Princeton Middle School
Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Princeton, West Virginia
Princeton Middle School in Princeton, West Virginia enrolled 488 students in 2024-25 with 42.0 full-time teachers, 11.6 students per teacher against the West Virginia middle-school median of 13.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 37% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 27% proficient in math in 2022-23 (West Virginia: 41.3% and 34.4%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 3% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 9%
503 students in 2022-23, 506 students in 2023-24, 488 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 46.0 to 42.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 503 | 46.0 | 10.9 |
| 2023-24 | 506 | 45.0 | 11.2 |
| 2024-25 | 488 | 42.0 | 11.6 |
11.6 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 80 of every 100 West Virginia middle schools
Among the 109 West Virginia middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.2; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 177 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Princeton Middle School enrolled 532 students and had 3.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 146 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)3.0, one per 177 of the 532 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions146
- Chronically absent39.2% (2022-23)
Who attends
76.8% of students were White, 12.9% of two or more races, 7.4% Black in 2024-25.
- White76.8%
- Two or more races12.9%
- Black7.4%
- Hispanic1.6%
- Asian1.2%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Princeton Middle School scored proficient or above: 37% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within West Virginia, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | West Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 37% | 39% | 41.3% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 27% | 30% (2021-22) | 34.4% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Middle schools in Princeton
2 public middle schools in Princeton report 2024-25 enrollment; Princeton Middle School is number 2 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pikeview Middle School | 502 | 15.1 | not reported |
| Princeton Middle School | 488 | 11.6 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Princeton Middle School
- Pikeview Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 4.6 miles away: 502 students, 15.1 per teacher (2024-25).4.6 mi
- Bluefield Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 11 miles away: 428 students, 13.7 per teacher (2024-25).11 mi
- Compare Princeton Middle School with Pikeview Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Mercer County Schools spends per student$13,583 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,583
- The largest public schools in West VirginiaPrinceton Middle School is the number 41 by size of 109 West Virginia middle schools open in 2024-25.#41 of 109
- West Virginia schools by students per teacher11.6 students per teacher here against the West Virginia median of 13.2 for middle schools.11.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Princeton Middle School
How many students attend Princeton Middle School?
488 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 503 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Princeton, WV.What is the student-teacher ratio at Princeton Middle School?
11.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the West Virginia median for middle schools is 13.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Princeton Middle School a Title I school?
Princeton Middle School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Princeton Middle School do on state tests?
The students tested at Princeton Middle School scored proficient or above: 37% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. West Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Princeton Middle School in?
Mercer County Schools, NCES district ID 5400840. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 540084000702 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.