Eight Mile School District #6

Listed by NCES as Eight Mile 6 (district ID 3806010)

Public school district · Williams County · North Dakota · NCES district ID 3806010

Eight Mile School District #6 spent $17,037 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 53% of the other North Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,222). Its 2 schools enrolled 319 students in 2024-25; 39.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,659 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (North Dakota: 83.2%).

Spending per student among North Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Eight Mile School District #6 in enrollment (315 to 340 students) and Eight Mile School District #6 itself.

Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Eight Mile School District #6, FY23North Border $18,809; Tgu 60 $17,982; Washburn Public School $17,221; Eight Mile School District #6 $17,037; Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School $16,877; Alexander 2 $16,664; Richardton-Taylor Public Schools $16,514; Northwood Public School $15,102; New Rockford-Sheyenne 2 $14,168; Ellendale Public School $13,619; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.12k14k16k18k20kNorth Border$18,809Tgu 60$17,982Washburn Public School$17,221Eight Mile School District #6$17,037Mohall Lansford Sherwood Publi…$16,877Alexander 2$16,664Richardton-Taylor Public Schoo…$16,514Northwood Public School$15,102New Rockford-Sheyenne 2$14,168Ellendale Public School$13,619State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Eight Mile School District #6, FY23North Border $18,809; Tgu 60 $17,982; Washburn Public School $17,221; Eight Mile School District #6 $17,037; Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School $16,877; Alexander 2 $16,664; Richardton-Taylor Public Schools $16,514; Northwood Public School $15,102; New Rockford-Sheyenne 2 $14,168; Ellendale Public School $13,619; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.12k14k16k18k20kNorth Border$18,809Tgu 60$17,982Washburn Public School$17,221Eight Mile School District #6$17,037Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public Sch…$16,877Alexander 2$16,664Richardton-Taylor Public Schools$16,514Northwood Public School$15,102New Rockford-Sheyenne 2$14,168Ellendale Public School$13,619State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Eight Mile School District #6, FY23North Border $18,809; Tgu 60 $17,982; Washburn Public School $17,221; Eight Mile School District #6 $17,037; Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School $16,877; Alexander 2 $16,664; Richardton-Taylor Public Schools $16,514; Northwood Public School $15,102; New Rockford-Sheyenne 2 $14,168; Ellendale Public School $13,619; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.12k16k20kNorth Border$18,809Tgu 60$17,982Washburn Public School$17,221Eight Mile School District #6$17,037Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School$16,877Alexander 2$16,664Richardton-Taylor Public Schools$16,514Northwood Public School$15,102New Rockford-Sheyenne 2$14,168Ellendale Public School$13,619State median, under 1,000 students $17,222
Current spending per student, North Dakota districts closest in size to Eight Mile School District #6, FY23North Border $18,809; Tgu 60 $17,982; Washburn Public School $17,221; Eight Mile School District #6 $17,037; Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School $16,877; Alexander 2 $16,664; Richardton-Taylor Public Schools $16,514; Northwood Public School $15,102; New Rockford-Sheyenne 2 $14,168; Ellendale Public School $13,619; State median, under 1,000 students $17,222.12k16k20kNorth Border$18,809Tgu 60$17,982Washburn Public School$17,221Eight Mile School District #6$17,037Mohall Lansford Sherwood Public School$16,877Alexander 2$16,664Richardton-Taylor Public Schools$16,514Northwood Public School$15,102New Rockford-Sheyenne 2$14,168Ellendale Public School$13,619State median, under 1,000 students $17,222

Where the money came from

$7,649,000 in revenue: 39.1% state, 51.5% local and 9.4% federal. Total spending including $15,000 of capital outlay was $6,090,000, or $18,738 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Eight Mile School District #6 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,989,000; Local $3,939,000; Federal $721,000; total $7,649,000.
  • State$2,989,000 39%
  • Local$3,939,000 51%
  • Federal$721,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 151 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

325 students in 2022-23, 329 students in 2023-24, 319 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Eight Mile School District #6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 325, 2023-24: 329, 2024-25: 31901002003004002022-233252023-243292024-25319
Eight Mile School District #6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 325, 2023-24: 329, 2024-25: 31901002003004002022-233252023-243292024-25319
Eight Mile School District #6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 325, 2023-24: 329, 2024-25: 31901002003004002022-233252023-243292024-25319
Eight Mile School District #6 enrollment by school year2022-23: 325, 2023-24: 329, 2024-25: 31901002003004002022-233252023-243292024-25319

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2332521.715.0
2023-2432922.714.5
2024-2531922.714.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,860,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,723 per student

Eight Mile School District #6 booked $1,860,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 22 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $85,793 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 85 in 100 North Dakota districts with a figure (state median $65,626, 125 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Dakota teacher salary at $55,769 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,244,00066.9%
Special education$35,0001.9%
Other programs$581,00031.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,691 in 2018-19, $4,951 in 2019-20, $5,660 in 2020-21, $5,440 in 2021-22, $5,723 in 2022-23.

Eight Mile School District #6 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,691, 2019-20: $4,951, 2020-21: $5,660, 2021-22: $5,440, 2022-23: $5,72302k4k6k2018-19$4,6912019-20$4,9512020-21$5,6602021-22$5,4402022-23$5,723
Eight Mile School District #6 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,691, 2019-20: $4,951, 2020-21: $5,660, 2021-22: $5,440, 2022-23: $5,72302k4k6k2018-19$4,6912019-20$4,9512020-21$5,6602021-22$5,4402022-23$5,723
Eight Mile School District #6 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,691, 2019-20: $4,951, 2020-21: $5,660, 2021-22: $5,440, 2022-23: $5,72302k4k6k2018-19$4,6912019-20$4,9512020-21$5,6602021-22$5,4402022-23$5,723
Eight Mile School District #6 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,691, 2019-20: $4,951, 2020-21: $5,660, 2021-22: $5,440, 2022-23: $5,72302k4k6k2018-19$4,6912019-20$4,9512020-21$5,6602021-22$5,4402022-23$5,723

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Eight Mile School District #6 scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 43.8% in reading and 38.6% in math across North Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within North Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNorth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts30-34%43.8%187
Math25-29%38.6%187

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 22 students in Eight Mile School District #6's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.2% across North Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNorth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate80% or more83.2%
Students in the class228,249

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 214 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eight Mile Elementary School21413.939.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 105 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eight Mile High School10514.339.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Eight Mile School District #6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Eight Mile School District #6

  1. North Dakota districts by spending per studentEight Mile School District #6 ranks 80 of 151 North Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,037).#80 of 151
  2. Every school district in North DakotaEight Mile School District #6 is the number 58 by size of 170 North Dakota districts, with 325 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#58 of 170
  3. New Rockford-Sheyenne 2The next larger North Dakota district: 334 students in fall 2022, $14,168 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,168
  4. Alexander 2The next smaller North Dakota district: 321 students in fall 2022, $16,664 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,664
  5. Compare Eight Mile School District #6 with New Rockford-Sheyenne 2Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Eight Mile High School, its largest high school105 students in 2024-25, 14.3 per teacher.105
  7. Teacher salary spending across North DakotaEight Mile School District #6 spent $85,793 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,626); spending, not a salary.$85,793
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Eight Mile School District #6

  1. How many schools and students are in Eight Mile School District #6?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 319 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Eight Mile School District #6 spend per student?
    $17,037 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the North Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,222 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,659 per student, up 3.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Eight Mile School District #6's money come from?
    $7,649,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 39.1% state, 51.5% local and 9.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Eight Mile School District #6 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 13 of the 200 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Eight Mile School District #6 spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,860,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,723 per student. Divided by the 22 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $85,793 per teacher, more than 85 in 100 North Dakota districts (state median $65,626). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average North Dakota teacher salary at $55,769 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Eight Mile School District #6 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Eight Mile School District #6 scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 43.8% in reading and 38.6% in math across North Dakota. North Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Eight Mile School District #6?
    80% or more of the 22 students in Eight Mile School District #6's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.2% across North Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Eight Mile School District #6's NCES district ID?
    3806010. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25