Okanogan Outreach Alternative School

Public high school, grades 6 to 12 · Okanogan, Washington

Okanogan Outreach Alternative School in Okanogan, Washington enrolled 72 students in 2024-25 with 2.0 full-time teachers, 36.0 students per teacher against the Washington high-school median of 20.0. It was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no program; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 20-29% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (Washington: 53.4% and 41.1%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 20-29% (Washington: 83.8%).

Enrollment fell 19% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady

89 students in 2022-23, 78 students in 2023-24, 72 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 2.0 to 2.0.

Students enrolled at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School by school year2022-23: 89, 2023-24: 78, 2024-25: 7202550751002022-23892023-24782024-2572
Students enrolled at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School by school year2022-23: 89, 2023-24: 78, 2024-25: 7202550751002022-23892023-24782024-2572
Students enrolled at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School by school year2022-23: 89, 2023-24: 78, 2024-25: 7202550751002022-23892023-24782024-2572
Students enrolled at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School by school year2022-23: 89, 2023-24: 78, 2024-25: 7202550751002022-23892023-24782024-2572
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23892.044.5
2023-24782.039.0
2024-25722.036.0

36.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 97 of every 100 Washington high schools

Among the 488 Washington high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 20.0; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 36.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 36.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 36.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 36.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 36.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 36.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Washington high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 78.9; This school 36.0; state median 20.0.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherThis school 36.0state median 20.0U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Okanogan Outreach Alternative School enrolled 72 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

43.7% of students were White, 23.9% of two or more races, 16.9% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White43.7%
  2. Two or more races23.9%
  3. Hispanic16.9%
  4. American Indian15.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School scored proficient or above: 20-29% in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 53.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 41.1% in math in 2022-23 across Washington. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Washington, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtWashington
Reading and language arts, 2021-2220‑29%44%53.4%
Math, 2022-2310% or less29‑34% (2021-22)41.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

20-29% of the 32 students in Okanogan Outreach Alternative School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.8% across Washington. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtWashington
Four-year graduation rate20‑29%65‑69%83.8%
Students in the class3211285,003

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Okanogan

3 public high schools in Okanogan report 2024-25 enrollment; Okanogan Outreach Alternative School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Okanogan High School30818.644.8%
Okanogan Outreach Alternative School7236.072.2%
Okanogan Alternative High School14not reported42.9%

All public schools in Okanogan →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Okanogan Outreach Alternative School

  1. Okanogan Co Juvenile DetentionThe nearest public high school, 0.1 miles away: 5 students, 16.7 per teacher (2024-25).0.1 mi
  2. Okanogan High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 0.2 miles away: 308 students, 18.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
  3. Compare Okanogan Outreach Alternative School with Okanogan Co Juvenile DetentionStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Okanogan School District 105 spends per student$18,338 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$18,338
  5. The largest public schools in WashingtonOkanogan Outreach Alternative School is the number 432 by size of 606 Washington high schools open in 2024-25.#432 of 606
  6. Washington schools by students per teacher36.0 students per teacher here against the Washington median of 20.0 for high schools.36.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Okanogan Outreach Alternative School

  1. How many students attend Okanogan Outreach Alternative School?
    72 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 89 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Okanogan, WA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School?
    36.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Washington median for high schools is 20.0. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Okanogan Outreach Alternative School a Title I school?
    Okanogan Outreach Alternative School was eligible for Title I in 2021-22 but ran no Title I program (2021-22 is the last year NCES published school Title I status).
  4. How do students at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School scored proficient or above: 20-29% in reading in 2021-22 and 10% or less in math in 2022-23, against 53.4% in reading in 2021-22 and 41.1% in math in 2022-23 across Washington. Washington's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Okanogan Outreach Alternative School?
    20-29% of the 32 students in Okanogan Outreach Alternative School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.8% across Washington. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Okanogan Outreach Alternative School in?
    Okanogan School District 105, NCES district ID 5306150. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 530615003247 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22