Waller Mill Elementary
Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Williamsburg, Virginia
Waller Mill Elementary in Williamsburg, Virginia enrolled 445 students in 2024-25 with 31.0 full-time teachers, 14.4 students per teacher against the Virginia elementary-school median of 13.9. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 85-89% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Virginia: 67.5%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 22% from 2022-23 to 2024-25
364 students in 2022-23, 360 students in 2023-24, 445 students in 2024-25.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 364 | not reported | not reported |
| 2023-24 | 360 | 21.0 | 17.1 |
| 2024-25 | 445 | 31.0 | 14.4 |
14.4 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 59 of every 100 Virginia elementary schools
Among the 1,136 Virginia elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.9; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 408 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Waller Mill Elementary enrolled 408 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 10 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 408 of the 408 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions10
- Chronically absent13.5% (2022-23)
Who attends
49.2% of students were White, 17.5% Black, 16.2% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White49.2%
- Black17.5%
- Hispanic16.2%
- Two or more races14.4%
- Asian2.7%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Waller Mill Elementary scored proficient or above: 85-89% in math, against 67.5% in math across Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Virginia, not across states. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 85‑89% | not published | 67.5% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express; for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Williamsburg
11 public elementary schools in Williamsburg report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stonehouse Elementary | 838 | 16.0 | 22.0% |
| Magruder Elementary | 610 | 14.5 | 32.5% |
| Matoaka Elementary | 595 | 14.7 | 21.7% |
| Norge Elementary | 578 | 10.8 | 76.6% |
| Laurel Lane Elementary | 526 | 12.2 | 73.6% |
| D.J. Montague Elementary | 515 | 13.4 | 66.6% |
| Matthew Whaley Elementary | 485 | 14.2 | 63.9% |
| J. Blaine Blayton Elementary | 481 | 10.7 | 38.9% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Waller Mill Elementary
- Matthew Whaley ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 1.4 miles away: 485 students, 14.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
- Magruder ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.8 miles away: 610 students, 14.5 per teacher (2024-25).2.8 mi
- Compare Waller Mill Elementary with Matthew Whaley ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much York County Public Schools spends per student$13,844 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,844
- The largest public schools in VirginiaWaller Mill Elementary is the number 714 by size of 1,137 Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#714 of 1,137
- Virginia schools by students per teacher14.4 students per teacher here against the Virginia median of 13.9 for elementary schools.14.4:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Waller Mill Elementary
How many students attend Waller Mill Elementary?
445 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 364 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Williamsburg, VA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Waller Mill Elementary?
14.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Virginia median for elementary schools is 13.9. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Waller Mill Elementary a Title I school?
Waller Mill Elementary was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Waller Mill Elementary do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Waller Mill Elementary scored proficient or above: 85-89% in math, against 67.5% in math across Virginia. Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Waller Mill Elementary in?
York County Public Schools, NCES district ID 5104150. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 510415001822 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.