Roosevelt Elementary School

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 6 · Belleville, Illinois

Roosevelt Elementary School in Belleville, Illinois enrolled 272 students in 2024-25 with 18.6 full-time teachers, 14.6 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 30-34% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 3%

270 students in 2022-23, 272 students in 2023-24, 272 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 18.1 to 18.6.

Students enrolled at Roosevelt Elementary School by school year2022-23: 270, 2023-24: 272, 2024-25: 27201002003002022-232702023-242722024-25272
Students enrolled at Roosevelt Elementary School by school year2022-23: 270, 2023-24: 272, 2024-25: 27201002003002022-232702023-242722024-25272
Students enrolled at Roosevelt Elementary School by school year2022-23: 270, 2023-24: 272, 2024-25: 27201002003002022-232702023-242722024-25272
Students enrolled at Roosevelt Elementary School by school year2022-23: 270, 2023-24: 272, 2024-25: 27201002003002022-232702023-242722024-25272
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2327018.114.9
2023-2427217.915.2
2024-2527218.614.6

14.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 73 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 14.6; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.6state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 14.6; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.6state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 14.6; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.6state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; This school 14.6; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 14.6state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Roosevelt Elementary School enrolled 244 students and reported no counselor; it reported 6 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions6
  • Chronically absent31.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

40.1% of students were White, 38.2% Black, 10.3% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White40.1%
  2. Black38.2%
  3. Two or more races10.3%
  4. Hispanic9.9%
  5. Asian1.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Roosevelt Elementary School scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2230‑34%26%29.9%
Math, 2022-2330‑34%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Belleville

12 public elementary schools in Belleville report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Belle Valley School99712.6not reported
Whiteside Elementary School68014.2not reported
Abraham Lincoln Elementary School54216.4not reported
Union Elementary School43215.1not reported
Ellis Elementary School38215.5not reported
Westhaven Elementary3139.2not reported
Jefferson Elementary School29310.9not reported
Signal Hill Elementary School2918.3not reported

All public schools in Belleville →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Roosevelt Elementary School

  1. Henry Raab Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 154 students, 13.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Franklin Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.9 miles away: 172 students, 9.4 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
  3. Compare Roosevelt Elementary School with Henry Raab Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Belleville SD 118 spends per student$19,365 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$19,365
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisRoosevelt Elementary School is the number 1,668 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#1,668 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher14.6 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.14.6:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Roosevelt Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Roosevelt Elementary School?
    272 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 270 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Belleville, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Roosevelt Elementary School?
    14.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Roosevelt Elementary School a Title I school?
    Roosevelt Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Roosevelt Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Roosevelt Elementary School scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Roosevelt Elementary School in?
    Belleville SD 118, NCES district ID 1705610. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 170561000237 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22