Perkins County Schools

Public school district · Perkins County · Nebraska · NCES district ID 3100157

Perkins County Schools spent $17,833 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 57% of the other Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,474). Its 2 schools enrolled 429 students in 2024-25; 13.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,424 per student, up 8.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Nebraska: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Nebraska districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Perkins County Schools in enrollment (409 to 430 students) and Perkins County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Perkins County Schools, FY23Laurel-Concord-Coleridge School $22,793; Twin River Public Schools $21,240; Superior Public Schools $18,588; Ravenna Public Schools $18,426; Perkins County Schools $17,833; Shelby - Rising City Public Schools $17,219; Tri County Public Schools $16,847; Oakland Craig Public Schools $16,666; Sutton Public Schools $16,257; Homer Community Schools $15,764; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kLaurel-Concord-Coleridge School$22,793Twin River Public Schools$21,240Superior Public Schools$18,588Ravenna Public Schools$18,426Perkins County Schools$17,833Shelby - Rising City Public Sc…$17,219Tri County Public Schools$16,847Oakland Craig Public Schools$16,666Sutton Public Schools$16,257Homer Community Schools$15,764State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Perkins County Schools, FY23Laurel-Concord-Coleridge School $22,793; Twin River Public Schools $21,240; Superior Public Schools $18,588; Ravenna Public Schools $18,426; Perkins County Schools $17,833; Shelby - Rising City Public Schools $17,219; Tri County Public Schools $16,847; Oakland Craig Public Schools $16,666; Sutton Public Schools $16,257; Homer Community Schools $15,764; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5k25kLaurel-Concord-Coleridge School$22,793Twin River Public Schools$21,240Superior Public Schools$18,588Ravenna Public Schools$18,426Perkins County Schools$17,833Shelby - Rising City Public Schools$17,219Tri County Public Schools$16,847Oakland Craig Public Schools$16,666Sutton Public Schools$16,257Homer Community Schools$15,764State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Perkins County Schools, FY23Laurel-Concord-Coleridge School $22,793; Twin River Public Schools $21,240; Superior Public Schools $18,588; Ravenna Public Schools $18,426; Perkins County Schools $17,833; Shelby - Rising City Public Schools $17,219; Tri County Public Schools $16,847; Oakland Craig Public Schools $16,666; Sutton Public Schools $16,257; Homer Community Schools $15,764; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kLaurel-Concord-Coleridge School$22,793Twin River Public Schools$21,240Superior Public Schools$18,588Ravenna Public Schools$18,426Perkins County Schools$17,833Shelby - Rising City Public Schools$17,219Tri County Public Schools$16,847Oakland Craig Public Schools$16,666Sutton Public Schools$16,257Homer Community Schools$15,764State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Perkins County Schools, FY23Laurel-Concord-Coleridge School $22,793; Twin River Public Schools $21,240; Superior Public Schools $18,588; Ravenna Public Schools $18,426; Perkins County Schools $17,833; Shelby - Rising City Public Schools $17,219; Tri County Public Schools $16,847; Oakland Craig Public Schools $16,666; Sutton Public Schools $16,257; Homer Community Schools $15,764; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.12.5k17.5k22.5k25kLaurel-Concord-Coleridge School$22,793Twin River Public Schools$21,240Superior Public Schools$18,588Ravenna Public Schools$18,426Perkins County Schools$17,833Shelby - Rising City Public Schools$17,219Tri County Public Schools$16,847Oakland Craig Public Schools$16,666Sutton Public Schools$16,257Homer Community Schools$15,764State median, under 1,000 students $18,474

Where the money came from

$8,421,000 in revenue: 13.7% state, 80.8% local and 5.5% federal. Total spending including $590,000 of capital outlay was $8,317,000, or $19,850 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Perkins County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,156,000; Local $6,804,000; Federal $461,000; total $8,421,000.
  • State$1,156,000 14%
  • Local$6,804,000 81%
  • Federal$461,000 5%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 201 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

419 students in 2022-23, 415 students in 2023-24, 429 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Perkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 419, 2023-24: 415, 2024-25: 42902004006002022-234192023-244152024-25429
Perkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 419, 2023-24: 415, 2024-25: 42902004006002022-234192023-244152024-25429
Perkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 419, 2023-24: 415, 2024-25: 42902004006002022-234192023-244152024-25429
Perkins County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 419, 2023-24: 415, 2024-25: 42902004006002022-234192023-244152024-25429

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2341935.511.8
2023-2441537.311.1
2024-2542938.711.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,330,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,561 per student

Perkins County Schools booked $2,330,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 36 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,634 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 75 in 100 Nebraska districts with a figure (state median $61,845, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,982,00085.1%
Special education$196,0008.4%
Other programs$152,0006.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,971 in 2018-19, $5,870 in 2019-20, $6,164 in 2020-21, $5,516 in 2021-22, $5,561 in 2022-23.

Perkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,971, 2019-20: $5,870, 2020-21: $6,164, 2021-22: $5,516, 2022-23: $5,56102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9712019-20$5,8702020-21$6,1642021-22$5,5162022-23$5,561
Perkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,971, 2019-20: $5,870, 2020-21: $6,164, 2021-22: $5,516, 2022-23: $5,56102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9712019-20$5,8702020-21$6,1642021-22$5,5162022-23$5,561
Perkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,971, 2019-20: $5,870, 2020-21: $6,164, 2021-22: $5,516, 2022-23: $5,56102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9712019-20$5,8702020-21$6,1642021-22$5,5162022-23$5,561
Perkins County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,971, 2019-20: $5,870, 2020-21: $6,164, 2021-22: $5,516, 2022-23: $5,56102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,9712019-20$5,8702020-21$6,1642021-22$5,5162022-23$5,561

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Perkins County Schools scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 65-69% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Nebraska, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNebraskaStudents tested
Reading and language arts65-69%47.1%200
Math65-69%46%200

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 22 students in Perkins County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNebraska
Four-year graduation rate80% or more87.3%
Students in the class2224,336

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 241 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perkins County Elementary School24112.023.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 188 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Perkins County Junior- Senior High School18810.113.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Perkins County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Perkins County Schools

  1. Nebraska districts by spending per studentPerkins County Schools ranks 116 of 201 Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,833).#116 of 201
  2. Every school district in NebraskaPerkins County Schools is the number 108 by size of 251 Nebraska districts, with 419 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#108 of 251
  3. Sutton Public SchoolsThe next larger Nebraska district: 420 students in fall 2022, $16,257 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,257
  4. Oakland Craig Public SchoolsThe next smaller Nebraska district: 416 students in fall 2022, $16,666 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,666
  5. Compare Perkins County Schools with Sutton Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Perkins County Junior- Senior High School, its largest high school188 students in 2024-25, 10.1 per teacher.188
  7. Teacher salary spending across NebraskaPerkins County Schools spent $65,634 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,845); spending, not a salary.$65,634
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Perkins County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Perkins County Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 429 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Perkins County Schools spend per student?
    $17,833 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Nebraska median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,474 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,424 per student, up 8.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Perkins County Schools' money come from?
    $8,421,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 13.7% state, 80.8% local and 5.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Perkins County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 41 of the 500 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Perkins County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,330,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,561 per student. Divided by the 36 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,634 per teacher, more than 75 in 100 Nebraska districts (state median $61,845). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Perkins County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Perkins County Schools scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 65-69% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Nebraska's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Perkins County Schools?
    80% or more of the 22 students in Perkins County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Perkins County Schools' NCES district ID?
    3100157. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25