Rochester CUSD 3A
Public school district · Sangamon County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1734320
Rochester CUSD 3A spent $14,490 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 79% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,012 students in 2024-25; 42.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,844 per student, up 2.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rochester CUSD 3A in enrollment (2,022 to 2,122 students) and Rochester CUSD 3A itself.
Where the money came from
$34,377,000 in revenue: 42.6% state, 54.2% local and 3.2% federal. Total spending including $1,942,000 of capital outlay was $33,569,000, or $16,186 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$14,640,000 43%
- Local$18,649,000 54%
- Federal$1,088,000 3%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
2,074 students in 2022-23, 2,047 students in 2023-24, 2,012 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,074 | 125.0 | 16.6 |
| 2023-24 | 2,047 | 130.0 | 15.7 |
| 2024-25 | 2,012 | 131.0 | 15.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rochester CUSD 3A scored proficient or above: 24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 24% | 29.9% | 1,079 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90-94% of the 186 students in Rochester CUSD 3A's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90‑94% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 186 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 elementary schools, 638 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rochester Elem EC-1 School | 402 | 16.1 | not reported | Targeted program |
| Rochester Elem 2-3 | 236 | 13.1 | not reported | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 682 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rochester Intermediate School | 394 | 14.6 | not reported | Targeted program |
| Rochester Jr High School | 288 | 14.4 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 692 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rochester High School | 692 | 16.9 | not reported | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Rochester CUSD 3A
- Website: rochester3a.net
- Phone: (217) 498-6210
- Office: 4 Rocket Dr, Rochester, IL 62563
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Rochester CUSD 3A
- Illinois districts by spending per studentRochester CUSD 3A ranks 299 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,490).#299 of 377
- Every school district in IllinoisRochester CUSD 3A is the number 200 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 2,074 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#200 of 865
- West Chicago Community High SchoolThe next larger Illinois district: 2,076 students in fall 2022, $18,555 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,555
- Bensenville SD 2The next smaller Illinois district: 2,036 students in fall 2022, $22,272 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,272
- Compare Rochester CUSD 3A with West Chicago Community High SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Rochester High School, its largest high school692 students in 2024-25, 16.9 per teacher.692
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Rochester CUSD 3A
How many schools and students are in Rochester CUSD 3A?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,012 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Rochester CUSD 3A spend per student?
$14,490 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,844 per student, up 2.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Rochester CUSD 3A's money come from?
$34,377,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 42.6% state, 54.2% local and 3.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Rochester CUSD 3A live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 59 of the 2,094 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Rochester CUSD 3A do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rochester CUSD 3A scored proficient or above: 24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Rochester CUSD 3A?
90-94% of the 186 students in Rochester CUSD 3A's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Rochester CUSD 3A's NCES district ID?
1734320. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25