Student Support Center

Public school, grades 4 to 12 · Corpus Christi, Texas

Student Support Center in Corpus Christi, Texas enrolled 111 students in 2024-25 with 15.3 full-time teachers, 7.2 students per teacher against the Texas median of 12.2. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, under 50% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Texas: 43.7%).

Enrollment rose 16% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 43%

96 students in 2022-23, 126 students in 2023-24, 111 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 27.1 to 15.3.

Students enrolled at Student Support Center by school year2022-23: 96, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1110501001502022-23962023-241262024-25111
Students enrolled at Student Support Center by school year2022-23: 96, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1110501001502022-23962023-241262024-25111
Students enrolled at Student Support Center by school year2022-23: 96, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1110501001502022-23962023-241262024-25111
Students enrolled at Student Support Center by school year2022-23: 96, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1110501001502022-23962023-241262024-25111
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-239627.13.5
2023-2412623.35.4
2024-2511115.37.2

7.2 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 91 of every 100 Texas schools of this kind

Among the 440 Texas schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.2; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Texas other schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.2; Student Support Center 7.2; state median 12.2.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherStudent Support Center 7.2state median 12.2U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Texas other schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.2; Student Support Center 7.2; state median 12.2.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherStudent Support Center 7.2state median 12.2U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Texas other schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.2; Student Support Center 7.2; state median 12.2.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherStudent Support Center 7.2state median 12.2U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Texas other schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 96.2; Student Support Center 7.2; state median 12.2.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherStudent Support Center 7.2state median 12.2U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Student Support Center enrolled 66 students; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

91.9% of students were Hispanic, 4.5% Black, 1.8% White in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic91.9%
  2. Black4.5%
  3. White1.8%
  4. Asian0.9%
  5. Two or more races0.9%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Student Support Center scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 43.7% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtTexas
Mathunder 50%35% (2021-22)43.7%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Schools of this kind in Corpus Christi

8 public schools of this kind in Corpus Christi report 2024-25 enrollment; Student Support Center is number 8 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Sst Corpus Christi2,34314.961.7%
Promesa College Prep West Corpus Christi35819.677.4%
Montclair Elementary32313.479.9%
Woodlawn Elementary31713.882.6%
Crockett Elementary30215.393.7%
Evans Ses22013.996.8%
Early Childhood Development Ctr15016.954.0%
Student Support Center1117.289.2%

All public schools in Corpus Christi →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Student Support Center

  1. Promesa College Prep West Corpus ChristiThe nearest public school of this kind, 1.7 miles away: 358 students, 19.6 per teacher (2024-25).1.7 mi
  2. Sst Corpus ChristiThe next nearest public school of this kind, 3.8 miles away: 2,343 students, 14.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.8 mi
  3. Compare Student Support Center with Promesa College Prep West Corpus ChristiStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Corpus Christi ISD spends per student$11,836 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,836
  5. The largest public schools in TexasStudent Support Center is the number 401 by size of 501 Texas schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#401 of 501
  6. Texas schools by students per teacher7.2 students per teacher here against the Texas median of 12.2 for schools of this kind.7.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Student Support Center

  1. How many students attend Student Support Center?
    111 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 96 in 2022-23. It is an alternative school in Corpus Christi, TX.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Student Support Center?
    7.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Texas median for schools of this kind is 12.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Student Support Center a Title I school?
    Student Support Center was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  4. How do students at Student Support Center do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Student Support Center scored proficient or above: under 50% in math, against 43.7% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Student Support Center in?
    Corpus Christi ISD, NCES district ID 4815270. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 481527005681 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22