Pendleton County Schools

Public school district · Pendleton County · West Virginia · NCES district ID 5401080

Pendleton County Schools spent $19,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23. Its 4 schools enrolled 850 students in 2024-25; 63.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,372 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (West Virginia: 92.6%).

Spending per student among West Virginia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Pendleton County Schools in enrollment (792 to 1,243 students) and Pendleton County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, West Virginia districts closest in size to Pendleton County Schools, FY23Doddridge County Schools $22,500; Pendleton County Schools $19,141; Pocahontas County Schools $18,970; Gilmer County Schools $17,294; Calhoun County Schools $17,049; Pleasants County Schools $16,780; Wirt County Schools $16,428; Ritchie County Schools $15,964; Tucker County Schools $15,729; Webster County Board of Education $14,065; State median, under 1,000 students $17,172.10k15k20k25kDoddridge County Schools$22,500Pendleton County Schools$19,141Pocahontas County Schools$18,970Gilmer County Schools$17,294Calhoun County Schools$17,049Pleasants County Schools$16,780Wirt County Schools$16,428Ritchie County Schools$15,964Tucker County Schools$15,729Webster County Board of Educat…$14,065State median, under 1,000 students $17,172
Current spending per student, West Virginia districts closest in size to Pendleton County Schools, FY23Doddridge County Schools $22,500; Pendleton County Schools $19,141; Pocahontas County Schools $18,970; Gilmer County Schools $17,294; Calhoun County Schools $17,049; Pleasants County Schools $16,780; Wirt County Schools $16,428; Ritchie County Schools $15,964; Tucker County Schools $15,729; Webster County Board of Education $14,065; State median, under 1,000 students $17,172.10k15k20k25kDoddridge County Schools$22,500Pendleton County Schools$19,141Pocahontas County Schools$18,970Gilmer County Schools$17,294Calhoun County Schools$17,049Pleasants County Schools$16,780Wirt County Schools$16,428Ritchie County Schools$15,964Tucker County Schools$15,729Webster County Board of Education$14,065State median, under 1,000 students $17,172
Current spending per student, West Virginia districts closest in size to Pendleton County Schools, FY23Doddridge County Schools $22,500; Pendleton County Schools $19,141; Pocahontas County Schools $18,970; Gilmer County Schools $17,294; Calhoun County Schools $17,049; Pleasants County Schools $16,780; Wirt County Schools $16,428; Ritchie County Schools $15,964; Tucker County Schools $15,729; Webster County Board of Education $14,065; State median, under 1,000 students $17,172.10k15k20k25kDoddridge County Schools$22,500Pendleton County Schools$19,141Pocahontas County Schools$18,970Gilmer County Schools$17,294Calhoun County Schools$17,049Pleasants County Schools$16,780Wirt County Schools$16,428Ritchie County Schools$15,964Tucker County Schools$15,729Webster County Board of Education$14,065State median, under 1,000 students $17,172
Current spending per student, West Virginia districts closest in size to Pendleton County Schools, FY23Doddridge County Schools $22,500; Pendleton County Schools $19,141; Pocahontas County Schools $18,970; Gilmer County Schools $17,294; Calhoun County Schools $17,049; Pleasants County Schools $16,780; Wirt County Schools $16,428; Ritchie County Schools $15,964; Tucker County Schools $15,729; Webster County Board of Education $14,065; State median, under 1,000 students $17,172.10k15k20k25kDoddridge County Schools$22,500Pendleton County Schools$19,141Pocahontas County Schools$18,970Gilmer County Schools$17,294Calhoun County Schools$17,049Pleasants County Schools$16,780Wirt County Schools$16,428Ritchie County Schools$15,964Tucker County Schools$15,729Webster County Board of Education$14,065State median, under 1,000 students $17,172

Where the money came from

$16,754,000 in revenue: 63.3% state, 23.8% local and 12.8% federal. Total spending including $1,367,000 of capital outlay was $17,996,000, or $20,757 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Pendleton County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,612,000; Local $3,991,000; Federal $2,151,000; total $16,754,000.
  • State$10,612,000 63%
  • Local$3,991,000 24%
  • Federal$2,151,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 6 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

867 students in 2022-23, 846 students in 2023-24, 850 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Pendleton County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 867, 2023-24: 846, 2024-25: 85002505007501k2022-238672023-248462024-25850
Pendleton County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 867, 2023-24: 846, 2024-25: 85002505007501k2022-238672023-248462024-25850
Pendleton County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 867, 2023-24: 846, 2024-25: 85002505007501k2022-238672023-248462024-25850
Pendleton County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 867, 2023-24: 846, 2024-25: 85002505007501k2022-238672023-248462024-25850

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2386782.010.6
2023-2484681.010.4
2024-2585080.510.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$4,115,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,746 per student

Pendleton County Schools booked $4,115,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 82 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,183 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 20 in 100 West Virginia districts with a figure (state median $53,375, 55 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average West Virginia teacher salary at $50,315 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,218,00078.2%
Special education$668,00016.2%
Vocational$133,0003.2%
Other programs$96,0002.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,098 in 2018-19, $4,567 in 2019-20, $4,648 in 2020-21, $4,516 in 2021-22, $4,746 in 2022-23.

Pendleton County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,098, 2019-20: $4,567, 2020-21: $4,648, 2021-22: $4,516, 2022-23: $4,74602k4k6k2018-19$4,0982019-20$4,5672020-21$4,6482021-22$4,5162022-23$4,746
Pendleton County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,098, 2019-20: $4,567, 2020-21: $4,648, 2021-22: $4,516, 2022-23: $4,74602k4k6k2018-19$4,0982019-20$4,5672020-21$4,6482021-22$4,5162022-23$4,746
Pendleton County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,098, 2019-20: $4,567, 2020-21: $4,648, 2021-22: $4,516, 2022-23: $4,74602k4k6k2018-19$4,0982019-20$4,5672020-21$4,6482021-22$4,5162022-23$4,746
Pendleton County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,098, 2019-20: $4,567, 2020-21: $4,648, 2021-22: $4,516, 2022-23: $4,74602k4k6k2018-19$4,0982019-20$4,5672020-21$4,6482021-22$4,5162022-23$4,746

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Pendleton County Schools scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 36% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 32.2% in math across West Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within West Virginia, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWest VirginiaStudents tested
Reading and language arts42%41.3%442
Math36%32.2%442

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 66 students in Pendleton County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 92.6% across West Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWest Virginia
Four-year graduation rate95% or more92.6%
Students in the class6618,443

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 464 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Franklin Elementary School2479.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Brandywine Elementary School11410.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
North Fork Elementary School1039.2All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 386 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pendleton County Middle/High School38611.7All free (CEP)Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Pendleton County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Pendleton County Schools

  1. Every school district in West VirginiaPendleton County Schools is the number 53 by size of 61 West Virginia districts, with 867 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#53 of 61
  2. Pocahontas County SchoolsThe next larger West Virginia district: 893 students in fall 2022, $18,970 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,970
  3. Calhoun County SchoolsThe next smaller West Virginia district: 864 students in fall 2022, $17,049 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,049
  4. Compare Pendleton County Schools with Pocahontas County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  5. Pendleton County Middle/High School, its largest high school386 students in 2024-25, 11.7 per teacher.386
  6. Teacher salary spending across West VirginiaPendleton County Schools spent $50,183 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $53,375); spending, not a salary.$50,183
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Pendleton County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Pendleton County Schools?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 850 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Pendleton County Schools spend per student?
    $19,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,372 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Pendleton County Schools' money come from?
    $16,754,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.3% state, 23.8% local and 12.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Pendleton County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 135 of the 832 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Pendleton County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $4,115,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,746 per student. Divided by the 82 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,183 per teacher, more than 20 in 100 West Virginia districts (state median $53,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average West Virginia teacher salary at $50,315 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Pendleton County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Pendleton County Schools scored proficient or above: 42% in reading and 36% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 32.2% in math across West Virginia. West Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Pendleton County Schools?
    95% or more of the 66 students in Pendleton County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 92.6% across West Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Pendleton County Schools' NCES district ID?
    5401080. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25