Rise Academy at Van Sickle
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Springfield, Massachusetts
Rise Academy at Van Sickle in Springfield, Massachusetts enrolled 206 students in 2024-25 with 18.0 full-time teachers, 11.4 students per teacher against the Massachusetts middle-school median of 11.5. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 10% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 6% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 15% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 24%
241 students in 2022-23, 216 students in 2023-24, 206 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 23.6 to 18.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 241 | 23.6 | 10.2 |
| 2023-24 | 216 | 21.9 | 9.9 |
| 2024-25 | 206 | 18.0 | 11.4 |
11.4 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 55 of every 100 Massachusetts middle schools
Among the 299 Massachusetts middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.5; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 91 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Rise Academy at Van Sickle enrolled 273 students and had 3.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 84 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)3.0, one per 91 of the 273 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions84
- Chronically absent47.3% (2022-23)
Who attends
70.9% of students were Hispanic, 19.4% Black, 7.8% White in 2024-25.
- Hispanic70.9%
- Black19.4%
- White7.8%
- Two or more races1.9%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Rise Academy at Van Sickle scored proficient or above: 10% in reading in 2021-22 and 6% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Massachusetts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 10% | 22% | 43.7% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 6% | 15% (2021-22) | 42% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Springfield
15 public middle schools in Springfield report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Veritas Preparatory Charter School | 712 | 9.9 | not reported |
| John F Kennedy Middle | 366 | 9.3 | not reported |
| Springfield Legacy Academy | 299 | 11.1 | not reported |
| Kiley Prep | 298 | 11.9 | not reported |
| Forest Park Middle | 282 | 10.3 | not reported |
| Impact Prep at Chestnut | 278 | 15.2 | not reported |
| STEM Middle Academy | 269 | 11.2 | not reported |
| Kiley Academy | 268 | 11.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Rise Academy at Van Sickle
- Van Sickle AcademyThe nearest public middle school, under 0.1 miles away: 262 students, 11.4 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
- STEM Middle AcademyThe next nearest public middle school, 1.5 miles away: 269 students, 11.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.5 mi
- Compare Rise Academy at Van Sickle with Van Sickle AcademyStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Springfield Public Schools spends per student$26,729 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$26,729
- The largest public schools in MassachusettsRise Academy at Van Sickle is the number 291 by size of 300 Massachusetts middle schools open in 2024-25.#291 of 300
- Massachusetts schools by students per teacher11.4 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.5 for middle schools.11.4:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Rise Academy at Van Sickle
How many students attend Rise Academy at Van Sickle?
206 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 241 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Springfield, MA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Rise Academy at Van Sickle?
11.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for middle schools is 11.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Rise Academy at Van Sickle a Title I school?
Rise Academy at Van Sickle ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Rise Academy at Van Sickle do on state tests?
The students tested at Rise Academy at Van Sickle scored proficient or above: 10% in reading in 2021-22 and 6% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Rise Academy at Van Sickle in?
Springfield Public Schools, NCES district ID 2511130. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 251113002859 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.