreville$21,025Gloucester Township$20,685State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$154,224,000 in revenue: 46.7% state, 48.7% local and 4.6% federal. Total spending including $33,371,000 of capital outlay was $179,177,000, or $27,966 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Sayreville School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $71,952,000; Local $75,109,000; Federal $7,163,000; total $154,224,000.
  • State$71,952,000 47%
  • Local$75,109,000 49%
  • Federal$7,163,000 5%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

6,148 students in 2022-23, 6,198 students in 2023-24, 6,215 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Sayreville School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,148, 2023-24: 6,198, 2024-25: 6,21502k4k6k8k2022-236,1482023-246,1982024-256,215
Sayreville School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,148, 2023-24: 6,198, 2024-25: 6,21502k4k6k8k2022-236,1482023-246,1982024-256,215
Sayreville School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,148, 2023-24: 6,198, 2024-25: 6,21502k4k6k8k2022-236,1482023-246,1982024-256,215
Sayreville School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 6,148, 2023-24: 6,198, 2024-25: 6,21502k4k6k8k2022-236,1482023-246,1982024-256,215

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-236,148531.611.6
2023-246,198539.611.5
2024-256,215542.011.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$43,312,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,760 per student

Sayreville School District booked $43,312,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 553 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $78,379 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 53 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$30,145,00069.6%
Special education$10,156,00023.4%
Other programs$3,011,0007.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,753 in 2018-19, $5,894 in 2019-20, $6,214 in 2020-21, $6,593 in 2021-22, $6,760 in 2022-23.

Sayreville School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,753, 2019-20: $5,894, 2020-21: $6,214, 2021-22: $6,593, 2022-23: $6,76002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,7532019-20$5,8942020-21$6,2142021-22$6,5932022-23$6,760
Sayreville School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,753, 2019-20: $5,894, 2020-21: $6,214, 2021-22: $6,593, 2022-23: $6,76002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,7532019-20$5,8942020-21$6,2142021-22$6,5932022-23$6,760
Sayreville School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,753, 2019-20: $5,894, 2020-21: $6,214, 2021-22: $6,593, 2022-23: $6,76002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,7532019-20$5,8942020-21$6,2142021-22$6,5932022-23$6,760
Sayreville School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,753, 2019-20: $5,894, 2020-21: $6,214, 2021-22: $6,593, 2022-23: $6,76002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,7532019-20$5,8942020-21$6,2142021-22$6,5932022-23$6,760

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Sayreville School District scored proficient or above: 52% in reading and 36% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts52%48.6%
Math36%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

89% of the 427 students in Sayreville School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Jersey
Four-year graduation rate89%90.5%
Students in the class427106,157

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 elementary schools, 2,669 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Samsel Upper Elementary School87010.740.0%Schoolwide program
Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School48812.240.0%Targeted program
Emma Arleth Elementary School48511.339.8%Targeted program
Harry S. Truman Elementary School42511.540.0%Targeted program
Woodrow Wilson Elementary School40113.440.1%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 1,294 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sayreville Middle School1,29410.638.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,764 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sayreville War Memorial High School1,76412.537.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 488 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cheesequake School25510.243.1%Not Title I
Project Before at Selover School23310.128.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Sayreville School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Sayreville School District

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentSayreville School District ranks 303 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,025).#303 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseySayreville School District is the number 47 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 6,407 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#47 of 672
  3. Atlantic City School DistrictThe next larger New Jersey district: 6,466 students in fall 2022, $31,825 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$31,825
  4. Livingston Public SchoolsThe next smaller New Jersey district: 6,371 students in fall 2022, $23,849 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,849
  5. Compare Sayreville School District with Atlantic City School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Sayreville War Memorial High School, its largest high school1,764 students in 2024-25, 12.5 per teacher.1,764
  7. Teacher salary spending across New JerseySayreville School District spent $78,379 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$78,379
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Sayreville School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Sayreville School District?
    9 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 2 other), enrolling 6,215 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Sayreville School District spend per student?
    $21,025 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $22,331 per student, up 6.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Sayreville School District's money come from?
    $154,224,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 46.7% state, 48.7% local and 4.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Sayreville School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 587 of the 7,152 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Sayreville School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $43,312,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,760 per student. Divided by the 553 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $78,379 per teacher, more than 53 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Sayreville School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Sayreville School District scored proficient or above: 52% in reading and 36% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Sayreville School District?
    89% of the 427 students in Sayreville School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Sayreville School District's NCES district ID?
    3414640. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25