El Paso County Colorado School District 49
Public school district · El Paso County · Colorado · NCES district ID 0803870
El Paso County Colorado School District 49 spent $11,472 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 91% of the other Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,088). Its 30 schools enrolled 25,557 students in 2024-25; 68.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,561 per student, up 9.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 56% (Colorado: 82.7%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Colorado districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to El Paso County Colorado School District 49 in enrollment (19,239 to 31,894 students) and El Paso County Colorado School District 49 itself.
Where the money came from
$367,493,000 in revenue: 68.1% state, 25.0% local and 6.9% federal. Total spending including $39,483,000 of capital outlay was $340,648,000, or $13,894 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$250,286,000 68%
- Local$91,843,000 25%
- Federal$25,364,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 71 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
24,515 students in 2022-23, 24,867 students in 2023-24, 25,557 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 24,515 | 1237.3 | 19.8 |
| 2023-24 | 24,867 | 1330.3 | 18.7 |
| 2024-25 | 25,557 | 1340.0 | 19.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$78,418,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,199 per student
El Paso County Colorado School District 49 booked $78,418,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,262 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $62,144 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 48 in 100 Colorado districts with a figure (state median $62,708, 161 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $61,772,000 | 78.8% |
| Special education | $10,659,000 | 13.6% |
| Vocational | $3,345,000 | 4.3% |
| Other programs | $2,642,000 | 3.4% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,647 in 2018-19, $2,553 in 2019-20, $2,646 in 2020-21, $2,940 in 2021-22, $3,199 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in El Paso County Colorado School District 49 scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 27% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Colorado, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Colorado | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 46% | 44.9% | 9,444 |
| Math | 27% | 31.8% | 9,378 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
56% of the 3,254 students in El Paso County Colorado School District 49's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Colorado | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 56% | 82.7% |
| Students in the class | 3,254 | 68,390 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
17 elementary schools, 8,827 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rocky Mountain Classical Academy | 1,162 | 18.7 | 17.8% | Not Title I |
| Meridian Ranch Elementary School | 670 | 17.0 | 22.5% | Not Title I |
| Ridgeview Elementary School | 626 | 19.1 | 41.2% | Not Title I |
| Woodmen Hills Elementary School | 613 | 16.2 | 28.4% | Not Title I |
| Grand Peak Academy | 608 | 19.1 | 28.9% | Not Title I |
| Springs Ranch Elementary School | 548 | 15.7 | 33.9% | Not Title I |
| Pioneer Technology and Arts Academy | 538 | 15.7 | 26.6% | Not Title I |
| Remington Elementary School | 534 | 16.6 | 40.4% | Schoolwide program |
| Stetson Elementary School | 531 | 15.2 | 35.4% | Not Title I |
| Inspiration View Elementary School | 527 | 16.5 | 30.6% | Not Title I |
| Evans Elementary School | 487 | 13.4 | 53.4% | Schoolwide program |
| Pikes Peak School Expeditionary Learning | 400 | 16.7 | 13.0% | Not Title I |
The other 5 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mountain View Academy | 387 | 17.4 | 30.0% | Not Title I |
| Odyssey Elementary School | 378 | 14.2 | 57.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Bennett Ranch Elementary School | 376 | 17.4 | 29.8% | Not Title I |
| Falcon Elementary School of Technology | 318 | 13.4 | 41.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Allies | 124 | 8.9 | 29.8% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 2,501 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Falcon Middle School | 866 | 16.9 | 26.7% | Not Title I |
| Skyview Middle School | 862 | 16.2 | 39.9% | Not Title I |
| Horizon Middle School | 773 | 16.2 | 47.1% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
8 high schools, 11,930 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GOAL Academy | 6,693 | 31.0 | not reported | Not Title I |
| Vista Ridge High School | 1,473 | 19.9 | 33.1% | Not Title I |
| Sand Creek High School | 1,426 | 20.9 | 45.2% | Not Title I |
| Falcon High School | 1,172 | 19.8 | 24.9% | Not Title I |
| Springs Studio for Academic Excellence | 442 | 22.1 | not reported | Not Title I |
| Power Technical Early College | 405 | 11.8 | 40.0% | Not Title I |
| Pikes Peak Early College | 204 | 31.1 | not reported | Not Title I |
| Patriot High School | 115 | 9.1 | 36.5% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 other schools, 2,299 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banning Lewis Ranch Academy | 1,697 | 14.7 | 14.1% | Not Title I |
| Liberty Tree Academy | 602 | 14.8 | 24.4% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact El Paso County Colorado School District 49
- Website: d49.org
- Phone: (719) 495-1100
- Office: 10850 East Woodmen Road, Peyton, CO 80831
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about El Paso County Colorado School District 49
- Colorado districts by spending per studentEl Paso County Colorado School District 49 ranks 65 of 71 Colorado districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,472).#65 of 71
- Every school district in ColoradoEl Paso County Colorado School District 49 is the number 11 by size of 185 Colorado districts, with 24,517 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#11 of 185
- Academy District 20The next larger Colorado district: 25,719 students in fall 2022, $12,090 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,090
- The Colorado Springs Schools District 11The next smaller Colorado district: 22,725 students in fall 2022, $15,835 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,835
- Compare El Paso County Colorado School District 49 with Academy District 20Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- GOAL Academy, its largest high school6,693 students in 2024-25, 31.0 per teacher.6,693
- Teacher salary spending across ColoradoEl Paso County Colorado School District 49 spent $62,144 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,708); spending, not a salary.$62,144
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about El Paso County Colorado School District 49
How many schools and students are in El Paso County Colorado School District 49?
30 schools were open in 2024-25 (17 elementary, 3 middle, 8 high, 2 other), enrolling 25,557 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does El Paso County Colorado School District 49 spend per student?
$11,472 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Colorado median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,088 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,561 per student, up 9.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does El Paso County Colorado School District 49's money come from?
$367,493,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 68.1% state, 25.0% local and 6.9% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in El Paso County Colorado School District 49 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,230 of the 21,097 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does El Paso County Colorado School District 49 spend on teacher salaries?
$78,418,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,199 per student. Divided by the 1,262 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $62,144 per teacher, more than 48 in 100 Colorado districts (state median $62,708). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Colorado teacher salary at $58,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in El Paso County Colorado School District 49 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in El Paso County Colorado School District 49 scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 27% in math, against 44.9% in reading and 31.8% in math across Colorado. Colorado's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in El Paso County Colorado School District 49?
56% of the 3,254 students in El Paso County Colorado School District 49's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.7% across Colorado. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is El Paso County Colorado School District 49's NCES district ID?
0803870. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25