Mannheim School District

Listed by NCES as Mannheim SD 83 (district ID 1724330)

Public school district · Cook County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1724330

Mannheim School District spent $23,825 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 85% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $18,127). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,338 students in 2024-25; 22.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,191 per student, up 9.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Mannheim in enrollment (2,300 to 2,401 students) and Mannheim itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Mannheim, FY23Mannheim $23,825; CCSD 146 $22,070; Marquardt SD 15 $21,693; Matteson ESD 162 $19,449; Flossmoor SD 161 $18,170; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Herrin CUSD 4 $12,991; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kMannheim$23,825CCSD 146$22,070Marquardt SD 15$21,693Matteson ESD 162$19,449Flossmoor SD 161$18,170Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Herrin CUSD 4$12,991State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Mannheim, FY23Mannheim $23,825; CCSD 146 $22,070; Marquardt SD 15 $21,693; Matteson ESD 162 $19,449; Flossmoor SD 161 $18,170; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Herrin CUSD 4 $12,991; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kMannheim$23,825CCSD 146$22,070Marquardt SD 15$21,693Matteson ESD 162$19,449Flossmoor SD 161$18,170Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Herrin CUSD 4$12,991State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Mannheim, FY23Mannheim $23,825; CCSD 146 $22,070; Marquardt SD 15 $21,693; Matteson ESD 162 $19,449; Flossmoor SD 161 $18,170; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Herrin CUSD 4 $12,991; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kMannheim$23,825CCSD 146$22,070Marquardt SD 15$21,693Matteson ESD 162$19,449Flossmoor SD 161$18,170Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Herrin CUSD 4$12,991State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Mannheim, FY23Mannheim $23,825; CCSD 146 $22,070; Marquardt SD 15 $21,693; Matteson ESD 162 $19,449; Flossmoor SD 161 $18,170; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Herrin CUSD 4 $12,991; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kMannheim$23,825CCSD 146$22,070Marquardt SD 15$21,693Matteson ESD 162$19,449Flossmoor SD 161$18,170Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Herrin CUSD 4$12,991State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$84,980,000 in revenue: 22.7% state, 69.5% local and 7.9% federal. Total spending including $8,149,000 of capital outlay was $67,688,000, or $28,779 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Mannheim School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $19,249,000; Local $59,054,000; Federal $6,677,000; total $84,980,000.
  • State$19,249,000 23%
  • Local$59,054,000 69%
  • Federal$6,677,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,352 students in 2022-23, 2,341 students in 2023-24, 2,338 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Mannheim School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,352, 2023-24: 2,341, 2024-25: 2,33801k2k3k2022-232,3522023-242,3412024-252,338
Mannheim School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,352, 2023-24: 2,341, 2024-25: 2,33801k2k3k2022-232,3522023-242,3412024-252,338
Mannheim School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,352, 2023-24: 2,341, 2024-25: 2,33801k2k3k2022-232,3522023-242,3412024-252,338
Mannheim School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,352, 2023-24: 2,341, 2024-25: 2,33801k2k3k2022-232,3522023-242,3412024-252,338

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,352212.811.1
2023-242,341217.310.8
2024-252,338213.111.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Mannheim School District scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts21%29.9%1,555

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

3 elementary schools, 1,413 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Roy Elementary School54511.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Westdale Elementary School48310.8All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Scott Elementary School38510.2All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 768 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mannheim Middle School76810.3All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 157 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mannheim Early Childhood Ctr15715.7not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Mannheim School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Mannheim School District

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentMannheim School District ranks 59 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($23,825).#59 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisMannheim School District is the number 173 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 2,352 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#173 of 865
  3. Herrin CUSD 4The next larger Illinois district: 2,355 students in fall 2022, $12,991 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,991
  4. Marquardt SD 15The next smaller Illinois district: 2,346 students in fall 2022, $21,693 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,693
  5. Compare Mannheim School District with Herrin CUSD 4Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Mannheim School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Mannheim School District?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 other), enrolling 2,338 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Mannheim School District spend per student?
    $23,825 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,191 per student, up 9.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Mannheim School District's money come from?
    $84,980,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 22.7% state, 69.5% local and 7.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Mannheim School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 346 of the 2,331 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Mannheim School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Mannheim School District scored proficient or above: 21% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Mannheim School District's NCES district ID?
    1724330. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25