Coffee County
Public school district · Coffee County · Tennessee · NCES district ID 4700780
Coffee County spent $11,597 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 59% of the other Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,310). Its 10 schools enrolled 4,313 students in 2024-25; 47.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,333 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Tennessee: 87.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Tennessee districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Coffee County in enrollment (4,002 to 4,764 students) and Coffee County itself.
Where the money came from
$56,440,000 in revenue: 47.1% state, 35.1% local and 17.8% federal. Total spending including $4,187,000 of capital outlay was $57,656,000, or $13,119 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$26,584,000 47%
- Local$19,827,000 35%
- Federal$10,029,000 18%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 124 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24
4,395 students in 2022-23, 4,376 students in 2023-24, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,395 | 307.8 | 14.3 |
| 2023-24 | 4,376 | 299.2 | 14.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$16,437,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,740 per student
Coffee County booked $16,437,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 308 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,412 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 24 in 100 Tennessee districts with a figure (state median $57,379, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $13,157,000 | 80.0% |
| Special education | $2,058,000 | 12.5% |
| Vocational | $1,222,000 | 7.4% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,429 in 2018-19, $3,382 in 2019-20, $3,519 in 2020-21, $3,627 in 2021-22, $3,740 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Coffee County scored proficient or above: 30-33% in reading and 27-31% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Tennessee | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 30-33% | 35% | 1,626 |
| Math | 27-31% | 35% | 1,625 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
89% of the 406 students in Coffee County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Tennessee | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 89% | 87.3% |
| Students in the class | 406 | 71,510 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
6 elementary schools, 1,808 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hillsboro Elementary | 424 | 13.7 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
| North Coffee Elementary | 354 | 13.7 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
| New Union Elementary | 297 | 13.0 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
| Deerfield Elementary School | 290 | 10.8 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
| East Coffee Elementary | 224 | 13.3 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
| Hickerson Elementary | 219 | 11.0 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 783 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee County Middle School | 783 | 15.0 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 high schools, 1,722 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coffee County Central High School | 1,262 | 16.5 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
| Coffee County Raider Academy | 409 | 16.1 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
| Coffee County Virtual Academy | 51 | 7.9 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Coffee County
- Website: coffeecountyschools.com
- Phone: (931) 723-5150
- Office: 1343 McArthur ST, Manchester, TN 37355
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Coffee County
- Tennessee districts by spending per studentCoffee County ranks 52 of 124 Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,597).#52 of 124
- Every school district in TennesseeCoffee County is the number 52 by size of 148 Tennessee districts, with 4,395 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#52 of 148
- Carter County School DistrictThe next larger Tennessee district: 4,764 students in fall 2022, $11,526 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,526
- Cocke CountyThe next smaller Tennessee district: 4,339 students in fall 2022, $11,098 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,098
- Compare Coffee County with Carter County School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Coffee County Central High School, its largest high school1,262 students in 2024-25, 16.5 per teacher.1,262
- Teacher salary spending across TennesseeCoffee County spent $53,412 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,379); spending, not a salary.$53,412
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Coffee County
How many schools and students are in Coffee County?
10 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 1 middle, 3 high), enrolling 4,313 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Coffee County spend per student?
$11,597 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Tennessee median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,310 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,333 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Coffee County's money come from?
$56,440,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 47.1% state, 35.1% local and 17.8% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Coffee County live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,146 of the 5,570 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 20.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Coffee County spend on teacher salaries?
$16,437,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,740 per student. Divided by the 308 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,412 per teacher, more than 24 in 100 Tennessee districts (state median $57,379). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Coffee County do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Coffee County scored proficient or above: 30-33% in reading and 27-31% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Coffee County?
89% of the 406 students in Coffee County's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Coffee County's NCES district ID?
4700780. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25