Public schools in Lewistown, PA
Lewistown has 7 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, enrolling 3,682 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Mifflin County SD runs 6 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Lewistown's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Lewistown | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mifflin County SD | 6 | 4,636 | $15,978 |
| Mifflin County Academy of Science and Technology | 1 | 1 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 high schools in Lewistown, 1,715 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mifflin Co High School | 1,032 | 13.9 | 51.4% | Mifflin County SD |
| Mifflin Co Junior High School | 678 | 12.5 | 60.3% | Mifflin County SD |
| Mifflin County Academy of Science and Te | 5 | 0.3 | not reported | Mifflin County Academy of Science and Technology |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Lewistown, 733 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mifflin Co Middle School | 733 | 13.7 | 70.1% | Mifflin County SD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 elementary schools in Lewistown, 1,234 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lewistown Intrmd School | 516 | 13.5 | 98.3% | Mifflin County SD |
| Lewistown Elementary School | 457 | 9.4 | 98.9% | Mifflin County SD |
| East Derry Elementary School | 261 | 11.2 | 100.0% | Mifflin County SD |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Lewistown's public schools compare with Pennsylvania's
The median Lewistown school has 13.0 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the Pennsylvania median of 13.1. 29% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 43% across the state. Its median school enrolls 516 students (state 460).
| Lewistown | Pennsylvania | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 13.0 | 13.1 |
| Median school size (students) | 516 | 460 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 29% | 43% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 43% | 41% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 6.0% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 7 Lewistown schools and the 2,899 Pennsylvania schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Lewistown
- Mifflin County SDRuns 6 of Lewistown's 7 public schools and spent $15,978 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,978
- Mifflin Co High School, the largest high school in Lewistown1,032 students in 2024-25, 13.9 per teacher.1,032
- Compare Mifflin County SD with Mifflin County Academy of Science and TechnologyLewistown's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in PennsylvaniaPennsylvania's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Lewistown addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Pennsylvania
- Philadelphia302 schools
- Pittsburgh145 schools
- Harrisburg40 schools
- York39 schools
- Lancaster37 schools
- Erie35 schools
- Allentown34 schools
- Reading32 schools
Questions about schools in Lewistown
How many public schools are in Lewistown, PA?
7 public schools with an address in Lewistown were open in 2024-25: 3 high, 1 middle, 3 elementary, enrolling 3,682 students.What is the largest high school in Lewistown?
Mifflin Co High School, with 1,032 students in 2024-25 (Mifflin County SD).Which districts run Lewistown's schools?
Mifflin County SD (6 schools), Mifflin County Academy of Science and Technology (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25