Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09

Public middle school, grades 4 to 8 · Spearfish, South Dakota

Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 in Spearfish, South Dakota enrolled 2 students in 2024-25 with 2.5 full-time teachers, 0.8 students per teacher against the South Dakota middle-school median of 13.3. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 22%

2 students in 2022-23, 7 students in 2023-24, 2 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 3.3 to 2.5.

Students enrolled at Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 by school year2022-23: 2, 2023-24: 7, 2024-25: 2024682022-2322023-2472024-252
Students enrolled at Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 by school year2022-23: 2, 2023-24: 7, 2024-25: 2024682022-2322023-2472024-252
Students enrolled at Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 by school year2022-23: 2, 2023-24: 7, 2024-25: 2024682022-2322023-2472024-252
Students enrolled at Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 by school year2022-23: 2, 2023-24: 7, 2024-25: 2024682022-2322023-2472024-252
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2323.30.6
2023-2472.72.6
2024-2522.50.8

0.8 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 100 of every 100 South Dakota middle schools

Among the 160 South Dakota middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.3; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, South Dakota middle schools, 2024-25160 values from 4.3 to 95.7; This school 0.8; state median 13.3.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 0.8state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, South Dakota middle schools, 2024-25160 values from 4.3 to 95.7; This school 0.8; state median 13.3.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 0.8state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, South Dakota middle schools, 2024-25160 values from 4.3 to 95.7; This school 0.8; state median 13.3.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 0.8state median 13.3U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, South Dakota middle schools, 2024-25160 values from 4.3 to 95.7; This school 0.8; state median 13.3.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 0.8state median 13.3U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 enrolled 7 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

50.0% of students were White, 50.0% American Indian in 2024-25.

  1. White50.0%
  2. American Indian50.0%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Middle schools in Spearfish

2 public middle schools in Spearfish report 2024-25 enrollment; Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Spearfish Middle School - 0554514.913.8%
Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 0920.8not reported

All public schools in Spearfish →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09

  1. Spearfish Middle School - 05The nearest public middle school, 2.5 miles away: 545 students, 14.9 per teacher (2024-25).2.5 mi
  2. Lead-Deadwood Middle School - 02The next nearest public middle school, 9.7 miles away: 139 students, 9.5 per teacher (2024-25).9.7 mi
  3. Compare Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 with Spearfish Middle School - 05Students, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Spearfish School District 40-2 spends per student$9,680 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$9,680
  5. The largest public schools in South DakotaSpearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 is the number 162 by size of 163 South Dakota middle schools open in 2024-25.#162 of 163
  6. South Dakota schools by students per teacher0.8 students per teacher here against the South Dakota median of 13.3 for middle schools.0.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09

  1. How many students attend Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09?
    2 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 2 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Spearfish, SD.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09?
    0.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the South Dakota median for middle schools is 13.3. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 a Title I school?
    Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Spearfish Academy at Canyon Hills Elementary - 09 in?
    Spearfish School District 40-2, NCES district ID 4666930. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 466693001346 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22