Washington Intermediate School

Public middle school, grades 4 to 6 · Pekin, Illinois

Washington Intermediate School in Pekin, Illinois enrolled 428 students in 2024-25 with 32.0 full-time teachers, 13.4 students per teacher against the Illinois middle-school median of 12.7. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 29% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 15% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment rose 9% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 3%

393 students in 2022-23, 408 students in 2023-24, 428 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 31.1 to 32.0.

Students enrolled at Washington Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 393, 2023-24: 408, 2024-25: 42802004006002022-233932023-244082024-25428
Students enrolled at Washington Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 393, 2023-24: 408, 2024-25: 42802004006002022-233932023-244082024-25428
Students enrolled at Washington Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 393, 2023-24: 408, 2024-25: 42802004006002022-233932023-244082024-25428
Students enrolled at Washington Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 393, 2023-24: 408, 2024-25: 42802004006002022-233932023-244082024-25428
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2339331.112.6
2023-2440831.513.0
2024-2542832.013.4

13.4 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 61 of every 100 Illinois middle schools

Among the 684 Illinois middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.7; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 13.4; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.4state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 13.4; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.4state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 13.4; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.4state median 12.7U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.0 to 70.6; This school 13.4; state median 12.7.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 13.4state median 12.7U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 428 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Washington Intermediate School enrolled 428 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 20 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 428 of the 428 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions20
  • Chronically absent32.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

87.1% of students were White, 6.5% Hispanic, 4.2% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White87.1%
  2. Hispanic6.5%
  3. Two or more races4.2%
  4. Black1.9%
  5. Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Washington Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 29% in reading in 2021-22 and 15% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2229%20%29.9%
Math, 2022-2315%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Pekin

4 public middle schools in Pekin report 2024-25 enrollment; Washington Intermediate School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Wilson Intermediate School60015.4not reported
Washington Intermediate School42813.4not reported
Broadmoor Junior High School38713.3not reported
Edison Junior High School27110.0not reported

All public schools in Pekin →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Washington Intermediate School

  1. Wilson Intermediate SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 1.0 miles away: 600 students, 15.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
  2. Edison Junior High SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 1.1 miles away: 271 students, 10.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
  3. Compare Washington Intermediate School with Wilson Intermediate SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Pekin Public Schools spends per student$16,904 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$16,904
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisWashington Intermediate School is the number 343 by size of 686 Illinois middle schools open in 2024-25.#343 of 686
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher13.4 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 12.7 for middle schools.13.4:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Washington Intermediate School

  1. How many students attend Washington Intermediate School?
    428 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 393 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Pekin, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Washington Intermediate School?
    13.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for middle schools is 12.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Washington Intermediate School a Title I school?
    Washington Intermediate School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Washington Intermediate School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Washington Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 29% in reading in 2021-22 and 15% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Washington Intermediate School in?
    Pekin Public Schools, NCES district ID 1731080. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 173108005189 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22