Turbeville High
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Turbeville, South Carolina
Turbeville High in Turbeville, South Carolina enrolled 55 students in 2024-25 with 9.0 full-time teachers, 6.1 students per teacher against the South Carolina high-school median of 15.7. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 23% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady
71 students in 2022-23, 46 students in 2023-24, 55 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 9.0 to 9.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 71 | 9.0 | 7.9 |
| 2023-24 | 46 | 9.0 | 5.1 |
| 2024-25 | 55 | 9.0 | 6.1 |
6.1 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 99 of every 100 South Carolina high schools
Among the 229 South Carolina high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.7; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 59 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Turbeville High enrolled 59 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 59 of the 59 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absentnot reported for this school
Who attends
70.9% of students were Black, 21.8% White, 7.3% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- Black70.9%
- White21.8%
- Hispanic7.3%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
High schools in Turbeville
2 public high schools in Turbeville report 2024-25 enrollment; Turbeville High is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| East Clarendon Middle-High | 722 | 19.0 | not reported |
| Turbeville High | 55 | 6.1 | 95.8% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Turbeville High
- East Clarendon Middle-HighThe nearest public high school, 3.8 miles away: 722 students, 19.0 per teacher (2024-25).3.8 mi
- Crestwood HighThe next nearest public high school, 14 miles away: 1,105 students, 19.4 per teacher (2024-25).14 mi
- Compare Turbeville High with East Clarendon Middle-HighStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Dept Of Correction N04 spends per student$70,164 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$70,164
- The largest public schools in South CarolinaTurbeville High is the number 227 by size of 240 South Carolina high schools open in 2024-25.#227 of 240
- South Carolina schools by students per teacher6.1 students per teacher here against the South Carolina median of 15.7 for high schools.6.1:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Turbeville High
How many students attend Turbeville High?
55 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 71 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Turbeville, SC.What is the student-teacher ratio at Turbeville High?
6.1 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the South Carolina median for high schools is 15.7. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Turbeville High a Title I school?
Turbeville High ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.What district is Turbeville High in?
Dept Of Correction N04, NCES district ID 4500001. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 450000100238 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.