Lemmon School District 52-4

Public school district · Perkins County · South Dakota · NCES district ID 4641520

Lemmon School District 52-4 spent $13,696 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 52% of the other South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,524). Its 3 schools enrolled 289 students in 2024-25; 21.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,432 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (South Dakota: 84%).

Spending per student among South Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lemmon School District 52-4 in enrollment (276 to 290 students) and Lemmon School District 52-4 itself.

Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Lemmon School District 52-4, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Newell $12,872; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Gayville-Volin $11,882; Centerville School District 60-1 $11,041; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k10k12k14k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Newell$12,872Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Gayville-Volin$11,882Centerville School District 60…$11,041Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Lemmon School District 52-4, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Newell $12,872; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Gayville-Volin $11,882; Centerville School District 60-1 $11,041; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k10k12k14k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Newell$12,872Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Gayville-Volin$11,882Centerville School District 60-1$11,041Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Lemmon School District 52-4, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Newell $12,872; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Gayville-Volin $11,882; Centerville School District 60-1 $11,041; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k12k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Newell$12,872Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Gayville-Volin$11,882Centerville School District 60-1$11,041Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Lemmon School District 52-4, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Newell $12,872; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Gayville-Volin $11,882; Centerville School District 60-1 $11,041; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k12k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Newell$12,872Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Gayville-Volin$11,882Centerville School District 60-1$11,041Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524

Where the money came from

$5,579,000 in revenue: 21.1% state, 62.9% local and 16.0% federal. Total spending including $281,000 of capital outlay was $4,404,000, or $15,562 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lemmon School District 52-4 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,177,000; Local $3,508,000; Federal $894,000; total $5,579,000.
  • State$1,177,000 21%
  • Local$3,508,000 63%
  • Federal$894,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 125 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

283 students in 2022-23, 292 students in 2023-24, 289 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lemmon School District 52-4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 283, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 28901002003002022-232832023-242922024-25289
Lemmon School District 52-4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 283, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 28901002003002022-232832023-242922024-25289
Lemmon School District 52-4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 283, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 28901002003002022-232832023-242922024-25289
Lemmon School District 52-4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 283, 2023-24: 292, 2024-25: 28901002003002022-232832023-242922024-25289

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2328323.412.1
2023-2429224.611.9
2024-2528924.711.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,279,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,519 per student

Lemmon School District 52-4 booked $1,279,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 23 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $54,542 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 89 in 100 South Dakota districts with a figure (state median $49,840, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$916,00071.6%
Special education$180,00014.1%
Vocational$81,0006.3%
Other programs$102,0008.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,324 in 2018-19, $4,193 in 2019-20, $4,432 in 2020-21, $4,651 in 2021-22, $4,519 in 2022-23.

Lemmon School District 52-4 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,193, 2020-21: $4,432, 2021-22: $4,651, 2022-23: $4,51902k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,1932020-21$4,4322021-22$4,6512022-23$4,519
Lemmon School District 52-4 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,193, 2020-21: $4,432, 2021-22: $4,651, 2022-23: $4,51902k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,1932020-21$4,4322021-22$4,6512022-23$4,519
Lemmon School District 52-4 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,193, 2020-21: $4,432, 2021-22: $4,651, 2022-23: $4,51902k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,1932020-21$4,4322021-22$4,6512022-23$4,519
Lemmon School District 52-4 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,324, 2019-20: $4,193, 2020-21: $4,432, 2021-22: $4,651, 2022-23: $4,51902k4k6k2018-19$4,3242019-20$4,1932020-21$4,4322021-22$4,6512022-23$4,519

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lemmon School District 52-4 scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 40-44% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within South Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtSouth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts50-54%51%147
Math40-44%42.2%147

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

50% or more of the 15 students in Lemmon School District 52-4's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtSouth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate50% or more84%
Students in the class159,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 139 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lemmon Elementary - 0213912.630.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 53 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lemmon Jr. High - 065310.917.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 97 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lemmon High School - 019711.018.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Lemmon School District 52-4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lemmon School District 52-4

  1. South Dakota districts by spending per studentLemmon School District 52-4 ranks 61 of 125 South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,696).#61 of 125
  2. Every school district in South DakotaLemmon School District 52-4 is the number 99 by size of 150 South Dakota districts, with 283 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#99 of 150
  3. Woonsocket School District 55-4The next larger South Dakota district: 285 students in fall 2022, $12,340 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,340
  4. Corsica-Stickney SchoolsThe next smaller South Dakota district: 276 students in fall 2022, $12,670 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,670
  5. Compare Lemmon School District 52-4 with Woonsocket School District 55-4Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lemmon High School - 01, its largest high school97 students in 2024-25, 11.0 per teacher.97
  7. Teacher salary spending across South DakotaLemmon School District 52-4 spent $54,542 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,840); spending, not a salary.$54,542
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lemmon School District 52-4

  1. How many schools and students are in Lemmon School District 52-4?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 289 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lemmon School District 52-4 spend per student?
    $13,696 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the South Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,524 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,432 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Lemmon School District 52-4's money come from?
    $5,579,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.1% state, 62.9% local and 16.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Lemmon School District 52-4 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 57 of the 297 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Lemmon School District 52-4 spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,279,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,519 per student. Divided by the 23 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $54,542 per teacher, more than 89 in 100 South Dakota districts (state median $49,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Lemmon School District 52-4 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lemmon School District 52-4 scored proficient or above: 50-54% in reading and 40-44% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. South Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Lemmon School District 52-4?
    50% or more of the 15 students in Lemmon School District 52-4's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Lemmon School District 52-4's NCES district ID?
    4641520. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25